We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room - Disappointed w/ everything else”
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Mansfield
Ranked #346 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Upon arrival at the hotel we were confused to see no one to great us at the door and take our car. i double parked and and ran inside to the very small lobby that seemed more like a coat check than a lobby of a 4 star hotel. I was told they did not have valet today and was given a discount coupon to the parking garage 2 blocks over. with traffic, it took us over an hour to park our car and make it back to the hotel.
Check in was a breeze, but again, the lobby was nowhere near impressive and the service was that of a days in motel than a 4 star hotel. our room was nice, typical for New York very compact but we got a junior suite and it was the most spacious room we have stayed at in manhattan. there was also no ice maker and we needed to go down to the bar off the lobby (also not impressive) to get a cup of ice.
the location was nice, close enough to Times Square and Central Park and in a good area. for the money, not worth it. we wont consider staying here again... most likely to choose a less expensive hotel or find one that offers more for your money!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GCaldwell333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,832)
There are newer reviews for The Mansfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,043 - 1,049 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is the letter I wrote to the hotel when I left:
When your hotel first opened, I was a frequent guest.
I loved the atmosphere, the charm, the staff - it was a very pleasant home away from home.
When I came to New York this week on business, it was the Mansfield where I chose to stay
- and I was looking forward to returning.
I was so very disappointed - from the first moment to the last. The 'junior suite' where I stayed
with an associate had no dresser, and the most minimal lighting. The sofa bed was thin, with
coils barely covered by a mattress that should have been replaced long ago. The bathroom
doors didn't close, the windows didn't open, and the bed - at 4pm - remained unmade.
The staff at the front desk - with only one exception - was unhelpful, slovenly, and totally
uninterested.
For a hotel which used to pride itself on service and charm, none was evident.
The Mansfield used to be a place that I loved.
Not only will I never return, I would counsel anyone I know who was even thinking of staying
there to go elsewhere - to go anywhere else.
Had I read TripAdvisor - which I should have done - I would have seen that I am not the only
person to have had this experience. It's a shame it see what has happened to what used to
be a hotel with great charm and style.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mtl-vt-itl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for business for one evening. It is a nice Art Deco style Boutique hotel. The rooms are nice and clean, albeit the cushion on the ledge seat was very stained... The room had very nive wood floors sbd grest lighting. The bathroom was clean but very small. The bar was nice and well stocked. The front library has a complimentary coffee/espresso/cappucino machine... Very good! Well worth a stay for a night or for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myrolexs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is very beautiful boutique hotel in Midtown Manhattan. The location is great, the service is outstanding, complementary Cappuccino is tasty, the room is small but gorgeously decorated.
The woman on the reception desk, her name is Gina, provided exceptional service, she was very kind and helpful, and we received perfect service when she was on duty. Attention to the hotel manager, keep people like She in your hotel, and soon Your hotel will be very famous for excellent customer service. I also would like to thank the assistant manager who was on duty when Gina was. He was very kind and helpful too. I didn't take his name, so I would like to thank Him this way.
The complementary high-speed wireless internet everywhere, in rooms and in library room.
Thank You guys, I will be back to your place soon.

Room Tip: You never regret when you choose this hotel for your stay in Manhattan.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michail_K_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is lovely from a decor perspective. It has a distinctive european flair. It is conveniently located as well. It is pretty quiet. The one problem is the mattresses. If you are picky about the texture of a mattress skip it. I am highly sensitive. If the mattress would have been comfortable I would give this hotel the highest rating. As it was I stayed 2 nights and got a total of about 5 hours of sleep from tossing and turning on account of the bed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serenity J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The rooms are small, there is not much space to move around. However, the rooms are clean and the furnishing is appropriate. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. I think the price is right for what you get. This hotel is very well located. Close to everything, but in a quiet street. I will try to stay here every time I go back to NY city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jula75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Such a cute room---close to all the action--Times Square--Broadway, great restuarants, and shopping. Staff is very nice and helpful. Because we arrived early, the bellman held our luggage until we checked in the evening.

Room Tip: Basic rooms are great for couples--get a larger room for a family trip or a girl's getaway. The...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenniferbrown48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shoreham
Shoreham
#306 of 468 in New York City
1,810 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#203 of 468 in New York City
1,490 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#270 of 468 in New York City
4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#362 of 468 in New York City
1,191 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#266 of 468 in New York City
2,233 reviews
Midtown
The Gallivant Times Square
The Gallivant Times Square
#363 of 468 in New York City
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Address: 12 W 44th St, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#215 Family Hotel in New York City
#221 Business Hotel in New York City
#232 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $152 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mansfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing