We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome stay!”
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mansfield
Ranked #348 of 467 Hotels in New York City
New Jersey
1 review
“awesome stay!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Mansfiled hotel is in a great location. Many places you can walk to. The staff is very kind. They gave us a free upgrade to a beautiful room which we really appreciated because we were traveling with our 2 year old son and Im 8 months pregnant. They couldn't be more accommodating. We will definitely stay at The Mansfiled the next time we travel to NYC!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aimee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Aimee S,
Thank you for taking time out of your busy day for your positive review of the Mansfield! We absolutely love hearing that you will come back and visit us as we will be as pleased to welcome you back. Our team is also excited to hear that they were accommodating to you your son and your baby on the way! We wish you all the luck with your new baby on the way and please feel free to visit us at any time we would love to see you and your growing family again!

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    641
    328
    157
    122
See reviews for
258
738
121
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a great time at the Mansfield. The location is impeccable, the staff is very knowledgeable and accommodating, and more than anything, the hotel has a great old "feel" to it, dating back to its early 20th century roots. It truly feels like you're taking a step back in time.

Sure, the rooms are small, but that's what you get with these "boutique" hotels and they add to the cultural feel of the hotel. I would prefer to stay in a unique boutique over a typical chain hotel any day. Not only would I recommend this hotel, but I'd also stay there again the next time I'm in Manhattan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Mike T,
It is makes myself and my team extremely happy that you stayed with us on your trip to NYC and will again when you come back! Our team will also be very happy to hear that they were very accommodating during your stay. We appreciate that you enjoyed the “early 20th century” experience as we love it too! Thank you again for taking time out of your day for the positive review, it not only helps our team but encourages them as well. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel is in a good location in Midtown, close to many sights and landmarks and offices.
The room was clean, very dimly lit, and very small; this was okay as I was on my own, but it could be a problem if two people with suitcases use the room.
The big problem was noise: the air conditioning unit, embedded in a window overlooking a busy street, had two big holes around them, just filled with cardboard, letting all the traffic noise in - and New York streets can be very noisy. The only way to get some sleep was to wear earplugs. I imagine this could be a big problem during winter, with cold air flowing in.
Overall not good value for money, you would expect more from a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soccmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Soccmel,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Mansfield hotel your business is very much appreciated. Also I would like to thank you on behalf of our whole team for taking the time to review our hotel as it helps us improve. I hope during your next visit to NY you change your mind and stay with us again! Thanks again for providing us with feedback.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Franz was amongst the front staff was quite helpful. Overall nice staff. Good pricing, good midtown location.

Make sure you don't get the smallest room... I had to get an upgrade to get a fair size table in the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear William C,
Our team here at the Mansfield, especially Franz, will be very happy to hear that they were helpful and accommodating. Thank you for staying with us, and also taking the time out of your day to review our hotel. We hope on your next trip to New York on business or pleasure you will stay with us again, we would love to welcome you back.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed at the Mansfield with my sister just one night but wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel was much nicer than we expected and the staff were friendly and very nice. Definitely would stay here on a return trip to N.Y.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Judith F,
We are very pleased to hear that you wanted to extend your stay, and even stay at The Mansfield during your next trip to the Big Apple. Thank you for taking time out of your day to give our hotel a positive review! Our team will be very happy to hear that you were pleased with their service. Please come back and visit us soon, we are excited to welcome you back!

Thank you,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the Mansfield. I booked 2 rooms for 4 nights each. Found a dog flea on my bed on the second day when I woke up. Went down to complain to the manager, manager didn't believe me till I actually showed her the dead tick. Then she said to expect that to happen anytime because it is a pet friendly hotel. Instead of offering any complimentary service, or waving off the fee for the room, or service charge or tax for that night, she charged us full price for the rooms anyway. Isn't that just telling me, instead of them trying to keep their hotel clean, their customers should expect things like that to happen to them and accept it.

We got a room change from her for the rest of the nights we were staying, and the room was more of a downgrade than anything.The new room was meant for a single occupancy than double.

On the last day during check out, when i got the final bill, they got the bill wrong as well as they charged me for bar food in the room which we did not even eat.

All I can say is that the only good thing about this hotel is that it has a great location, but for the price you are paying, which is more than average for a hotel, due to their policy that allow pets, just pick another hotel as there are plenty down the road, unless you want ticks and fleas on your bed (sometimes).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doomcookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Swee Y,
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review The Mansfield Hotel. We appreciate every response as it helps our team improve our guests experience and possibly your future experience as well. I was disappointed to learn that your recent visit did not exceed your expectations we take pride as in our customer service here at The Mansfield, but nonetheless I will speak to the team regarding your experience here. Our goal is that all of our guests depart with a positive memorable experience. I hope you can give us another chance were we can show you that memorable experience. Our team hopes to welcome you back soon.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great location for main attractions and shopping. The rooms are on the small side but then again this is to be expected in NYC. Have previously stayed at many hotels in NYC and the Mansfield is one of the only hotels that has retained its character and quality of services. Was disappointed to see that wi-fi is now chargeable and that breakfast only starts at 7am. Have stayed at the Mansfield before and I chose to return. Not sure if I'd stay there again in the future though...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear LondonSmurf,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate every entry as they will help us in the future. It is great to hear that you love the location and character of The Mansfield. Our team will be very pleased to hear that their quality of service has remained the same since the last time you visited. Thank you for returning to the Mansfield and we hope you change your mind to stay with us in your future visits to New York City we would love to welcome you back!
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Midtown
Shoreham
Shoreham
#315 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Gotham Hotel
The Gotham Hotel
#207 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#267 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,939 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#336 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Property: The Mansfield
Address: 12 W 44th St, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Family Hotel in New York City
#226 Business Hotel in New York City
#237 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mansfield 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. Guests can enjoy complimentary 24-hour espresso and cappuccino in the hotel's classically-restored Beaux-Arts Club Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing