We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing!”
Review of Lowell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lowell Hotel
Ranked #206 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
boston, ma
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I recently stayed here for the weekend with some girlfriends. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. Everything from the lobby to the room was absolutely amazing. The bellman greeted me before I was even out of the cab and check in was a breeze. The staff were polished, professional and warm. Upon entering the suite, Tony offered to light the fireplace for me.....amazing! I was also offered a beverage of my choice which was complimentary. This hotel is absolutely beautiful....the rooms were like an apartment and were quite cozy and contemporary. It is a great location on the upper east side and easily accessible to all the shopping on Madison Ave. Despite being in the middle of Manhattan, it was unbelievably quiet! I will definitely be back and most definitely recommend to anyone I can!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    32
    12
    11
    6
See reviews for
57
107
28
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed at The Lowell September 2011 for 5 days. Service and room impeccable and the upper east side simply the most desirable part of NYC. Thanks to all at the Lowell. Even down to the cold water as we left in the limo. A stay we wont forget.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbawden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The rooms were very charming and extremely cosy, made me feel right at home! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BStone61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The location of the Lowell offers something rare in New York- quiet while still being close to attractions. It is in a residential neighborhood, away from the garbage trucks and sirens that are typical almost everywhere else. The hotel small, about 50 rooms, so the staff recognize you, and know your name. The decor is classic, but does not feel old. Our room was updated with a bath that matches what you'd find in a Four Seasons or Ritz property. The restaurant was excellent, fitness center was fine, and the concierge was able to find face-price tickets for one of the harder shows in the city. Walk 1/2 block and you are on Madison Avenue, a bit further an you are near Central Park and the many museums. i

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjlinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I could not disagree with "areviewer"'s review (talk about awkward english).

If you read my review on The Surrey Hotel, I say it is my second favourite hotel in New York.....I don't mention my favourite.

Somethings you must keep sacred, but then after reading what "areviwer" wrote, I felt compelled to spill the beans.

There is a bar..... and a restaurant (one of the best in the city) but discreet.
Did I say best in NYC? .... I mean in America. I'm actually quoting Wine Spectator, Esquire magazine and NYTimes. This is where real NYers dine.

The rooms are DIVINE!
You feel as if you are in your own pied a terre.

I could go on and on..... but I will allow you to find out for yourself.

This property is the standard that I compare all Hotel experiences to.
Period.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the hotel, but if you would like a fireplace room do request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nyctvlr75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The hotel's location is fantastic however -the following points should be considered before booking:

1. It is very discrete - however, the service for me was a bit impersonal at times
2. The hotel has more of a serviced apartment/ B&B feel - this is fine if its what you are looking for - but a bit souless. The public areas are very small and there is no bar
4. The decor in the public areas as well as the restaurant is dated - lots of floral patterns and chintz
5. The rooms are very well appointed and reasonably large - do ask for one of the renovated ones

I am glad I experienced The Lowell - but for me - if you are looking at staying in this area - The Surrey does it much better at a lesser price. Even if both were the same price I would go for the surrey

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank areviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Boutique hotels nowadays try to be edgy and modern but this hotel is a classic hidden gem. I've been staying in so many contemporary style hotels lately I forgot how lovely it can be to stay somewhere with old world charm. Every touch speaks quality, Bulgari amenities, soft fluffy towels embroidered with "L", Wedgewood cutlery... The only flaw I could find in this hotel was the tv in the bathroom. It is mounted above the tub but if you're inside the tub you can't see anything because it doesn't tilt down. Otherwise everything was fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iloveboutiquehotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#85 of 466 in New York City
524 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#249 of 466 in New York City
774 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#181 of 466 in New York City
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#32 of 466 in New York City
692 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#73 of 466 in New York City
1,844 reviews
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
#184 of 466 in New York City
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowell Hotel

Property: Lowell Hotel
Address: 28 E 63rd St, Between Madison and Park Avenues, New York City, NY 10065-8088
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in New York City
#97 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#148 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#226 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lowell Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet, tree-lined street off Madison Avenue, The Lowell is in the heart of New York's most exclusive and fashionable Upper East Side. With only 47 individually decorated suites and 27 deluxe rooms, the hotel lavishes its guests with truly personalized service and great attention to detail. Among the many thoughtful touches are complimentary beverages upon arrival, Voss water at turndown and a selection of DDC28 amenities. Most suites have wood-burning fireplace, some have a terrace, and almost all have a fully equipped kitchen.The Pembroke Rooms serves afternoon tea and Sunday brunch. Along this Upper East Side location is a delight for our guests,with elegant boutiques, Fine bistros and restaurants, Central Park and Museum Mile's richness for the eye and spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lowell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowell Hotel New York City
Lowell New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing