We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Cozy”
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mansfield
Ranked #343 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I will echo everyone elses sentiments and say that the Mansfield has a great location. All the major midtown attractions are within walking distance and access to public transportation (to take you everywhere else) is just a short walk away.

My girlfriend and I stayed in a guest room (queen sized bed) on the 9th floor. The room was small, but I have definitely stayed in smaller in NYC, but cozy. There were a few times my girlfriend and I struggled to manuever around each other but they were minimal.

The room was clean and tidy the entire five days we were there.

Our only complaint is the lack of an iron and the steam from our showers kept setting off the smoke detector in the morning. Be sure to keep the bathroom door closed if you like to take hot showers!

The staff were all very helpful and accomodating. We really only interacted during check-in and check-out, otherwise we just exchanged pleasantries in passing.

The M Bar is a great place to grab some breakfast on your way out for the day and to stop and have a drink before turning in.

The coffee machine in the club room is great and a good way to get a quick pick me up!

At the end of a long day adventuring through New York it was nice to have a comfortable place to relax and re-energize.

Room Tip: If you're only planning on being in your room to sleep and just have two people in your party th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlevans00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Jlevans00,

Thank you very much for providing a review on Trip Advisor about the Mansfield Hotel. The team and I are very pleased you enjoyed staying with us! We are all glad to hear that you thought the team was helpful and accommodating, you liked the location, the club room and the Mbar. Our housekeeping department prides themselves on cleanliness and they were excited to hear your room was clean and tidy for the entire five days. We hope you become a Mansfield regular so we can welcome you back to NYC.

Thank you for all your feedback.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,030 - 1,036 of 1,886 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was clueless as to where to stay for my first trip to NYC and after doing extensive research through various travel sights I came across The Mansfield Hotel. I read the reviews (the good, the bad, and the ugly) and decided since there were more good than bad reviews I would give this hotel a shot (especially because it is ONE BLOCK from Times Square). Upon arrival, the front desk clerk was very speedy and helpful during check-in. We found our room on the 4th floor with ease and settled in quite nicely. Upon entering the room, I noticed the room was a bit small BUT it's New York; are you there for the city or there for the hotel room?! For what it was, the room was nice and cozy. The bathroom was small and when I say small I mean legs almost touching the wall while you handle your business small BUT that didn't really bother me, it served its purpose and that's all that mattered. One thing I will agree with as far as the other reviews is the draft coming in through the window because of the A/C unit. The hotel really needs to seal in those A/C units better because that cold air coming in was NO JOKE however, that was nothing a few towels and a space heater (provided by the hotel PROMPTLY) couldn't fix! The bench under the window (which is where the furnace...heater...is) was a little rickety and the mattress sort of sank in in the middle but aside from that, I got good sleep, was able to shower and groom comfortably, and give myself one last full body check before I hit the streets in the full length mirror in our room! It was myself and my boyfriend and we fit in the room just fine. LOVED the workstation in the room...so handy! I would definitely stay here again. It's quiet, charming, and conveniently located (for the price). See you soon Mansfield and NYC :o)

Room Tip: Stay in nothing smalled than a Queen Room (rooms are small as it is).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NellyBee916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear NellyBee916,
Thank you and your boyfriend so much for staying with us at the Mansfield Hotel. We loved that you thought the hotel was quiet, charming and is a good location for your visit to NYC. We are glad you had a chance to read the reviews online to get a feeling for the hotel before you came to stay. It is great to hear that you the Mansfield has become your choice of hotels in Manhattan.
Thank you for the feedback on the hotel and team. We are always striving to do better and your feedback will assist us in doing just that.
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here for a short holiday in NYC for a vouple of nights (4/13-4/15). The staff are all wonderful, the rooms are exactly as described, the location is awesome, and the M-Bar was nice. The only thing that I would like to have had was an adjustable thermostat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troutbum13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear troutbum13,

We appreciate you choosing the Mansfield Hotel during your visit to NYC. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the room, location and Mbar. Thank you for your feedback as it will allow our team to get better at what we do by understanding what makes our guests happy.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Close to almost everything, the Mansfield Hotel offers a well appointed room with all the proper amenities. Although the lighting within the room was someone dim and it was difficult to control the room temperature, all in all our stay at Mansfield was most satisfactory. The M bar is a most comfortable watering hole and the staff throughout the hotel was most accommodating. We definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckmey11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear beckmey11,
Thank you for staying with us at the Mansfield Hotel. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are glad that you liked the room amenities and the Mbar. Please come see us again during your next visit to the city as we would love to welcome you back.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel was perfectly and centrally located for what we needed. The room size is very small (we stayed in a Deluxe Queen room), but we didn't vacation in NYC to stay in our room. It was very clean and well maintained. The lighting in the room was terrible--we had to turn on every light in the room just to see what we were doing. The bed was very comfortable. Robert and Sam on staff were awesome and dependable. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Lauren W,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Mansfield Hotel. Thank you for taking the time out to provide us with feedback as we are always looking in to new ways to make our guests stays more enjoyable. It was great to hear that you liked the location, how comfortable the bed was and that our team members were helpful. When you wrote “I would stay here again in a heartbeat” makes every team member happy knowing that we have become your hotel of choice in Manhattan.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed in a junior suite and found it comfortable and clean -- spacious by NYC standards, even. The staff is courteous and helped us out with some documents we unexpectedly needed to copy and fax. The attached M Bar is a great spot for a pre-theater drink and snack, although the truffle popcorn we ordered never arrived. The pear martini was tasty, though! Convenient location near Time Square and the theater district.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ronda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Ronda T,

Thank you for staying with us at the Mansfield Hotel. We are very excited to hear that you thought the room was comfortable and clean. I was more excited to hear that the staff was courteous and helpful during your stay. We appreciate feedback so thank you for taking your time out to review the hotel. We hope the next time you are visiting NYC that the Mansfield is your choice of hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Love this place! We got in early and the staff was able to give us a room with free upgrade! The minute we walked in the room-it felt like our little home! Very cozy, clean, just like an appartment! Robert - is concierge just a wonderful and and friendly ! Gormet coffee machine, fresh green and red apples and freshly baked cookies all added a wonderful touch ! Oh and "Aveda" bathroom products! Clean and fresh luxury bedding, luxury robe and 2 flat screen TVs. The location is the best ! Close to everything !24 hours pharmacy and places to eat all around the corner.
Will be coming back very soon. I love NYC and this hotel made our stay just PERFECT!
The Mansfield is my new favorite ! Will ONLY stay here!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Alisson B,
We are delighted to hear that the Mansfield is your hotel of choice when you are in NYC. It makes the team very happy to hear that you thought the hotel felt like home, very cozy and clean. We are also excitied to hear that you enjoyed all the guest amenities the Mansfield has to offer. Thank you for being a valued guest at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit.
We appreciate the kind words and we hope every guest feels the same way you did.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shoreham
Shoreham
#318 of 473 in New York City
1,902 reviews
Midtown
Dylan Hotel NYC
Dylan Hotel NYC
#371 of 473 in New York City
937 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#199 of 473 in New York City
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#345 of 473 in New York City
3,317 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#348 of 473 in New York City
4,783 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#282 of 473 in New York City
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Address: 12 W 44th St, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Business Hotel in New York City
#231 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $121 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mansfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing