We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Hotel in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lowell Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lowell Hotel
Ranked #285 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Lowell has set the standard for all my subsequent hotel experiences, which none have ever passed and few have reached its height.

Where to begin… It caress you with a warm touch, it soothes you with cozy, tasteful furnishings, it delights you with its first class decor. Whoever said "I want to live here", has spoken true; in an instant, it is your home, and you belong to it.

It is the best, most welcoming, romantic suite I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Chantal T,

We are truly thankful for your superb review of your recent Lowell experience. We make every effort to create the feeling of “coming home” while maintaining the highest standards in guest service and hotel services. We absolutely hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, so you may have an equally exceptional stay on your next visit.

Wishing you a lovely summer,

Sarah Bolton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    23
    10
    11
    4
See reviews for
38
80
22
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We love it here. So intimate and calm and just so well done. Very intimate lobby area, and the rooms are fabulous. Our room this time was a deluxe jr suite with a terrace. The front desk does a great job of securing transportation, theatre tickets, etc. It feels like a private club.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank detroitmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear detroitmom,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful feedback. Our goal is to provide the highest quality of service for our guests and your remarks help us reach this goal. Our individualized décor of our rooms and suites makes for a bespoke experience, as we strive for a home away from home atmosphere. This is absolutely the perfect time of year to enjoy one of our terrace suites and we are pleased you were able to do so. Our front desk works very closely with are knowledgeable concierge team in making special arrangements. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

My warmest regards,

Sarah Bolton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

What can I say...I love this hotel. At check out, my husband and I regretted having to leave. The entrance and the lobby are discreet. The check in and check out were easy and fast. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The décor is cozy and soft. The room was very comfortable and quiet. Room service food was excellent and came on time. The dining room on the 2nd floor was lovely. The location is very good - Madison & E 63rd. I've stayed at a lot of different hotels in New York City (The Trump at Columbus Circle, The Plaza Athenee, New York Palace, The Palace, The London, Gramercy Park Hotel, and The Ritz Carlton CPS) and I have finally found the hotel for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hpmarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear hpmarge,

We are so grateful for your kind words about The Lowell and that you enjoyed such a wonderful experience. It is so nice you had opportunity of enjoying our Pembroke Room and in room dining menu. We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful first visit with us and are honored that we have become your new home here in New York ! We are lucky to enjoy such a fanstatic location in the Upper East Side and strive to provide a quiet oasis. We are grateful for your patronage of The Lowell, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Sarah Bolton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This may be the best hotel experience I've ever had! Property itself is immaculately maintained, and the rooms are spacious by NYC standards. Mine even had a small kitchenette. Well supplied gym, with complimentary sports drinks and power bars. Staff is very welcoming and professional as well. Can't say enough great things about it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Glen M,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience at The Lowell! We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our property amenities and we able to make use of each during your stay. Your warm recognition of our associates has been shared and they are grateful for your observations. We truly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Wishing you a wonderful rest of summer,

Sarah Bolton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

It's been two and a half years since my last review of The Lowell in NYC. Nothing has changed, which believe me is the ultimate compliment. This place is a jewel that we visit at least two times every year. That said, I would like to re-post my previous review.

I believe we've been staying at the Lowell for approximately 15 years, usually visiting in the spring and fall. My wife and I have a favorite one-bedroom suite that we request, which is particularly nice in cool fall weather with its wood-burning fireplace. The suite has been totally renovated with a beautiful and spacious white marble bathroom and granite topped kitchenette. We use the Lowell as our base on these 5 night trips for forays to the theater, museums, restaurants and socializing with friends who are lucky enough to call NYC home. The Lowell is a welcome and ultra-comfortable respite from busy days and nights. We have also used it to host small cocktail gatherings in our suite, or order pizza up and watch a movie with friends. As I said, it feels like home and it's a tranquil and inviting respite to busy days and nights in the city. But above all, the real gems of the Lowell are its staff. These people are there to serve in a friendly and professional manner. They're down to earth, but exacting in executing your wishes and making you feel welcome and very special. From desk managers, to doormen, to bell men, to waiters and housekeeping, we see very little turnover from year to year. I assume the Lowell personnel are treated well, enjoy their jobs, and therefore reciprocate to their guests. The concierges, John Mark and Philip, are outstanding resources, well connected, and eager to advise and facilitate. The Lowell is a small hotel with approximately 4 rooms or suites per floor on 17 floors. It is an old building, but gracious and elegant. If you enjoy your hotels large, sleek, and bustling, this isn't what you're looking for. If you want highly personal attention, elegantly timeless ambience, and a stellar east side location between Park and Madison, this is your place. However, like most things dear and unique, it comes at a price, and it will get your attention depending on what type of accommodation you choose. But, that is a matter of choice, personal prioritiy and most likely frame of mind. The Lowell offers my wife and I everything we're looking for in NYC and we always look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear MLP50,

We are so thankful that you took this time to reiterate your positive impressions of The Lowell. Your comments are a testament to our drive for excellence in guest service and creating a home away from home atmosphere, so our guests may enjoy an oasis within Manhattan. We are so grateful to you that you continue to return to to visit us. It is guest loyalty such as yours, that truly is the reason our Lowell Family members continue to strive to provide the expectational service you describe. Many of our team members have been with us for years and we are so lucky to also depend on their loyalty to our guests.
We very much enjoyed reading your past impressions and the different ways you enjoy your time spent at The Lowell. We do hope we may continue to serve you and provide wonderful memories in the future.

Many thanks,

Sarah Bolton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I loved everything about this hotel! The room was beautiful, the service amazing and the location ideal. We have a small son and the hotel is only blocks from the Central Park Zoo, great restaurants, plenty of excellent shopping and Rock Center. I can't wait to stay at the Lowell again with my family or on business travel.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Brendan H,

We very much appreciate your kind remarks about The Lowell and your recent stay with us. Our team consistently strives to provide the highest quality of service to our guests. We are lucky to enjoy such a central location to many of Manhattan’s greatest attractions, dining and shopping.

We truly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another enjoyable leisure or business visit.

Warm regards,

Sarah Bolton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed at The Lowell Hotel back in November for 10 days, just being like home. Think that is what I like the most. The tiny lobby where you are greeted by the guest relations team asking you how your day was and they mean it, they are genuinely interest in you. Love the breakfast, Patrick and his team is incredible and they really look after you, I could not have enough of blueberry pancakes every morning and that freshly squeezed grapefruit juice. Yum. The rooms are not the largest but with your own fireplace and bathroom with a window overlooking the skyscrapers of NYC compensates for the lack of space. The wardrobes are tiny but hey, its a studio and it feels like home.

Room Tip: Go for higher floors, you will love the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldtraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Worldtraveler30,

We are grateful to you for sharing your positive impressions of The Lowell. We thrive on personalized service and how we may improve the day of each of our guests. Your comments have been shared with our Food & Beverage team and they are delighted to learn of your service recognition and that you enjoyed our breakfast.

For those cooler months, our real wood burning fireplaces make a for a most cozy atmosphere, while our outside terraces are something to look forward to in warmer months. We hope to welcome you back home to The Lowell any season and thank you for your patronage.

Sincerely yours,

Sarah Bolton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
#218 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#267 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#29 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#43 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,687 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#31 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowell Hotel

Property: Lowell Hotel
Address: 28 E 63rd St, Between Madison and Park Avenues, New York City, NY 10065-8088
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in New York City
#99 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#229 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lowell Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet, tree-lined street off Madison Avenue, The Lowell is in the heart of New York's most exclusive and fashionable Upper East Side. With only 47 individually decorated suites and 27 deluxe rooms, the hotel lavishes its guests with truly personalized service and great attention to detail. Among the many thoughtful touches are complimentary beverages upon arrival, Voss water at turndown and a selection of DDC28 amenities. Most suites have wood-burning fireplace, some have a terrace, and almost all have a fully equipped kitchen.The Pembroke Rooms serves afternoon tea and Sunday brunch. Along this Upper East Side location is a delight for our guests,with elegant boutiques, Fine bistros and restaurants, Central Park and Museum Mile's richness for the eye and spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Lowell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowell Hotel New York City
Lowell New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing