We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Rooms in a Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lombardy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lombardy Hotel
Ranked #247 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Rooms in a Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The room that I had in the hotel was bigger than my apartment in Zurich. It was impeccably furnished. The hotel has one of the best wifi signals I have ever had and as a business traveler, this made life much easier. The service is excellent. I hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AmeriSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    159
    39
    18
    12
See reviews for
140
127
21
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We loved the Lombardy. Great mid-town location (56th and Lexington) -- close to subway, Central Park, walking distance to Times Square, 5th Ave shopping, the "big" Macy's, etc., but nice, quiet residential vibe in neighbourhood. We paid what a nice mid-range hotel would cost, and we got a lovely apartment, with a full-sized living room, dining room, kitchen, as well as a huge bedroom with an ensuite. Comfortable king-sized bed, high-quality linens. This is obviously someone's deluxe apartment, yet it has all the amenities of a hotel. Great service, friendly and helpful staff, very clean and well-equipped.

Room Tip: Rooms with two queens are not as readily available as those with a king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael-patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We got 2 suites. Asked 1 month in advance to get adjacent rooms but got two on the same floor. The sofa is impossible to sleep in, had to get an extra bed, but was provided for free. One of the rooms had many technical problems and no internet reception. After insisting to talk to the manager we were transferred to another room which was much better. The difference between rooms was unbelievable. This hotel has very good location, but you have to be lucky to get a good room or check everything first. There wasn't supposed to be breakfast, but they give you a 5$ worth credit in a nearby restaurant which you can use. Not a very good restaurant !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Eytan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S. expats
Level Contributor
199 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We loved our stay at the Lombardy--the rooms are very large, and very quiet. Our room had a small separate kitchen which had a sink, a microwave, a 3/4 size fridge, toaster, kettle, coffee maker and dishes. There were even wine glasses.

The room was very large, with a walk in closet. There were two comfy chairs, and a table with chairs for dining. Bed was very comfortable.

The Lombardy is located on a quiet side street, but is within easy walking distance to the south east corner of Central Park, and 5th Avenue. The nearest subway is 5 minutes away.

The hotel provided us with vouchers for breakfast at an off site restaurant, the Mid Town restaurant (which I have reviewed separately). The voucher entitles you to $5 per person off their menu, which on our first trip, meant a $6 tab for two people. You can also have your breakfast delivered to your room for free.

The Lombardy has no on-site parking, but there is parking available a block away for $33 a day.

I was impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel--this was a mother daughter trip, and my daughter is very into yoga and stretches and the end of a day. She had plenty of room to do all of that while keeping out of my way. It was also really nice to have snacks around 5 in the room before we set out for dinner.

Room Tip: As I understand it, all the rooms are separately owned and look different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LauraRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place was comparable to a hotel room BUT you get to be in a luxury condo with all the amenities of home. The staff were excellent and the parking was very reasonable with valet services. The location is excellent (56th and Lex) and the subways are near and convenient. A great place to stay over 3 days in my opinion

Room Tip: Book room 1207
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phadreus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
197 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Ive been coming back and forth to the us for about 7 years now and its taken 7 years to find a hotel i am not moving away from. The lombardy hotel has everything you need for a home away from home. I stayed in a one bed room suite, had people coming to see me, and because of the huge space and how nice the room was, everything was flawless. Wifi connection is VERY good, 5 dollar off breakfast per person at a nearby diner, GREAT front desk folks - Al and i cannot recall the other gentlemens name who was on evening duty was absolutely a pleasure to deal with. I will not hesitate to recommend this hotel to any one looking for a larger size room in NYC. I will be back - again and again and again. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Avidtravellerbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
267 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We just spent two night in New York on business and chose to stay at the Lombardy based on the location close to where we would be working. The room was clean and very spacious. We asked for a king bed and were surprised that there were two complete bathrooms in the unit, very nicely done with marble and modern fixtures. The kitchen and living area were dated, but very sufficient. Every unit/apartment is very different since they are owned by individuals.

We were looking for a unit with a kitchenette since we had to be up so early each day and it was easier to cook in the room. We did not bother with the vouchers. There was a store close by where we could could purchase all the basics that we needed thanks to directions from the front desk. All the applicances and basics for cooking were supplied, we just needed to purchase all our own food including coffee.

There is not much of a view, but ... most people that come to New York for business or a vacation really don't spend that much time looking out the windows. There was a bit of noise one night due to construction across the street, but ... not the hotels fault. I don't know if an upper floor would have been quieter.

The Lombardy is close to shopping and many nice restaurants. We were pleased that when we ordered dinner delivered one night the bellman escorted the delivery man to our room and did not send him up on his own.

We had a problem with the television one evening and the maintenance department sent someone up right away to resolve the issue.

This is not the Ritz or one of the most elegant hotels in New York, but ... for the size of the rooms (small apartments) you can't beat the prize for the size and location.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor facing the street. In the middle of the night it was noisy because of const...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shelbee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#278 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#46 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#153 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lombardy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lombardy Hotel

Property: The Lombardy Hotel
Address: 111 E 56th St, New York City, NY 10022-2600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#133 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#164 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#187 Family Hotel in New York City
#200 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lombardy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lombardy Hotel is the ultimate sanctuary in the bustling city. Just a short walk away from New York City's leading law firms and corporate offices and moments from shops including Tiffany's, Bloomingdales, and Barney's, The Lombardy boasts the perfect location for business and leisure travelers alike. A balanced blend of past grandeur and elegance mixed with modern amenities and state-of-the-art technology give the hotel its sophisticated atmosphere. Ditch the standard New York City hotel stay for a customized residential-style retreat to one of midtown Manhattan's finest gems-The Lombardy. Featuring 160 individually decorated guest rooms & suites, the Lombardy offers guests a rich experience of luxury away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lombardy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lombardy Hotel New York City
Lombardy New York City
Lombardy Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing