We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Irving Place
Ranked #371 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have been in this hotel 3 times I me and my wife who loves this little hotel always stays in the same room.
makes you feel at home, it has a great location, we love the neighborhood, the staff is very kind and helpful will continue to stay there on our visits to the great city of NY

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CafeRama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Irving Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 90 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Madame Olenska (Junior suite located on the second floor) last week. The outside noise during the night and early hours of the morning was absolutely unbearable.We hardly slept and left absolutely exhausted after paying $600/night.

I would recommend that the hotel consider the addition of sound proof windows. This would be a huge value add to the property and to the overall comfort of the guests.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GourmandGirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have all stayed in boutique, five star, modern, classic hotels around the world. The Inn at Irving Place is a whole different experience. Shabby chic is one of the ways to describe it, staying at an old friends house could be another.
Yes the rooms need attention, yes there is no lift, BUT the middle of a great city, fantastic, understated service, the most comfortable beds.
And it just works.
I did not expect to like it, and I loved it.
I know its faults, but its warm, personal, comfortable and very welcoming.
A message to the Owner - invest a little more in the rooms, and don't mess it up.
It is an absolute jewel.

Room Tip: Irving is a very nice quiet room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a lovely bed and breakfast. Cozy and comfortable, but really tired and dated. It reminded me of my single days in a NYC pre-war apartment. We were on the top floor (of three) and heard all the activity on the street first thing sunday morning. There was a continental breakfast in their very famous tea room, however, there was not enough light to ready the Sunday times. We were happy to only have to stay one night, but we were happy to stay the one night.

Room Tip: Do ask for the top floor. Though it may be hot in the summer, you will hear a tad less street noise...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We loved our stay at this hotel. Open again just after Hurricane Sandy it was warm & friendly. Decorated in an old-world style, great thought has gone in to every detail. It really is a calm tranquil oasis to escape to from the 'madness' of NYC! Very friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

It was like staying in a Goodwill store. Or at Grandma's house. I assume when the furniture was first purchased, they selected unique pieces for each room - which is nice but the problem with this is that you can't just grab replacement chair #6 from basement storage when it gets old, stained and broken. The entertainment was good though, I got to watch a mouse explore the room while I was in bed. It must be a regular patron as it was there all three nights. I named it Peter and bought it a focaccia from Starbucks. The front desk people were very nice. This hotel could actually be great, it just needs some money spent on it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 27bslash6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed one Sunday night as a stopover for JFK and was very impressed. A different location from the norm down in Grammercy which allowed us to explore a new area of the city. A 1930s vibe here in this two-storey brownstone, our room on the second floor was chic and well furnished with a good solid bed. It's not a modern decor hotel but has free wi-fi and all you would expect from a quality modern hotel and more personal front of house service than most. All was clean and tidy so I was surprised at some other TA reviews. We had English high tea in the hotel which was a treat to be savoured. It's difficult to relax and not overdo things in Manhattan, but this hotel made it easy.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
W New York - Union Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
1,496 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#115 of 468 in New York City
1,686 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#111 of 468 in New York City
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#91 of 468 in New York City
1,452 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#119 of 468 in New York City
605 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#358 of 468 in New York City
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Irving Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Irving Place

Address: 56 Irving Pl, New York City, NY 10003-2314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#218 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $386 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Irving Place 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1834, three single family brownstones sat at the corner of 17th and Irving Place. Over the years, the corner brownstone was torn down and a small apartment building was built in its place. The two remaining brownstones have stood the test of time, and they now create The Inn. While once combined as a single family home, the brownstones also housed everything from apartments, The Ingersol Mens Club, a Speak Easy, and a Beauty Parlor and Day Spa. After completion of a three year renovation, The Inn at Irving Place opened its door in December of 1994. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Inn at Irving Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Irving Place Hotel New York City
Hotel At Irving Place
At Irving Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing