We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York gem”
Review of The Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lombardy
Ranked #255 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I have just spent 10 days at the Lombardy and could not fault it. We had a lovely suite on 16 th floor(understand all rooms are different) which was spacious, very clean and furnished in Art Deco theme. Never heard any noise and bed was extremely comfortable. As my husband was sick for a few days we appreciated the extra space and second bathroom. Close to everything - Times Square, Broadway, Fifth Ave, Grand Central Station etc. We used taxis as reasonably cheap. Even restaurant across the road Montebello was very good. Staff helpful and pleasant. Would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting large suite accommodation in the amazing city of New York.

Room Tip: Our suite was on 16th floor and was very quiet inside hotel and outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Molly255072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 492 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed here for a few days in August. Excellent value - large living space, kitchenette, sitting area, bed area- very much the feel of a nice condo, rather than hotel room. Great location as well. The breakfast was down the street at some very basic diner. More accurately, they gave you a voucher for a few dollars of food. That may have been a temporary situation, can't remember. Overall, was quite satisfied.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Russianoligarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Unfortunately, my work requires me to be away from my home, wife and children nearly three-quarters of the year. For the last 5 to 6 years at least, much of that time has been spent in New York at the Lombardy. I can't say enough good things about the hotel and its people. I only reserve the one bedroom suites, so I cannot comment on the standard rooms. The suites are all different and decorated to each owner's individual tastes. I like that. Some of the owners' tastes align with my own and some don't. If I am assigned a suite which is decorated too far out of whack with my sensibilities, I just ask to be moved. It is never a problem, and the front desk staff doesn't act offended, because everybody gets that I'm not saying it's a bad room,but rather, that it's just not to my taste. Not only am I always given a different room, if available, but it is always done with great courtesy and a smile. Try getting that at a chain hotel.

The suites all have fully equipped kitchens. Yes, as others have complained on this board, the kitchens are small, and you have to bring your own coffee. Well, remember, this is not your home - this is an apartment style hotel and most apartment kitchens in New York are small. As for the coffee, I have to buy mine own at home too, so I'm OK with this. The rooms always have filters, so you just need some coffee. Otherwise, the kitchens are clean and fully functional. If a particular type of glass, bowl, utensil, etc. which you want\need is not there, call housekeeping, ask for it and you will get it.

The location on 56th, between Park and Lex is great. Lots of great restaurants nearby and very safe to walk around. Subway is just a couple of blocks away.

Now, here's what really makes the Lombardy a great place to spend time and a great value - the people who work there. As I stated above, I'm away from home a lot, and I miss my family. No matter how many people you may know and see in whatever city you're working in, being on the road is lonely. I see that the folks at the Lombardy are sensitive to this fact, not just with respect to me but to all of the business travelers I see there. The guys at the front desk never fail to look up and say hello or quickly ask if I had a good day or dinner, even when I can clearly see they are busy with other things. The bellmen do the same. This is what my family does when I'm at home, and it make me feel better while I'm on the road, because I feel like somebody actually knows I'm there. It's basic human courtesy, and the Lombardy delivers it. While I am fortunate to know the names of many of the great employees at the Lombardy, I will not mention any here, because I will inevitably forget a few and, more importantly, do not want to gloss over the many, many folks working behind the scenes whom I never meet but know are also there working hard to make my stays so enjoyable.

Lastly, I have seen a few posts on this board which suggest the Lombardy is no place for children. Not true. Like everywhere else I enjoy going, it is just no place for disrespectful little brats. Every year, I am lucky enough to get four to five days to spend with my family in New York in December. I have a three year old son and a nine year old daughter. The first time I brought them to the Lombardy several years ago, I was not sure what to expect, particularly since I forgot to mention I was bringing children when I made the reservation. They were treated spectacularly. Nobody at the front desk gave me the long face I so often see when I check into nice hotels with my kids in tow. Moreover, my daughter was not spoken down to, but instead treated with respect and courtesy (albeit the type you would expect in view of her age) just as any other guest. I have since had the good fortune to take my daughter back with me on several trips, and she loves the place. Several of the Lombardy staff ask me about her when I am there, and she asks me about each of them by name when I come home. The connection between the hotel and home significantly eases the burden of travel.

My family is headed back to the Lombardy in December for a few days, and we already know it will be a great trip because we will be staying at a wonderful place in a terrific city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sgaffigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We only stayed for two nights after moving from another hotel. Wish we had stayed longer. Great location, rooms were large and well laid out. We were on the twelfth floor so the view was nothing to get excited about. Great kitchen with everything one would need to cook. You do have to furnish your own coffee, etc. Only real negative was the TV's were the hardest to operate I have ever encountered. I would return.!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerryTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Excellent location for midtown east in NYC. There is no lobby to speak of but we were not expecting ones based on the reviews. The room was very large by NYC standards, very quiet, clean though it needed some updating. The room seemed to be like visiting your elderly aunt with a room that is dated and oddly-decorated. That said, we were pleased.

Two complaints: no restaurant so you get a $5 coupon to use at a nearby restaurant and the wi-fi was so slow it was basically useless.

That said, we'll return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tovah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My colleague and I was in New York for business and was recommended to stay in the Lombardy. What a great deal. We had a suite (303) with an extra bed. Almost 85 sqm apartment with beautiful interior and solutions.

Will definitively use again. Very accommodating staff as well.

Room Tip: You can request specific rooms which will be accommodated if they are free
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norwegian_Fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had what I would almost consider a small apartment in a good location for a very reasonable price. There weren't a lot of frills, and the bed was not great, but the shower was amazing, and everything was very clean. The housekeeping staff was great - they made sure to keep all the dishes and everything very tidy. It was quiet, and nice and close to shopping. I can't complain.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwitkows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#130 of 470 in New York City
1,465 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#50 of 470 in New York City
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#331 of 470 in New York City
1,360 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#46 of 470 in New York City
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lombardy

Address: 111 E 56th St, New York City, NY 10022-2600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#131 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#173 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#196 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $250 - $666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lombardy 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lombardy Hotel is the ultimate sanctuary in the bustling NYC. A short walk from New York City's leading law firms and corporate offices and moments from Central Park and Midtown East shopping. The Lombardy boasts the perfect location for business and leisure travelers and family travel with larger accommodations, most with kitchenettes or kitchens. Featuring 160 individually decorated guest rooms & suites, the Lombardy offers guests a rich experience of luxury away from home and with a warm and welcoming staff. Complimentary amenities include breakfast, WIFI, fitness room, twice daily maid service, luxury bath amenities and bottled water. American Cut Midtown steakhouse, featuring an exceptional menu, private dining, and bar/lounge, offers hotel guests a 10% discount on food & beverage. Nico Salon offers an array of men & women services on property. Ditch the standard hotel stay for a residential-style retreat to one of Manhattan's finest gems - The Lombardy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your The Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lombardy Hotel New York City
Lombardy New York City
Lombardy Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing