We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service and location”
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mansfield
Ranked #348 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good service and location”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was a great hotel. I really liked the old boutique style. The only thing i didn't like was the small room but considering the hotel is 90 years old it;s to be expected. Very well kept hotel. The library was nice and the bar staff will serve you there if requested.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MigMedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear MigMedic,
Thank you for staying with us at the Mansfield Hotel. We are very happy to hear you thought the hotel was well kept and you enjoyed the library and Mbar team. Please come back and see us again the next time you are in NYC.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    641
    328
    157
    122
See reviews for
258
738
121
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed at the Mansfield due to the proximity to my son's wedding reception venue as well as the price. Reservation staff worked with me to offer special pricing for wedding attendees. The rooms were small (and hallways were very narrow) so our family (all 18 of us!) routinely gathered in the library for a night cap after the Mbar closed. The staff never made us felt like we were bothering them although I'm sure we weren't the most quiet group! Clean, updated rooms - although the hallways were obviously not part of the renovation, they have an old world charm and were always clean. Concierge was very helpful getting transportation for us, and the bell hop was awesome. There was a parade in front of our hotel the day we left, so we weren't able to have our car brought to us. The bell hop loaded all our luggage onto a luggage cart and rolled it through the busy NYC streets to the parking garage, then helped us load up the car. Awesome experience at the Mansfield - would definitely stay again if the price allows!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Jody M,

Congratulation on your son’s wedding! We are delighted to hear you had a great stay at the Mansfield Hotel. The team works really hard to make sure our guests are taken care of and from the sounds of it they did an exception job. We love to hear that you will be coming back to stay with us again when you visit NYC. Please come back anytime we would love to welcome you back.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We have not stayed at the hotel yet but already experienced negative experience. It started out with bad experience of booking this hotel from Hotwire. Then I called the hotel front desk to make sure we would get a room with double bed. I was told that I had to pay to upgrade. I am an experience traveller & have booked my hotels mainly via Priceline & Hotwire. All the hotels I've stayed at are 4 to 5 stars hotel such as Hyatt, Sheraton, Hilton, Commonwealth, etc... They were all accommodating to my standard request of double bed & non smoking. This upcoming trip to NYC is a little special; celebrating our 10th Anniversary & Birthday. With a recent tragedy in the family, we are looking forward to this trip as a nice get away fr things with our mom. Unfortunately, this hotel couldn't accommodate the request without us paying extra. If we have an option to cancel this reservation, we would. But we don't. So now we are stuck & not looking for forward to our stay at all.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Mai M,

We are sorry you have a negative first impression of the hotel and we would like to turn it around. Please let me know when you are arriving so we can see if there are any upgrades available. Thank you for your time and I look forward to hearing from you.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

First of all, the hotel is beautiful. They make a good use of space and the rooms are about the size that can be expected in the are. That being said, I don't think I'd stay here again. $400 gets you a small room with a comfy bed and absolutely nothing else. Our bathtub didn't drain. The reservation was for 2 people, but we only received one robe. It cost an additional $45 to have the car parked and an additional $15 for internet. The food at the hotel was absolutely terrible and, although we received 2 drink tickets as part of our overpriced room package and the staff knew our itinerary for the stay, we never got to enjoy them because the bar was never open when we were there.
It's unfortunate, I really looked forward to the stay. I think I'll stick to chains from now on. At least you know what to expect.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Alice B,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review the hotel. We were happy to hear you thought the hotel was beautiful but disappointed to hear about the rest of your stay. The feedback you have provided has been shown to our team and we will make sure this doesn’t happen again. We hope the next time you are in NYC you will give us another chance as I know we can make your stay more memorable. Thank you again for your review.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Adequate-sized rooms, clean, hardwood floors, great beds and handsome bedding, perfect location walking -distance from Grand Central Station, very helpful staff. I stayed twice in one month and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LRNOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear LRNOE,

Thank you for being a repeat guest at the Mansfield Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to review the hotel. We are excited to read that you feel the location of the hotel is perfect and our staff is very helpful. We hope you have become a Mansfield regular and we look forward to welcome you back the next time you are in NYC.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night for a quick business stay. Was upgraded and I have to say it was one of the nicest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. Can't speak to the food, but the service was fine at check-in.

The location is right in the middle of midtown. I would suggest it's a better (and quieter) location than Times Square for leisure travel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank garflee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear garflee

We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Mansfield Hotel. We are happy to read that you thought the upgrade was the nicest room you have ever stayed in. We love hearing from our guests and from the sounds of it you will be coming back again soon! We hope you choose us as your preferred hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel, as we did not know what to expect. We received the reservation as a gift of time-share points from a relative. We reviewed the property on Tripadvisor and expected a decent experience. Location is outstanding and the staff was exceptional. We definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Robert W,

The Mansfield team would like to thank you for staying with us. It joys the team to hear that you thought they were exceptional! We look forward to you coming back to the hotel to stay again.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Midtown
Shoreham
Shoreham
#315 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Gotham Hotel
The Gotham Hotel
#207 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#267 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,939 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#336 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Property: The Mansfield
Address: 12 W 44th St, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Family Hotel in New York City
#226 Business Hotel in New York City
#237 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mansfield 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. Guests can enjoy complimentary 24-hour espresso and cappuccino in the hotel's classically-restored Beaux-Arts Club Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing