We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels like home - a terrific one” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lowell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lowell Hotel
Ranked #271 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Feels like home - a terrific one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

When you walk down the steps from 63rd Street to the Lowell's small lobby you feel as if you're coming home from the storm of the city. The desk people are welcoming, the concierge is knowledgeable and "wired," the doorman and porters greet you pleasantly. When you get to your suite, assuming you have treated yourself to one, you wonder if you'd just as soon stay for a loong while. We've been coming to the Lowell for a few decades, and the place has maintained a delightfully high level of service all that time. The rooms have been refurbished more than once during that period. The latest do-over was A+ with respect to the bathroom in our last suite -- a very worldly friend commented, on seeing the bathroom, "I want a bathroom just like this!" Our bed had about 10 pillows on it, making choosing just the right one a snap. Usually higher rooms are hotter (hot air rises, after all) but to our delight our suite on the 14th floor was not unpleasantly warm. The hotel only has two tiny elevators, one of which is not infrequently out of service, which is inconvenient, but the only fly I can identify in this particular ointment -- or, rather, balm.

Room Tip: Higher is quieter. Corner rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WashingtonTraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    29
    12
    11
    5
See reviews for
50
95
24
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed at Lowell during a business trip.
The hotel is perfectly located in an elegant residential area right east of central park south. You just need 2 block to reach the underground. When in nyc, avoid midtown, too bustling.

The hotel itself is very elegant, boutique size, intimate. The staff is extremely welcoming, professional yet friendly.
I had a deluxe room and it was a perfect size.

I will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fedeati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

I believe we've been staying at the Lowell for approximately 15 years, usually visiting in the spring and fall. My wife and I have a favorite one-bedroom suite that we request, which is particularly nice in cool fall weather with its wood-burning fireplace. The suite has been totally renovated with a beautiful and spacious white marble bathroom and granite topped kitchenette. We use the Lowell as our base on these 5 night trips for forays to the theater, museums, restaurants and socializing with friends who are lucky enough to call NYC home. The Lowell is a welcome and ultra-comfortable respite from busy days and nights. We have also used it to host small cocktail gatherings in our suite, or order pizza up and watch a movie with friends. As I said, it feels like home and it's a tranquil and inviting respite to busy days and nights in the city. But above all, the real gems of the Lowell are its staff.
These people are there to serve in a friendly and professional manner. They're down to earth, but exacting in executing your wishes and making you feel welcome and very special. From desk managers, to doormen, to bell men, to waiters and housekeeping, we see very little turnover from year to year. I assume the Lowell personnel are treated well, enjoy their jobs, and therefore reciprocate to their guests. The concierges, John Mark and Philip, are outstanding resources, well connected, and eager to advise and facilitate. The Lowell is a small hotel with approximately 4 rooms or suites per floor on 17 floors. It is an old building, but gracious and elegant. If you enjoy your hotels large, sleek, and bustling, this isn't what you're looking for. If you want highly personal attention, elegantly timeless ambience, and a stellar east side location between Park and Madison, this is your place. However, like most things dear and unique, it comes at a price, and it will get your attention depending on what type of accommodation you
choose. But, that is a matter of choice, personal prioritiy and most likely frame of mind. The Lowell offers my wife and I everything we're looking for in NYC and we always look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Our first visit to the Lowell was a great success. Service, accommodation and location all met our expectations. We shall return !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agedbutcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I recently stayed here for the weekend with some girlfriends. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. Everything from the lobby to the room was absolutely amazing. The bellman greeted me before I was even out of the cab and check in was a breeze. The staff were polished, professional and warm. Upon entering the suite, Tony offered to light the fireplace for me.....amazing! I was also offered a beverage of my choice which was complimentary. This hotel is absolutely beautiful....the rooms were like an apartment and were quite cozy and contemporary. It is a great location on the upper east side and easily accessible to all the shopping on Madison Ave. Despite being in the middle of Manhattan, it was unbelievably quiet! I will definitely be back and most definitely recommend to anyone I can!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anirishgirlinboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed at The Lowell September 2011 for 5 days. Service and room impeccable and the upper east side simply the most desirable part of NYC. Thanks to all at the Lowell. Even down to the cold water as we left in the limo. A stay we wont forget.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbawden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

The rooms were very charming and extremely cosy, made me feel right at home! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BStone61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#257 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
#178 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#334 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowell Hotel

Property: Lowell Hotel
Address: 28 E 63rd St, Between Madison and Park Avenues, New York City, NY 10065-8088
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in New York City
#99 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#174 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#229 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lowell Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet, tree-lined street off Madison Avenue, The Lowell is in the heart of New York's most exclusive and fashionable Upper East Side. With only 47 individually decorated suites and 27 deluxe rooms, the hotel lavishes its guests with truly personalized service and great attention to detail. Among the many thoughtful touches are complimentary beverages upon arrival, Voss water at turndown and a selection of DDC28 amenities. Most suites have wood-burning fireplace, some have a terrace, and almost all have a fully equipped kitchen.The Pembroke Rooms serves afternoon tea and Sunday brunch. Along this Upper East Side location is a delight for our guests,with elegant boutiques, Fine bistros and restaurants, Central Park and Museum Mile's richness for the eye and spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Lowell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowell Hotel New York City
Lowell New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing