We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best area and best hotel”
Review of Lowell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lowell Hotel
Ranked #126 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed at The Lowell September 2011 for 5 days. Service and room impeccable and the upper east side simply the most desirable part of NYC. Thanks to all at the Lowell. Even down to the cold water as we left in the limo. A stay we wont forget.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbawden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 327 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

The rooms were very charming and extremely cosy, made me feel right at home! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BStone61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The location of the Lowell offers something rare in New York- quiet while still being close to attractions. It is in a residential neighborhood, away from the garbage trucks and sirens that are typical almost everywhere else. The hotel small, about 50 rooms, so the staff recognize you, and know your name. The decor is classic, but does not feel old. Our room was updated with a bath that matches what you'd find in a Four Seasons or Ritz property. The restaurant was excellent, fitness center was fine, and the concierge was able to find face-price tickets for one of the harder shows in the city. Walk 1/2 block and you are on Madison Avenue, a bit further an you are near Central Park and the many museums. i

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjlinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I could not disagree with "areviewer"'s review (talk about awkward english).

If you read my review on The Surrey Hotel, I say it is my second favourite hotel in New York.....I don't mention my favourite.

Somethings you must keep sacred, but then after reading what "areviwer" wrote, I felt compelled to spill the beans.

There is a bar..... and a restaurant (one of the best in the city) but discreet.
Did I say best in NYC? .... I mean in America. I'm actually quoting Wine Spectator, Esquire magazine and NYTimes. This is where real NYers dine.

The rooms are DIVINE!
You feel as if you are in your own pied a terre.

I could go on and on..... but I will allow you to find out for yourself.

This property is the standard that I compare all Hotel experiences to.
Period.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the hotel, but if you would like a fireplace room do request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nyctvlr75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The hotel's location is fantastic however -the following points should be considered before booking:

1. It is very discrete - however, the service for me was a bit impersonal at times
2. The hotel has more of a serviced apartment/ B&B feel - this is fine if its what you are looking for - but a bit souless. The public areas are very small and there is no bar
4. The decor in the public areas as well as the restaurant is dated - lots of floral patterns and chintz
5. The rooms are very well appointed and reasonably large - do ask for one of the renovated ones

I am glad I experienced The Lowell - but for me - if you are looking at staying in this area - The Surrey does it much better at a lesser price. Even if both were the same price I would go for the surrey

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank areviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Boutique hotels nowadays try to be edgy and modern but this hotel is a classic hidden gem. I've been staying in so many contemporary style hotels lately I forgot how lovely it can be to stay somewhere with old world charm. Every touch speaks quality, Bulgari amenities, soft fluffy towels embroidered with "L", Wedgewood cutlery... The only flaw I could find in this hotel was the tv in the bathroom. It is mounted above the tub but if you're inside the tub you can't see anything because it doesn't tilt down. Otherwise everything was fabulous.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iloveboutiquehotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

The Lowell is like having your own apartment in the Upper East Side. The rooms are large, luxe, spotless, cozy, and there is a little kichenette in each room. The location is perfect, right on 63rd and Madison, easy to get to theater or downtown. The people at the desk and Concierge are always helpful as are the doormen. And internet is free, as it should be.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurensd1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#200 of 470 in New York City
700 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#88 of 470 in New York City
1,916 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#33 of 470 in New York City
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#298 of 470 in New York City
815 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#51 of 470 in New York City
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowell Hotel

Address: 28 E 63rd St, Between Madison and Park Avenues, New York City, NY 10065-8088
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in New York City
#96 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#223 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $601 - $1,849 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lowell Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet, tree-lined street off Madison Avenue, The Lowell is in the heart of New York's most exclusive and fashionable Upper East Side. With only 47 individually decorated suites and 27 deluxe rooms, the hotel lavishes its guests with truly personalized service and great attention to detail. Among the many thoughtful touches are complimentary beverages upon arrival, Voss water at turndown and a selection of DDC28 amenities. Most suites have wood-burning fireplace, some have a terrace, and almost all have a fully equipped kitchen.The Pembroke Rooms serves afternoon tea and Sunday brunch. Along this Upper East Side location is a delight for our guests,with elegant boutiques, Fine bistros and restaurants, Central Park and Museum Mile's richness for the eye and spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lowell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowell Hotel New York City
Lowell New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing