We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel in great location”
Review of The Mansfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mansfield
Ranked #341 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My son and I recently stayed at the Mansfield for one night.
It was in a great location, a few steps from 5th Avenue on 44th and perfect place to do some shopping and close to Times Square, Grand Central Station and the Rockefeller Centre.
The hotel itself has been beautifully renovated, with a fantastic "library" guest area with complimentary coffee / tea. The M. Bar is also very nice with live jazz on the night that we were there.
The hotel is a very tight space, as too be expected in a building of that age. But our room, as well as a bedroom, had separate sitting room with a pull out sofa, desk,occasional chair and flat screen. The bathroom although small was lovely with nice amenities.
We didn't find the staff particularly friendly, but we weren't there for long so that could be the reason for that.
All in all it is a beautiful hotel in a fantastic area and I would be happy to stay there again or to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieCoolangatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,163 - 1,169 of 1,876 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

Upon arrival at the hotel at around midnight we were exceptionally well greeted by two members of staff. Room was excellent and the building and rooms well decorated. For new York the room was a very good size, with lounge area and bedroom however this was the more expensive of suites. Room was very well presented and clean and the bed was comfy. We also liked the fact that there was free wifi, and plenty of reading material relating to New York. The location was very close to Times Square and Grand Central Station. If we were to be picky, the room was a little dark. We would definitely recommend and wil be staying again ourselves next time we came here.

Room Tip: 1106 is great and very quiet with no street noise whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The rooms are clean and have a nice bed, however they are very small with practically no closet space and no drawers at all. The bathroom is also very very small

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prostisimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My son and stayed here during a three day trip to the city over a school break. Room was clean, comfortable and a perfect size for two people. The bathroom was completely updated. Location is great..walking distance to the theatre district and Times Square. We were in a room facing the street and the traffic noise was a little bit annoying...but as per reviewers have said, this is NYC. We would definitely stay here again!!

Stayed: April 2012
Thank ginmarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

30 year old couple from uk stayed for 5 nights
good points....

comfortable bed
ipod dock
clean room and bathroom
Free coffee
well finished
quiet
staff very friendly and helpful
free to use safe in room
fridge
Room to keep luggage in on last day after checking out.
Gym (only realised this as we were leaving)
Good shower
The best thing is the location. Five minute walk to times square and five minute walk to grand central station

Bad points.....
Room was dark. Little or no natural light.
Small room but we expected this. Big enough for us and i'm 6 foot 5.
No soap dish

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cdvcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

My wife, brother, and I are were in town for a wedding at the Harvard Club. The Mansfield is directly across the street, so we booked a room here. Upon arrival the very pleasant front desk person said, "I'm going to put you in a nice room." Imagine our surprise when we opened the door and it was the penthouse suite! It was tremendously spacious, and not just by midtown standards. It was truly the most finely appointed hotel room I've ever stayed. The impressive photos on the website do not exaggerate; in fact I don't think they do it justice in terms of overall scale. No street noise from our room.
Staff was very friendly, personable and helpful. Parking is a piece of cake and surprisingly not as expensive as expected. I would describe the decor as rich and opulent, but still understated. It fits in very well with the local surroundings/atmosphere.
There is no place like New York, and in New York, there is no place like the Mansfield.
Thanks for providing us an experience that we enjoy sharing with our friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leej321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The Manhattan real estate from 5th Avenue to 6th on 44th Street is a favorite stretch of mine, fine hotels, shops and eateries and many of the structures on the street are designated landmarks (The New York Yacht Club, for one). I have stayed in most of the hotels on Forty Fourth and was always intrigued by The Mansfield Apartments, a lovely building on the south side of the street, ticked it off my list, just last week.

Spent two nights in this unusual property and enjoyed my stay. I understand there are a number of jail cell sized rooms in the hotel but I had a sizable room that had character and windows you could open ( a rarity). Comfortable bed, small but more then adequate bathroom. I was in the back part of the hotel so noise was not an issue.

There is a stylish bar adjacent to the lobby and across from it, a study with couches and chairs and a cappuccino machine at the ready.

As for the Property Vibe;The Mansfield doesn't feel like a hotel and that can appeal to many who are tired of characterless lobbies and rooms that could only be in a hotel.

Happy with my Mansfield experience and location,location,Location.

Room Tip: Ask for a shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Shoreham
Shoreham
#318 of 471 in New York City
1,882 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#280 of 471 in New York City
1,893 reviews
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#347 of 471 in New York City
3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#203 of 471 in New York City
1,602 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New Y...
#358 of 471 in New York City
1,231 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#348 of 471 in New York City
4,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansfield

Address: 12 W 44th St, Off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#221 Business Hotel in New York City
#231 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $120 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mansfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architectural and historical landmark, The Mansfield is a portal to a New York City of days gone. Guests of the hotel appreciate its club-like surroundings and superb craftsmanship, as illustrated by the lobby’s detailed illuminated 16-foot ceiling and oval staircases with original terrazzo floors. The Mansfield is located just off of Fifth Avenue at 44th Street, residing within the historic preservation district of Midtown Manhattan, and deep in the heart of the Theater District. The hotel is within a short walk of the finest Fifth Avenue stores, Bryant Park, Times Square, Broadway, Grand Central Station, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden and the Radio City Music Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelPower, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mansfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansfield Hotel New York City
Mansfield New York City
Mansfield Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing