We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely Place, Excellent Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Irving Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Irving Place
Ranked #362 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Place, Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. It's cozy, charming and very different than any other hotel I have stayed in in NYC. The staff is great-helpful, pleasant and quick to respond. The manager personally greeted me and took the time to chat. The morning breakfast is lovely and old fashioned. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom is small but efficient. There is a little street noise but it is NY. Great neighborhood. My new go-to place when I want to stay downtown!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kimba d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lonnie B, General Manager at The Inn at Irving Place, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Kimba, it was lovely having you stay with us at the Inn at Irving Place. Thank you very much for your kind review as we do our best to deliver top-notch service everyday, it is always very appreciated when it is taken notice of. We hope that you will stay with us on your next visit to New York City. If there is anything I can help you with personally, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    14
    9
    8
    6
See reviews for
6
37
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have been in this hotel 3 times I me and my wife who loves this little hotel always stays in the same room.
makes you feel at home, it has a great location, we love the neighborhood, the staff is very kind and helpful will continue to stay there on our visits to the great city of NY

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CafeRama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Madame Olenska (Junior suite located on the second floor) last week. The outside noise during the night and early hours of the morning was absolutely unbearable.We hardly slept and left absolutely exhausted after paying $600/night.

I would recommend that the hotel consider the addition of sound proof windows. This would be a huge value add to the property and to the overall comfort of the guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GourmandGirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mougins, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have all stayed in boutique, five star, modern, classic hotels around the world. The Inn at Irving Place is a whole different experience. Shabby chic is one of the ways to describe it, staying at an old friends house could be another.
Yes the rooms need attention, yes there is no lift, BUT the middle of a great city, fantastic, understated service, the most comfortable beds.
And it just works.
I did not expect to like it, and I loved it.
I know its faults, but its warm, personal, comfortable and very welcoming.
A message to the Owner - invest a little more in the rooms, and don't mess it up.
It is an absolute jewel.

Room Tip: Irving is a very nice quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a lovely bed and breakfast. Cozy and comfortable, but really tired and dated. It reminded me of my single days in a NYC pre-war apartment. We were on the top floor (of three) and heard all the activity on the street first thing sunday morning. There was a continental breakfast in their very famous tea room, however, there was not enough light to ready the Sunday times. We were happy to only have to stay one night, but we were happy to stay the one night.

Room Tip: Do ask for the top floor. Though it may be hot in the summer, you will hear a tad less street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay at this hotel. Open again just after Hurricane Sandy it was warm & friendly. Decorated in an old-world style, great thought has gone in to every detail. It really is a calm tranquil oasis to escape to from the 'madness' of NYC! Very friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massanutten, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

It was like staying in a Goodwill store. Or at Grandma's house. I assume when the furniture was first purchased, they selected unique pieces for each room - which is nice but the problem with this is that you can't just grab replacement chair #6 from basement storage when it gets old, stained and broken. The entertainment was good though, I got to watch a mouse explore the room while I was in bed. It must be a regular patron as it was there all three nights. I named it Peter and bought it a focaccia from Starbucks. The front desk people were very nice. This hotel could actually be great, it just needs some money spent on it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 27bslash6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
W New York - Union Square
#143 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#96 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#71 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#115 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#375 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#128 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Irving Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Irving Place

Property: The Inn at Irving Place
Address: 56 Irving Pl, New York City, NY 10003-2314
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#209 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Irving Place 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1834, three single family brownstones sat at the corner of 17th and Irving Place. Over the years, the corner brownstone was torn down and a small apartment building was built in its place. The two remaining brownstones have stood the test of time, and they now create The Inn. While once combined as a single family home, the brownstones also housed everything from apartments, The Ingersol Mens Club, a Speak Easy, and a Beauty Parlor and Day Spa. After completion of a three year renovation, The Inn at Irving Place opened its door in December of 1994. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn at Irving Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Irving Place Hotel New York City
Hotel At Irving Place
At Irving Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing