We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea at the Pembroke Room, The Lowell, New York City”
Review of Lowell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lowell Hotel
Ranked #132 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My girlfriends and I recently enjoyed a wonderful afternoon tea at the Pembroke Room. The service was excellent and the room was very pretty. It is a small intimate room and I felt like we were in a jewel box at a small palace in France. For a group of 8 pr more , the group has to,select 3 teas, I suppose it helps make service more efficient. We picked themLowell blend, the Harmony and the Peat. Everyone loved the Lowell, nobody like the Pear. The staff kept our cups full and were very attentive. We all had the classic tea and had a variety of petite sandwiches, pastries and scones. We each got 4 pieces of sandwiches, and two tiers filled with the pastries like macaroons,,tarts, petit fours. However we only got one tiny scone each ...it was too firm for my taste and really small. I wish we had way fewer pasties and more scones. I enjoy scones and have been to many different places, including England and this definitely did not have good scones. So, if you want an intimate , elegant room, and re not too picky with the scone, do come and enjoy this lovely place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank mychinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience! We value your feedback and will use it in order to improve our products for our Afternoon Tea service. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Pembroke Room soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 327 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

It's funny that many of the reviews mention the fact that this hotel is not very well known! I can concur, as when I got to JFK and took a shuttle bus neither the bus driver or the computer with the list of hotels in NYC had heard of it. It has to be one of NYC's best kept secrets. Location is excellent for shopping, next to central park, 30 mins walk to many museums. Warm welcome on arrival with complimentary drinks. The room itself was large by NYC standards and beautifully decorated. Excellent bed and a quiet location lead to restful nights sleep. We never ate at the hotel with the exception of afternoon tea in our room, this too did not disappoint. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_m0j0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

I am thrilled to read your kind words in regards to your recent stay and I am glad that you enjoyed it. I will share your comments with the rest of the Lowell Family. We hope that we will be able to welcoming you back to The Lowell in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel itself is charming with beautiful decor and the location is fabulous Our suite was tastefully decorated and spacious. We stayed 5 nights and it truly felt like we had our own apartment in the city . Very courteous and polite service but a little bit impersonal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback from your most recent stay at The Lowell! We appreciate your feedback and will use it in order to improve our service. We hope to be able to welcoming you back in the near future with a more personal touch to your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location for a visit to NYC. Location is superb, steps away from shopping. Everyone at the is very attentive, anticipate your needs each and every time. They remember your name upon returning to the hotel, which is a nice touch. The rooms are comfortable, very nice and comfortable for working in your room.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind words! I will make sure to share them with the rest of the team. We hope to welcome you back to The Lowell in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the best kept secret in NewYork. Outstanding 5 star boutique hotel. Best location , excellent service and wonderful Michael J Smith designed suites and rooms. You can light the fires in your suites - it is simply a dream. Great room service and also room service from the chop house next door. Try the Lemon Chicken!! It never fails and spoils you for anywhere else.
This was my 30th visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a fireplace !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback from your most recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit! We hope to be able to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Very brief but lovely stay this February. The Lowell isn't flashy or ostentatious, but our room was beautiful, with a working fireplace and kitchen. It felt like being house guests for the weekend with a very wealthy friend. And awesome service, they even sent a welcome drink to our room. A great choice for a romantic getaway or family vacation (Rooms with kitchens would be great for anyone with children.) Not cheap, but worth a splurge. Not quite sure about the room service menu for pets.... but am sure it gets used.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sportsbabe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for sharing your kind words from your recent stay at The Lowell. It is a great pleasure to read your comments and to find that you enjoyed your visit. We are hoping to welcome you back for another delightful visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I could easily run out of superlatives to describe this hotel. We were here for seven days in January and the whole experience was incredible from the moment that we arrived to the moment we left we were treated like royalty. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to ANYONE. Superb.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmurphypsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at The Lowell! I am glad to hear that your experience was ‘incredible’ throughout your stay and I hope that there will be many more to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#197 of 470 in New York City
702 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#89 of 470 in New York City
1,916 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#32 of 470 in New York City
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#300 of 470 in New York City
815 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#56 of 470 in New York City
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowell Hotel

Address: 28 E 63rd St, Between Madison and Park Avenues, New York City, NY 10065-8088
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in New York City
#96 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#104 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#108 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $604 - $1,548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lowell Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet, tree-lined street off Madison Avenue, The Lowell is in the heart of New York's most exclusive and fashionable Upper East Side. With only 47 individually decorated suites and 27 deluxe rooms, the hotel lavishes its guests with truly personalized service and great attention to detail. Among the many thoughtful touches are complimentary beverages upon arrival, Voss water at turndown and a selection of DDC28 amenities. Most suites have wood-burning fireplace, some have a terrace, and almost all have a fully equipped kitchen.The Pembroke Rooms serves afternoon tea and Sunday brunch. Along this Upper East Side location is a delight for our guests,with elegant boutiques, Fine bistros and restaurants, Central Park and Museum Mile's richness for the eye and spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lowell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowell Hotel New York City
Lowell New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing