We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable, central.”
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mansfield
Ranked #348 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, central.”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Small, boutique hotel smack in midtown Manhattan. Rooms are small, but comfortable. Would not stay here if I was going to be around for any length of time as the size of the standard rooms would be a hassle. That said, for a night in the city it is pretty comfortable. Good bar, lobby, friendly staff. Can't beat the location if you need to be in midtown. The staff is great and the hotel is very clean and neat as a pin.

Ask for a room away from 44th. Midtown is very loud at all times of day and sleeping can be a challenge for the uninitiated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smeyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear smeyler,

It was wonderful having you stay with us at the Mansfield Hotel. It is great that you loved the location, M Bar and that you thought our staff was friendly. I am really pleased to hear about the cleanliness of the hotel. Our team members work very hard to keep the hotel in tip top shape.

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback. It is always helpful to myself and the team to understand what our guest are feeling about the hotel.
We hope to see you again soon.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    641
    328
    157
    122
See reviews for
258
738
121
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very comfortable hotel just steps from Fifth Avenue at 44th Street. Modern, well decorated rooms. Many nice free amenities: espresso machine in lobby, NY Times in the am, open wireless, shoe shinning service! The lobby is very small, and the rooms are smallish, but a very comfortable place to stay. Highly recommended as a reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear pjl52,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at the Mansfield Hotel. We are so pleased you liked the location, décor and amenities of the hotel. Next time you are in NYC we hope the Mansfield Hotel is your choice again!

We appreciate that you took time out of your day to post a review.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This place was nothing special. The only reason It was 3/5 and not 2/5 was the price, couldn't beat the price staying 2 blocks off Times Square. Let me run down the positives first, cause that list is short. The price was great for the location, the lobby had this nice little library area to relax and have some cappuccino from their machine. That's all of the good things to say unfortunately.

I get that it is NYC so I was expecting the small rooms, they were ok, not as small as I was expecting. When we first got to our room, it was like a sauna, the heat was cranked up really high. And we couldn't adjust it ourselves, even though there was a thermostat remote sitting on the desk. Had to call up maintenance and turn it off cause it's a very old building. The bed and the window seat were very old and falling apart. The bed was very bouncy, whenever my wife or I would move, it was like an earthquake. After the first night there of our 2 night stay, something happened in their system and our room keycards did not work anymore, we spent at least 10 mins at the front desk trying to get the working again, and they had no idea what happened.

It was just an OK place to stay, nothing special, which is a shame given the location.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. But if you must stay here, do not get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear armpitt212,

Thank you very much for your feedback of the Mansfield Hotel. We truly appreciate the feedback as it allows us to understand what our guests needs are while enabling us to get better at what we do. We know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and some of its amenities so we would encourage to come and stay with us again. I think if you gave us another chance you will have a different opinion of the hotel.
When you do decide to come back to NYC please ask for me so we can talk about your expectations so the team and I can meet all of them.

Best,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

You really can't beat the price and location. If you just need a place to sleep, you don't want to share a washroom, and you don't want to pay $400, this place is perfect. Plus, the rooms are nicely designed and cute, even if a bit tiny. I'm a repeat customer.

Room Tip: There are interior rooms where the window faces directly into a wall. Not good if you're claustr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie6472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Annie6472,

Thank you for being a repeat guest at the Mansfield Hotel. We pride ourselves on bringing customers back to the hotel for repeat stays by providing the services and amenities they desire. Your feedback goes along way; enabling us to keep striving to get better at what we do.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mansfield during your next visit to the big apple.

Thank you,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The Mansfield is a nice and small hotel conveniently located between Times Square and 5th Avenue. Very close to lots of restaurants, theaters, shops, etc... But on a street without too much traffic and people. We were welcomed nicely by the staff upon arrival although my only complaint was that the desk clerk did not have a room available and promised to call us when a room became available so we could walk around. We never received a call that the room was ready and waited until after dinner to return when the new desk clerk on duty seemed to have no idea that we had even been there earlier.

The room was nice. We were in room 303. It was small but nice with wood floors and a nice window seat. Like other reviewers before me though, the room was very dark even with lights on. One light in the corner was so dim it might as well have been a night light. Suggestion to the hotel is to put in better lighting and perhaps a small table and chair for reading or eating in the room. The bathroom was tiny but fine. I was disappointed that there was mildew on the shower floor and expect more from a higher hotel rating. Otherwise, the hotel was clean and the service was friendly.

Others have commented on the free coffee in the library. The area was nice and coffee was very good. It would have been nice if the hotel offered cards, checkers or chess pieces for the tables in the library but when visiting New York there are lots of better things to do than site in a hotel!

Over all, the hotel was nice and I enjoyed the stay. A tip to those with difficulty walking or who need handicap accessibility - the entrance to the hotel involves multiple steps and I saw no ramps or other entrances into the hotel so you may want to consider that if you have trouble with steps.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SGDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear SGDelaware.

Thank you very much for reviewing the Mansfield Hotel. The review you have provided gives great feedback and we will look in to your suggestions. I am very happy to hear the staff was friendly and accommodating. We hope you choose us again the next time you visit as we would love to welcome you back.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a great three night stay. The check in was easy, service was great. Andrew daily gave us great service and made us feel welcome. This hotel has a great location for theater, time square, and walking up fifth avenue. The room was small but the cleaning staff was great. Their is a large library area to meet friends, have complementary coffee and enjoy the fireplace. We had drinks and food at the bar with excellent service. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Also has a gym available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, Manager at The Mansfield, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Cynnie A,

Thank you for staying with us at the Mansfield Hotel! When people take time out of their day to give feedback which enables us to get better at what we do; it is always welcome. I am so happy Andrew and the staff were accommodating to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Book this hotel last minute via Hotwire.com. Save me $80 a night compare to other nearby 4 star hotels. Fortunately got the pent house which is quiet and it has a special elevator access. Gym was clean and well equipped, coffee bar is calm and cozy for reading and people watching. There is a bar connected to the hotel that I didn't visit, but it is nicely decorated.

Staff is nice and friendly, location is walking distance to timesquare.

During my stay, unfortunately there were some internet connection issue so no internet for the whole block :( But overall stay was great!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CChin1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Midtown
Shoreham
Shoreham
#315 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Gotham Hotel
The Gotham Hotel
#207 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#267 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,939 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#336 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Property: The Mansfield
Address: 12 W 44th St, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Family Hotel in New York City
#226 Business Hotel in New York City
#237 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mansfield 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. Guests can enjoy complimentary 24-hour espresso and cappuccino in the hotel's classically-restored Beaux-Arts Club Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing