We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't satisfied”
Review of The Lombardy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lombardy Hotel
Ranked #266 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were there mid-May. Nothing like the pics on website. Major remodeling, no entry foyer, the $5 breakfast certificate was for a very small restaurant 3 blocks away. We had to switch rooms halfway through our stay...maid found a bug. Very inconvenient...not sure if they just wanted us to move to lower quality room or what. The location was fantastic, but this was not a high quality hotel.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 474 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

Choose the Lombardy for our stay in NY this time for it's location. Well, what a pleasant surprise. We were quite early for check in and they quickly accompanied us with a suite upgrade. The room was clean, spacious and wonderfully appointed. Living room w/terrace, small kitchenette and large bedroom with marble bath. Conveniently situated a 15 min walk to Central park, shopping or the theater district. Staff was very pleasant and helpful in all our dealings with them (say hi to Sully). overall would recommend this hotel for a wonderful quiet NY stay. There are no restaurant options currently in the hotel, but a great many places within a short walking distance. Look forward to staying there again on our next time down.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackandgold77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Good location close to Central Park . We were upgraded to a terrace apartment after waiting for more then hour for our room that wasn't ready still. Beautiful modern one bedroom apartment, great attentive staff, very clean. We really enjoyed our stay that was for a medical reason and we needed a good freezer for ice. It was very quite in the apartment which is very important too. We were on a higher floor.
There are many restaurants and stores near the hotel . We didn't use the gym and there is no reastaurant except for an extensive room service menu.

We enjoyed our stay and would definetely consider it again in the future.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParadiseLoverNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

great location and close to every where...
very friendly team.It is not cheap but definitely right choise if you compare with the taxi costs..
there is no restaurant facility during our stay but you will have a lot of options in 200 meters..

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcb4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My expectations were exceeded. I had chosen the Lombardy for its convenience Midtown East location and competitive price point, but after a hard morning of travel, the Lombardy delighted. It was an easy 20 minute taxi ride from La Guardia and conveniently located off Park Ave, just blocks from Bendels, Berrgdorf, and Central Park, yet on quiet 56th St. The hotel let me check in around 10:30AM, and my room was better than imagined -- more of a suite: kitchenette, walk-in closet, shuttered windows, and HUGE bedroom (more than in my home) with a marble bathroom. It was really lovely and spacious. I felt really relaxed there.

Only minor inconvenience was that breakfast is not served at the restaurant. I believe it was supposed to be included, but I ended up paying about $30 for my friend and me. I had been pushing the "room service" and "restaurant" buttons, which were enabled on the phone, and when I called the front desk to try to order, they were a bit snippy. And the omelettes and home fries were kind of gross from Midtown Restaurant.

Overall, I feel I've found a little secret (reasonably priced) haven for next time I visit Manhattan, but I'll research surrounding food options in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ktimene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the Lombardy in July 2012. We were very pleased with the room and the small but adequate kitchenette. It also has a great location and is close to central park. The hotel also offers free internet which we took avantage of and did not have any trouble with it. Although the hotel restaurant was under renovation, we were given a voucher for a restaurant not far from the hotel. The voucher was $5 a person and that meant that it covered a continental breakfast only! (roll, butter and jam and coffee). We did not read the "little print" on the back of the card and were not told anything and we ordered some other things which went beyond the $5. The restaurant owner refunded our money which was magnanimous of him but caused us some unpleasantness. These things should be made clear out right. Our stay in New York was great and we plan to return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcatester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at the Lombardy in May 2012. We were pleased with the size and cleanliness of the room and location of the hotel but were disappointed with the breakfast. Apparently the hotel restaurant has been leased to another party and is undergoing renovations so we were given a $5 voucher each for breakfast to be used at a nearby cafe. $5 in NY does not go far and we feel that we should have been notified of this arrangement on booking. The room cost was not cheap. Free internet in the lobby was a bonus. The chaps on the front desk were ok but one in particular was rather curt in his manner and obviously felt that he did not have to worry about friendly customer service. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was quite glamorous if you like mirrors. A lift operator at all times in one of the lifts was very reassuring when the lift system seems to be quite old. The hotel's location is good - not far from Central Park, FAO Schwarz and Trump Tower - and close to lots of little cafes and "salad"shops.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#313 of 469 in New York City
1,339 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#52 of 469 in New York City
1,448 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#49 of 469 in New York City
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#134 of 469 in New York City
1,447 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#62 of 469 in New York City
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lombardy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lombardy Hotel

Address: 111 E 56th St, New York City, NY 10022-2600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in New York City
#131 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#176 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#183 Family Hotel in New York City
#196 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $261 - $644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lombardy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lombardy Hotel is the ultimate sanctuary in the bustling city. Just a short walk away from New York City's leading law firms and corporate offices and moments from shops including Tiffany's, Bloomingdales, and Barney's, The Lombardy boasts the perfect location for business and leisure travelers alike. A balanced blend of past grandeur and elegance mixed with modern amenities and state-of-the-art technology give the hotel its sophisticated atmosphere. Ditch the standard New York City hotel stay for a customized residential-style retreat to one of midtown Manhattan's finest gems-The Lombardy. Featuring 160 individually decorated guest rooms & suites, the Lombardy offers guests a rich experience of luxury away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lombardy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lombardy Hotel New York City
Lombardy New York City
Lombardy Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing