We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wife's Birthday”
Review of Park Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Lane Hotel
Ranked #266 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wife's Birthday”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel with a great view. Location is great and stay was very enjoyable. My wife loved the hotel and would stay there again. This hotel is a very nice for the price in New York City. I would recommend to anyone staying in city.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dbrocchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Dbrocchi,
Thank you for sharing your customer satisfaction with the TripAdvisor community. We greatly value your business and appreciate the recommendation of our hotel for other viewers. Please make the Park Lane New York your choice in future NYC travel arrangements.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,336
    2,008
    939
    428
    271
See reviews for
1,887
1,983
293
943
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,239)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

What a difference a day makes! This Hotel has the best location with the very best views in all of New York of Central Park. Sure, the rooms are dated and the decor is best suited for a down at the heels country manor but the room rates are great (and you can keep negotiating) and you can't beat the location... the Bad News is: The 'new' management have stripped the rooms bare of all their amenities... no water glass, no cork screw ... no nothing! All that is left (for now at any rate) is the TV, the bed and the chairs... The staff are so over stretched that it takes all day to get ice. The hotel manager Avi is as nice as he can be... and he will do whatever he can to make you comfortable... but it might take him the entire length of your stay! At breakfast in the formally gorgeous dinning hall, my banquet sprung a spring! The fabric is thread bare ... and the stuffing better be your bottom, because there is none to be head in the actual furniture. Most of the old guard departed with the Sale ... and with them went the entire ambiance. ... Unless you are prepared to go 'camping' in your room, that is to say be totally self sufficient... the room rate and the view are not going to be enough to make your stay at the Park Lane worth the money!

Room Tip: If you must see the park... stay above the 7th floor with a park view room... remember, you will h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catherine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Catherine O,
Thank you for sharing guest feedback from your recent visit to the Park Lane New York. We greatly value your business and the time reserved to outline positive and negative experiences. Glassware and ice are available upon request by delivery to your guest room. The turnaround time is fairly quick once the request is submitted by calling through the hotel telephone line. Avi Yesawich, Director of Front Office is one of the hotels strongest department heads. We are glad to hear he extended his services to ensure the comfort of your stay. We also thank you for dining at the Park Room Restaurant for breakfast and acknowledging the beauty and elegance of the dining hall. The hotel is currently renovating the seating in our F&B outlets. We hope you will consider the Park Lane New York for future travel arrangements.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We booked transport from the airport through the hotel. However, we payed the driver with credit card which later has been misused! We contacted the hotel on several occasions - to reception and to the management - to report about this, but they do not even answer us. Stay away1

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank E-M-Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Edvard R,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay at the Park Lane New York. Our sincerest apologies for the delayed responses to your billing inquiries and potential fraud activity. This is an alarming issue, which we plan to immediately investigate with our third party service provider. Please email me the details of your reservation and I will have our Accounting team investigate today. My direct email address can be located in the below signature. I look forward to your response.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
jfalco@parklanenewyork.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed at the Park Lane Hotel in late June for four nights. I think it made a difference that we were on the 41st floor in a jr. Executive Suite overlooking Central Park. This is a 425 sq. foot room which was very nice. On the 41st floor, it was very quiet, and had a terrific view. The bed was comfy, the room was clean and decorations were up to date. I loved the location. There is a N Q R subway directly across the street enabling you to get anywhere in the city very quickly. The people in the hotel were very attentive and gracious. I don't know how the rooms were in other areas of the hotel, but this room was terrific and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFL7610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear GFL7610,
Thank you for choosing the Park Lane New York and providing feedback from your recent visit to share with the TripAdvisor community. The hotels 41st floor Premier Park view rooms certainly host the most attractive views throughout the building; however room accommodations in all categories are equipped with similar furnishings and amenities. Your positive mentions of the staff service and attentiveness is greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back soon for a return visit.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The location is unbeatable with amazing views of the park! The rooms and lobby are very clean, but could use some updating. The beds are incredibly comfortable, we slept well. There are very limited amenities at this hotel, and the breakfast, while in a beautiful room overlooking the park, was a very basic buffet. Check-in was a bit disorganized, but the management was friendly and helpful in quickly resolving any issues. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here, and would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: The views of Central Park are spectacular, and well worth the extra cost for a room overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitzK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Park Lane Hotel New York. We are very pleased to hear the details of your successful stay and willingness to choose our property for future travel accommodations. On behalf of hotel management, we apologize for any que time at the Front Office. The department is fully staffed based on anticipated arrivals/departures. The hotels number one priority is exceptional service and guest satisfaction. Instances do arise where an unexpected volume of arrivals and departures surface. During your stay, management was able to assist and alleviate some of the traffic. The hotels F&B team has recently added daily specials to the American Breakfast buffet and are producing new display options within the Park Room Restaurant. Again, we thank you and hope to welcome you back to the Park Lane New York for a return visit.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed at the Park Lane Hotel in June for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay there.The staff in the lobby were friendly and efficient and quickly got us booked in and gave us a free map. The room was a good size and clean, whilst the bathroom had both a bath and an excellent shower. There was a large flatscreen TV and bedside alarm/radio and the aircon was very good. There was no street noise and we both slept well. The view from our room on the 15th floor wasn't exciting but we knew we didn't have a Park facing view, when you are in New York for 4 days there is that much to try and see you don't want to hang around in the room that long do you, you go to the Top Of The Rock or Empire State if you want a view.
The location is hard to beat and is so close to many places we wanted to see and for those further away like the 911 memorial and Staten Island Ferry there are subway stations nearby. When you want a respite from the hustle and bustle of it all, Central Park is literally across the street!
We did not eat at the Hotel so i can't comment on the what the food was like, but there are so many places to eat so close to the hotel (such as Fluffy's on 7th Ave for breakfast and or lunch and Villagio on the same street for evening meal) we just wanted to get out there, we didn't need the alarm clock!
Our flight home wasn't till the evening and they kindly let us leave our luggage to pick up later whilst we had our last day in New York. So yes i would recomend it to anybody.

Room Tip: If you do want a good view from your room consider getting a Park View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VBoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your June visit to the Park Lane Hotel New York and reserving the time to voice your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear of the pleasantries outlined in your positive review. It sounds as though you thoroughly enjoyed your time in NYC and ventured out for sightseeing & fine dining. Please join us upon your next visit at one of the hotels F&B establishments for a quality fine dining experience. Harry's Bar is an iconic midtown location, open for lunch, dinner and late night service. The Park Room Restaurant overlooks views of Central Park and services breakfast & lunch daily.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We spent 4 days here for the Canada Day holiday and brought our 2 sons as well (staying in the room next door). While areas of the hotel (and our room) are a bit tired (minor things like a worn-looking tub, hallway carpets, an electrical outlet loose from the wall), we really enjoyed our stay. Cleanliness was unsurpassed, beds comfortable, bedding and towels pristine and, really, it was all we needed and more. The location is simply the best and assistance from hotel staff and the concierges was warm, friendly, helpful.... We'd gladly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariella99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you Mariella99 for your recent review. We greatly appreciate the acknowledgment of the positives during your stay and your return intent. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Park Lane New York for a return visit.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#269 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,396 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#204 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#251 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,193 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Hotel

Property: Park Lane Hotel
Address: 36 Central Park South, 59th Street Between 5th Ave & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#189 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#198 Business Hotel in New York City
#200 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Lane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Lane Hotel - A Central Park Hotel, is a luxury 46-story hotel with panoramic views of legendary Central Park and the iconic New York City skyline. Spacious, elegant Guest Rooms and Guest Suites offer picture windows and superb views along with exquisite bath products, fine linens and other amenities. This iconic Hotel sits directly on the edge of beautiful Central Park, offering gracious services to ensure a fulfilling stay. From on-site dining at the renowned Park Room Restaurant to cocktails at Harry's New York Bar & Grill, the Park Lane Hotel wants to make your visit to New York an enjoyable one. We offer a Fitness Center, Mail Service, Internet Access, and more. Located directly on Central Park, in the Midtown Manhattan Business District, Park Lane Hotel is just steps from Fifth Avenue Shopping, Broadway Theaters, Museum Mile, Carnegie Hall, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center and many other NYC Activities and New York Attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Park Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helmsley Park Lane Hotel New York City
Helmsley Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing