We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“An NYC oasis!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Irving Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Irving Place
Ranked #362 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
somerset uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An NYC oasis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay at this hotel. Open again just after Hurricane Sandy it was warm & friendly. Decorated in an old-world style, great thought has gone in to every detail. It really is a calm tranquil oasis to escape to from the 'madness' of NYC! Very friendly and helpful staff.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    14
    9
    8
    6
See reviews for
6
37
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Massanutten, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

It was like staying in a Goodwill store. Or at Grandma's house. I assume when the furniture was first purchased, they selected unique pieces for each room - which is nice but the problem with this is that you can't just grab replacement chair #6 from basement storage when it gets old, stained and broken. The entertainment was good though, I got to watch a mouse explore the room while I was in bed. It must be a regular patron as it was there all three nights. I named it Peter and bought it a focaccia from Starbucks. The front desk people were very nice. This hotel could actually be great, it just needs some money spent on it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 27bslash6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed one Sunday night as a stopover for JFK and was very impressed. A different location from the norm down in Grammercy which allowed us to explore a new area of the city. A 1930s vibe here in this two-storey brownstone, our room on the second floor was chic and well furnished with a good solid bed. It's not a modern decor hotel but has free wi-fi and all you would expect from a quality modern hotel and more personal front of house service than most. All was clean and tidy so I was surprised at some other TA reviews. We had English high tea in the hotel which was a treat to be savoured. It's difficult to relax and not overdo things in Manhattan, but this hotel made it easy.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

A shame to review this beautiful hotel so poorly... They used to have it all: charm, location, antiques, freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast, the nicest tea room... But now it is so dirty and not that well kept anymore. Very worn and asking for some attentive maintenance soon.

Room Tip: Bring your own broom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Little_World2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

Beautifully decorated and well kept, felt like we were somewhere a bit special. Very comfortable bed very quiet considering the excellent location. Ideal for a quiet, relaxing and romantic retreat when one has been walking aroung NYC all day. We had complimentery Prosecco on arrival (not sure whether this was becasue we were on honeymoon or not - they didn't say)! I loved the variety of teas available too. The attitude of some of the staff left a bit to be desired but on the whole excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We had planned on a five night stay and left after one. If you squint, the room in this old townhouse was amazing, but with eyes wide open, the room was in a rather sad poor state:
- Mold in the mini bar / fridge
- Furniture falling apart (beyond shabby chic and into plain shabby territory)
- Stale musty smell that cannot be covered by all of the gardenia-scented candles burning in the halls
- rusted shower caddy
- paint peeling off walls
- doors to bathroom pipes left open
- grime caked onto light switches

This place has such great potential and I imagine at one point was fabulous. At the prices they ask, The Inn at Irving Place should spend more on keeping the rooms up.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank randyrosenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We went there for afternoon tea and booked several days ago. Time limit is one and half an hour but we were 20 minutes late because of the trains. Maybe I just expect too much, but... I don't think afternoon tea should be like this way... We had very rushed courses one after another because of our time. They served u next couse before u even finished the last one. We feel so uncomfortable worrying about they will ask us to leave next minute. I feel so guity for my friends cause it's all my fault to suggest this place to "enjoy" our lazy afternoon. Can't forget it. Really bad experience in NYC..

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wini123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
W New York - Union Square
#143 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#96 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Gramercy Park
Gramercy Park Hotel
Gramercy Park Hotel
#71 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#115 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#375 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#128 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Irving Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Irving Place

Property: The Inn at Irving Place
Address: 56 Irving Pl, New York City, NY 10003-2314
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#209 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn at Irving Place 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1834, three single family brownstones sat at the corner of 17th and Irving Place. Over the years, the corner brownstone was torn down and a small apartment building was built in its place. The two remaining brownstones have stood the test of time, and they now create The Inn. While once combined as a single family home, the brownstones also housed everything from apartments, The Ingersol Mens Club, a Speak Easy, and a Beauty Parlor and Day Spa. After completion of a three year renovation, The Inn at Irving Place opened its door in December of 1994. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Irving Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Irving Place Hotel New York City
Hotel At Irving Place
At Irving Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing