We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, wide rooms, good service”
Review of The Lombardy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lombardy Hotel
Ranked #268 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great location, wide rooms, good service”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

when you arrive at the small lounge, an old-fashioned, gentle receptionist gives you the key of your room and from that point on, you enter a traditional, american-style experience starting from the elevator, that is very old and elegant with a 70-year old lift-boy inside! the room was a 50 sq.meter large one with a wonderful wide king-bed, wardrobe and a kitchenette. breakfast is included and this is a plus, in nyc. recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmartF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    162
    40
    18
    13
See reviews for
147
127
23
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed at the Lombardy for 4 nights, up on the 12th floor. The room was large, clean and well designed.
The staff could not do enough for us. The location is great and I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Better_ole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Four of us went to New York for a birthday celebration. We had two rooms (809 and 810) for four nights. The Lombardy is a good value and is a welcoming place. We had searched for large hotel rooms with 2 double or queen beds. These are privately owned condos, which are sold as hotel rooms when the owners are not using them. A perfect solution.

The location of the hotel, on 56th between Lex and Park, is great. Safe at night, and easy during the day to get cabs or the subway. Both rooms were extremely spacious. They each had a small kitchenette with coffee maker and microwave. There was also a safe and robes in each room. The Lombardy provides a breakfast voucher for a free coffee and fresh pastry from their coffee shop which was very convenient.

The Lombardy is a good value and is a welcoming place. The staff were friendly, professional and very knowledgeable in their suggestions of eating places and things to do.

I would definitely recommend the Lombardy and will use it again when next in New York.

Room Tip: We had rooms 809 and 810 and both were very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We recently stayed at the Lombardy over Memorial Day weekend. There were 4 of us, myself, my husband and our two daughters-10 and 12. We had a one bedroom suite that was beautiful-so spacious, so quiet--really made the weekend as we all got a great night's sleep. We had two queen beds in the bedroom, and a pull out couch in the living room. The suite also had 2 full bathrooms which made showering and getting ready really nice. I recently stayed in a one bedroom suite at an Affinia in Manhattan and the quality of the Lombardy is much much higher. We had room 803 and I highly recommend.
Also the coffee from the ninth street espresso that is included with your room is wonderful, my daughters loved the croissants as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Lombardy has n mostly suites for the same price and better quality that most nice hotels in New York, It seems that all of the rooms are privately held apartments, which are rented as hotel rooms when the owners are absent. Big and well kept rooms with a service staff to attend to your every need. The location cannot be beat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rsba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
165 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

After experiencing expensive hotels with tiny bathrooms with no tubs I decided I liked New York enough to give it another try. I picked the Lombardy not really knowing much about it. The location on 56th street was great, easy to the metro, Central park and Broadway with a less congested feeling. The room a one bed room suite was great. The furniture and living room along with a kitchenette made me feel like I was staying in someones well designed apartment. Real art on the walls. The couches were great as was the bed. .The bathroom although small did have a bathtub, the mirrors on the ceiling was a nice touch. Service was very nice, when I asks they were there. Breakfast coffee and a roll a lot better on my system then a buffet

Room Tip: I like the one bedroom suite 2102, I want to check out the other ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I stayed at the Lombardy for a few days while on a business trip. It is spacious, clean, and located within walking distance of the subway and Park Ave. It was a great place to stay.

To read more about what I thought of the room, amenities, etc., check out my blog: http://www.ginapacelli.com/2014/05/23/nyc-let-the-adventure-begin/

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#292 of 468 in New York City
1,277 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#45 of 468 in New York City
1,375 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#43 of 468 in New York City
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#95 of 468 in New York City
2,607 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#139 of 468 in New York City
629 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#144 of 468 in New York City
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lombardy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lombardy Hotel

Property: The Lombardy Hotel
Address: 111 E 56th St, New York City, NY 10022-2600
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in New York City
#133 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#176 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#187 Family Hotel in New York City
#200 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lombardy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lombardy Hotel is the ultimate sanctuary in the bustling city. Just a short walk away from New York City's leading law firms and corporate offices and moments from shops including Tiffany's, Bloomingdales, and Barney's, The Lombardy boasts the perfect location for business and leisure travelers alike. A balanced blend of past grandeur and elegance mixed with modern amenities and state-of-the-art technology give the hotel its sophisticated atmosphere. Ditch the standard New York City hotel stay for a customized residential-style retreat to one of midtown Manhattan's finest gems-The Lombardy. Featuring 160 individually decorated guest rooms & suites, the Lombardy offers guests a rich experience of luxury away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelPower, Cancelon and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your The Lombardy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lombardy Hotel New York City
Lombardy New York City
Lombardy Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing