We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect Valentine's Day/Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Irving Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Irving Place
Ranked #366 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Manhattan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Valentine's Day/Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

We just spent the perfect Valentine's Day at the Inn at Irving Place. It's really a hidden treasure- while I've admired the architecture on the street many times I had no idea there was also an Inn tucked away there. There's no signage so you have to look closely but this contributes to the feeling that you're stepping into another world. The decor is authentic 19th century, lovely, and gracious. The staff wonderful, friendly professionals who will aid and abet in romantic surprises. We're really grateful to them for helping us arrange our valentine's day weekend. When you enter the parlors have real working fireplaces. Our room, the Stanford White, was a beautiful single, we did get to peek into some suites, and they were all well appointed with handsome antiques as well as all the modern comforts. We also enjoyed very much Lady Mendl's tea service which we had after our complimentary breakfast in our room. The tea service was 5 delicious courses in a sun drenched opulent dining room. We'll be back for the tea service and would love to spend another special occasion with them.

  • Liked — The gorgeous atmosphere, service, and food.
  • Disliked — Expensive, not great views from some windows.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4aForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    13
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
4
34
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

I have been staying at the Inn occasionally over the last 10 years. It usd to be understated and chic, with luxurious touches, such as fine linens and pretty bathrooms. It still has all of those things and yet it seemed a little bit dingy, the hardware in the bathroom fell off, furniture looked beat up etc. It needs some TLC, especially if they continue to charge their $500 a night rates. The staff (housekeeping & bellman) are exceptionally nice, however the front desk is flakey on faxes and wake up and/or very arrogant. It is too bad, time for me to find a new hotel.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sugarwater11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

I recently stayed at the Inn at Irving Place and had a great experience. I have stayed at most of the nicer hotels in NYC (Waldorf, Ritz, Sofitel) and the Inn at Irving Place is by far my favorite.

When you walk in the hotel you feel like you're walking into the living room of an 19th century mansion. Once inside, the staff immediately brought us a glass of champagne and took our bags to our room. We stayed in a junior suite which is easily twice the size of normal hotel rooms in the city (with sitting area and fire place).

Travelers must understand that the Inn is like a getaway within NYC. If you're on business and looking for a place to sleep for the evening or if you're in NYC simply to sightsee, I would not suggest this hotel. However, if you know the city well and you're searching for a unique and unbelievable escape within the city -- or the most romantic night(s) you can imagine -- stay at the Inn at Irving Place.

The noise level brought up by previous reviews is not a problem. In NYC, the streets are generally noisy and the Inn is no different. Again, some tourists or first-time travelers to New York may not understand that. But for a purist seeking excellent service and a fantastic retreat within New York, the Inn cannot be beat.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Barely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, Colorado
Level Contributor
129 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the hotel, and found it to be very special. The staff was excellent and the hotel was wonderful. The Christmas decorations were outstanding, and breakfast was good. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, and will return on our next trip. Our room was large and very nicely finished. It felt more like being at home than in a faceless hotel.

The only bad point in our stay was a holiday party one night was very loud, but it finished at a reasonable time. If you are looking for a hotel with very quite rooms this may not be the place for you. With the wood floors and open stairs you do hear the noise in the halls.

  • Liked — felt like home
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank johnLongmont_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2007

This Inn is a quiet oasis of calm in Manhattan. Well furnished, comfortable, and with very attentive and helpful staff. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Standard of service
  • Disliked — Trying to adjust the shower - and the stairs were pretty steep - glad someone else carried the bags
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CnFEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2006

The atmospheric decor was fine but was not matched by really gracious service. Constant noise above our room kept us awake until past 2 am and again at 7am but the manager would not adjust the room rate because I had failed to call downstairs in the middle of the night to complain. Breakfast was dry pastry and pre-fab fruit, but with a nice pot of tea or coffee. The cockroach on our bedtable was a minor distraction but for $415 plus 18% tax the Inn needs
more class.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise, funkiness
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank perfecttaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2006

My sister got married this past weekend at the Inn. I was a little worried since I read so many negative reports of noise and shabbiness. We absolutely loved it...and we had a very diverse crowd of people.

The bride and groom's parents, friends and siblings all stayed at the inn. The rooms are beautiful and BIG by any standards, not just New York standards. My parents had two bedrooms, a sitting room and a full size shower. My room had a very comfortable bed, sitting area and a walk in closet. They are furnished with antiques that do have some nicks and such, but I can't imagine calling it shabby! None in our group had any complaints! There was some noise outside but it is New York. We just turned on our fan and it drown out all the noise.

The breakfast was very good. Pastries from Balthazar, pumpernickle toast, fresh yogurt, delicious coffee and fruit. All served by a gracious staff.

The wedding was held in Lady Mendl's sitting room which is in the main room. It was filled with candles (even the day before), fires in the fireplaces, and the smell of gardenia throughout. There was a beautiful old bar from which a bevy of delicious cocktails and champagne drinks were served.

Cybar (the bar downstairs) was where the cabaret singers were set up and the buffet was served. The food was DELICIOUS! Once again, fabulous martinis, champagne and a decent selection of beers.

If you are looking for a Ritz Carlton experience this is not it. But if you like the warm and cozy feeling staying at an inn, I would give this an A+

  • Liked — Comfortable, clean and beautiful
  • Disliked — Had to walk up and down steps
  • Tips/Secrets — I think it is a bit expensive in season but I believe it would be a great value off season.
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JMB2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
W New York - Union Square
W New York - Union Square
#140 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,321 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#96 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,299 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#371 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#70 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,286 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#114 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#112 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Irving Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Irving Place

Property: The Inn at Irving Place
Address: 56 Irving Pl, New York City, NY 10003-2314
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#212 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Irving Place 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1834, three single family brownstones sat at the corner of 17th and Irving Place. Over the years, the corner brownstone was torn down and a small apartment building was built in its place. The two remaining brownstones have stood the test of time, and they now create The Inn. While once combined as a single family home, the brownstones also housed everything from apartments, The Ingersol Mens Club, a Speak Easy, and a Beauty Parlor and Day Spa. After completion of a three year renovation, The Inn at Irving Place opened its door in December of 1994. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn at Irving Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Irving Place Hotel New York City
Hotel At Irving Place
At Irving Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing