We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Localização/location, localização/location, localização/location...”
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mansfield
Ranked #343 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great hotel! The location is perfect. Just steps close to the Times Square and Grand Central (metro station that conects you to everywhere). The rooms were clean and well decorated. Just dont expect cordiality from the staff, they are just professionals, unless you tip them well - and for EVERYTHING (NY Style).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Alan-Araruna,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Mansfield Hotel during your trip to New York City. We are excited to hear how much you loved the hotel and hope it has become your hotel of choice the next time you are in NYC. The location, cleanliness and decorations of the rooms are just some of the amenities we have to offer and I am so glad you pointed them out. There are many choices of hotels in NY and we are so happy you decided to stay with us!

We appreciate you taking the time to express your happiness with the hotel and your stay.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mansfield the next time you are in the city.

Thank you,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,056 - 1,062 of 1,886 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

Booked to stay here on New Year's Eve at an exorbitant price due to it's location. The king room we had was large enough but the corridors are very narrow. We were awoken the first night by a woman screaming in another room. Although we had prepaid for the room we found that a significant extra charge was added to our credit card. It took several calls to the hotel to sort this out and have it reversed. Not impressed at all for the price or the service. Would not recommend it as a four star hotel, there are much better options for a similar price in town.

Room Tip: Rooms are not well insulated. We were located at the back of the hotel. The dumpsters were located i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DifromBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear DifromBrisbane,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Mansfield Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback as it allows us to hone in on our guests feelings, which enables us to get better at what we do. We hope that the next time you are in New York you will give us another chance as I know we can make your stay more memorable.

Thank you for taking time out of your day to help us get better.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed there about two months ago. The staff was very kind to both me and my son. The rooms are rather small, but it did not bother us. It's Manhatten. The location could not be better. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GH_ShrtOrDrCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear GH_ShrtOrDrCook,

Thank you for visiting NYC and staying at the Mansfield Hotel. We are very pleased you liked the location of the hotel and or staff’s friendliness. Please think about us again on your next visit to New York as we hope we are your choice of hotel.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I've been staying at The Mansfield for years and always enjoy my visit. The location is outstanding, as is the hotel staff. Smaller hotels always seem to be more welcoming to me, and The Mansfield is no exception. While the rooms are on the small side, the sophisticated creature comforts and appointments are thoughtfully chosen and arranged.
The espresso machine is a time honored favorite, and the bar exceptional, with live music most evenings. Really warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: All rooms are about the same, but junior suites a bit more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MssNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear MssNJ,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at the Mansfield Hotel. Thank you so much for your kind words about the staff as I know they all take pride in servicing our guests. We loved that you like the espresso machine, the M Bar and the warm and welcoming feeling the hotel has.
We can’t wait for your return to the Mansfield your hotel of choice.
Thank you very much and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Ok so the rooms are small, but who goes to NYC to sit in a room all day? It was exactly what I needed. A room close to Time Square for a great price. Booked on Priceline on a bid and got the room for $115 per night over a weekend. Can't beat that. The staff was amazing and very accommodating. Fresh cookies and fruit at the desk and always willing to help. I would stay there again when looking for the same criteria. The bathroom size was pretty nice considering how small the room was. Very hot shower and and an excellet shower head. Only complaint is the bathroom needs a bathroom fan as it gets quite steamy when taking a shower. The only other issue I had was room 501 still had the air conditioner in the window so there was some leaking cold air that came into the room. Nothing some towels couldn't fix but it would have been better to have the ac removed. The front desk offered to have it removed on the second night but I was leaving the next day and didn't want them to bother. All in all, great stay, very quiet hotel, excellent location and a great price!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vtgayda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear vtgayda,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Mansfield Hotel during your last visit to NYC! We loved your feedback as it shows our future guests how good our amenities, location, and staff are. Your suggestions are very important and we will take them all in to consideration. Thank you for taking the time out to write a review as it assists us in getting better at what we do.

We would love to welcome you back the next time you are in NYC and hope we are your hotel of choice.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Spent three nights at The Mansfield and it had a good location but the rooms were really small. I was able to get a handicapped room and it of course was a lot larger. Very friendly staff and a nice bar area that is open late.

Room Tip: Handicap Rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Mark H,

We were so glad that you stayed with us for three nights during your time in NYC. Our staff really tries to give the best service they can provide and being friendly is always a key to success. We are very happy you enjoyed the M Bar as it is a fun little spot in Manhattan.
Thank you for your feedback and review of the hotel. We hope when you come back to visit New York you think of the Mansfield first.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Small, boutique hotel smack in midtown Manhattan. Rooms are small, but comfortable. Would not stay here if I was going to be around for any length of time as the size of the standard rooms would be a hassle. That said, for a night in the city it is pretty comfortable. Good bar, lobby, friendly staff. Can't beat the location if you need to be in midtown. The staff is great and the hotel is very clean and neat as a pin.

Ask for a room away from 44th. Midtown is very loud at all times of day and sleeping can be a challenge for the uninitiated.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smeyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear smeyler,

It was wonderful having you stay with us at the Mansfield Hotel. It is great that you loved the location, M Bar and that you thought our staff was friendly. I am really pleased to hear about the cleanliness of the hotel. Our team members work very hard to keep the hotel in tip top shape.

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback. It is always helpful to myself and the team to understand what our guest are feeling about the hotel.
We hope to see you again soon.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shoreham
Shoreham
#318 of 473 in New York City
1,902 reviews
Midtown
Dylan Hotel NYC
Dylan Hotel NYC
#371 of 473 in New York City
937 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#199 of 473 in New York City
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#345 of 473 in New York City
3,317 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#348 of 473 in New York City
4,785 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#282 of 473 in New York City
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Address: 12 W 44th St, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Business Hotel in New York City
#231 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $120 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mansfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing