We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class location, very good hotel”
Review of Lowell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lowell Hotel
Ranked #192 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Top class location, very good hotel”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel itself is charming with beautiful decor and the location is fabulous Our suite was tastefully decorated and spacious. We stayed 5 nights and it truly felt like we had our own apartment in the city . Very courteous and polite service but a little bit impersonal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback from your most recent stay at The Lowell! We appreciate your feedback and will use it in order to improve our service. We hope to be able to welcoming you back in the near future with a more personal touch to your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    32
    12
    11
    6
See reviews for
57
107
28
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location for a visit to NYC. Location is superb, steps away from shopping. Everyone at the is very attentive, anticipate your needs each and every time. They remember your name upon returning to the hotel, which is a nice touch. The rooms are comfortable, very nice and comfortable for working in your room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! I will make sure to share them with the rest of the team. We hope to welcome you back to The Lowell in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the best kept secret in NewYork. Outstanding 5 star boutique hotel. Best location , excellent service and wonderful Michael J Smith designed suites and rooms. You can light the fires in your suites - it is simply a dream. Great room service and also room service from the chop house next door. Try the Lemon Chicken!! It never fails and spoils you for anywhere else.
This was my 30th visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a fireplace !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback from your most recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit! We hope to be able to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Very brief but lovely stay this February. The Lowell isn't flashy or ostentatious, but our room was beautiful, with a working fireplace and kitchen. It felt like being house guests for the weekend with a very wealthy friend. And awesome service, they even sent a welcome drink to our room. A great choice for a romantic getaway or family vacation (Rooms with kitchens would be great for anyone with children.) Not cheap, but worth a splurge. Not quite sure about the room service menu for pets.... but am sure it gets used.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sportsbabe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind words from your recent stay at The Lowell. It is a great pleasure to read your comments and to find that you enjoyed your visit. We are hoping to welcome you back for another delightful visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington Cheshire.
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I could easily run out of superlatives to describe this hotel. We were here for seven days in January and the whole experience was incredible from the moment that we arrived to the moment we left we were treated like royalty. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to ANYONE. Superb.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmurphypsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at The Lowell! I am glad to hear that your experience was ‘incredible’ throughout your stay and I hope that there will be many more to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

At the opposite side of the same block than Hermes just off Madison, the location is cool.
The doormen are correct. The lobby is old NY understated and chic. The receptionists and the concierge makes you feel at home. The clientele is upscale, discrete and well travelled. You get to your floor rarely seeing anyones, and you get to a normal elegant well appointed suite. It's comfortable, the bed and the linens are very nice. Good lighting, quiet, with wonderful classic bathrooms and amenities. Is it all that anyone can ask for? Good room service, great valet and excellent housekeeping. And they are kind and generous with the hotel car, and plenty of perks... Good service is invisible, the Lowell knows!

Room Tip: Be kind and honest, and you will mostly get an upgrade. Be elegant and generous, the staff will welc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VBCJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
I am delighted to read your kind words and brilliant ‘Room Tips’! I will share your generous comments with the rest of the team. We hope to welcome you back soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I do not know what the last reviewer is referring to, because I just spent 4 perfect nights at the Lowell. Breakfast, afternoon tea and Room Service were all sampled, and all great. The doormen and the Front Desk staff outstanding. One valet chased a cab down the street for us, when I thanked him his response "that my job'", actually I thought, that is way beyond your job!! Well Done. Concierge hit every recommendation exactly. The entire stay was a huge success.
Thank you Lowell team, I will be sure to come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikolai_Bloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra F, Guest Relations Manager at Lowell Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Blloyd,
Thank you for sharing your experience and for your kind words! I will make sure to pass on your compliments to our Lowell Family members. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#108 of 467 in New York City
524 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#256 of 467 in New York City
774 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#191 of 467 in New York City
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#33 of 467 in New York City
692 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#77 of 467 in New York City
1,846 reviews
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
#174 of 467 in New York City
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowell Hotel

Property: Lowell Hotel
Address: 28 E 63rd St, Between Madison and Park Avenues, New York City, NY 10065-8088
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in New York City
#97 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#141 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lowell Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet, tree-lined street off Madison Avenue, The Lowell is in the heart of New York's most exclusive and fashionable Upper East Side. With only 47 individually decorated suites and 27 deluxe rooms, the hotel lavishes its guests with truly personalized service and great attention to detail. Among the many thoughtful touches are complimentary beverages upon arrival, Voss water at turndown and a selection of DDC28 amenities. Most suites have wood-burning fireplace, some have a terrace, and almost all have a fully equipped kitchen.The Pembroke Rooms serves afternoon tea and Sunday brunch. Along this Upper East Side location is a delight for our guests,with elegant boutiques, Fine bistros and restaurants, Central Park and Museum Mile's richness for the eye and spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lowell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowell Hotel New York City
Lowell New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing