We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views ruined by poor customer service”
Review of Park Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Lane Hotel
Ranked #260 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Park Lane Hotel must have some of the best views of Central Park in the city. The rooms are ok, although they could do with some updating and thorough cleaning (like another reviewer, I too found things left over from a previous guest). However, the hotel is really let down by its customer service. On arrival, several light bulbs in my room were faulty, and it took three calls to housekeeping and over 12 hours before they were replaced. Every day, my room access cards stopped working; every day I was told somebody would fix the lock; and every day it still did not work. At every stage, the staff seemed tired, and were just going through the motions. My telephone was linked to another room number, so constant confusion reigned. And to top it all off, after numerous complaints, I was told that a 'director' would contact me within 15 minutes. 1 hour later I had to leave, and they still had not contacted me.

As a business traveller who needs things just to run smoothly, I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mazinmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,247 - 5,253 of 6,672 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Park Lane. You really can't be the location. The room was large and nicely appointed for NY standards. The views of Central Park can't be beat. There a few things that can be updated, but these don't retract from a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Capebrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you Capebrux for your recent stay at the Park Lane Hotel New York. We greatly value your input and guest feedback. The sizing of hotel guest rooms is a consistent positive trend with our guests. It is lovely to hear from another pleased traveler. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I was recently stuck in NYC due to weather flight delays. Found this place through Hotel Tonight and was very pleased with my stay. Friendly staff at reception and bell stand. Clean, BIG room. Dated bathroom, but nice big towels and great water pressure in the shower. Felt like old NY. Also cannot beat the location on Central Park South, down the street from the Plaza and blocks from Times Square.

I would go back.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Franklin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you Franklin R for your recent review. We are glad you were able to unexpectedly discover The Park Lane in your Hotel Tonight searches and experience a positive stay in your one night visit. We love to hear of pleasant experiences at our hotel so thank you very much for sharing. Please join us again in your next visit to NYC.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Park Lane Hotel is perfect for all of the littles things, which they get spectacularly right!
Let's start with location, crisis! Across the road from Central Park, and only a few meters walk from 5th Ave, the start of New York's shopping mecca.

If you're looking for heavenly sleeping conditions, these beds provide you with all the comfort your back requires. Not that I got much sleep with the late nights and early mornings, but those afternoon naps came in handy ;)

The staff are there to assist you in every way possible. We made use of the concierge and it was incredible. They had recommendations for everything -> restaurants, attractions, shopping etc. And they would make the bookings right there for you so you did not need to stress about the detail.

If nothing else, spend one night in this hotel for the park view.

Room Tip: I would always request a room with a park view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you Jonathan D for you recent stay and review. It is delightful to hear your entire stay went well and the staff went above and beyond to exceed expectations. It seems you were able to make the most of your trip and explore the city. Luckily our Concierge team was able to assist in that department and help you navigate to some excellent locations. Kudos to the team!

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Park Lane. The room was so comfortable and clean. It was also a very quiet room but the hotel's location was perfect, close to the subway and nice restaurants and shopping on 5th avenue. The only thing I did not enjoy is that I opted for the breakfast buffet one morning of our stay and all the items were in need of replenishment and what was there was cold. For the price (approx 30.00) I should have just ordered off the menu and had something fresh.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Mary M,
Thank you for your recent review. Your outline of the comfort, cleanliness and location of the hotel is greatly appreciated. We will be sure to address your point on the timely replenishment of food items at the breakfast buffet, especially on low cover days where the food is not moving as quickly.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Park Lane has the best location--right across the street from Southern End of Central Park. Located in a very upscale neighborhood right off of 5th avenue. Close access to the subway and very near museums. Very short ride to Broadway by taxi- non rush hour. The service and the staff at the hotel are excellent. The hotel needs some updating in regard to lighting and decor. However- the price versus other hotels in the area is a good value.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of Central Park are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen11000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you Stephen11000 for your recent review. It is wonderful to hear of your positive feedback regarding hotel location and staff service. In response to your notation of lighting and decor, the hotel currently is in the transition of changing all bulbs on property to LED high resolution. The lighting has already made a huge impact in our lobby and restaurant areas. The Lobby is scheduled to undergo a decor upgrade in the coming months. Again, we thank you and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Mananger- Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Firstly don't use Bookings.com to make your reservation. Either find another site or preferably call the hotel direct.
After a 15 hr 20 min flight followed by the usual and speedy happenings at JFK I arrived to find that my room was not available as promised!!!!! Now nothing can be more irate inflaming than that! Right! Edita on the front desk took charge. Within the hour I was given temporary accommodation with promise of an upgrade to a front room. The view across the park is fabulous.
The Park Lane lives up to it'sLondon name sake. Friendly personnel, excellent service with everyone making sure your stay runs smoothly. Breakfasts are a taste bud's delight as is the view of the park from the dining room's huge arched windows.
I love the location of the hotel ... Central to Fifth Ave and Columbus Circle.
Had it not been for Edita's persistence and determination with the reservation system I might well have blown a fuse! I stayed calm.... And now enjoy the rewards!
If there is a problem the Park Lane Hotel staff will resolved it.

Room Tip: I'm on the 15th floor and love listening to the Central Park horse and carriage parade. This is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocelin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lane A, Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Jocelin K,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your positive interactions with hotel staff; particularly Edita who was able to turn a negative start to your trip into an overall positive stay. The view of Central park from your guest room on a summer day can turn any frown upside down. We are glad Edita was able to make the room category upgrade happen for you. We look forward to your return visit to the Park Lane Hotel New York.

Warm regards,
Joseph Falco
Manager- Hotel Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#271 of 470 in New York City
4,911 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 470 in New York City
4,474 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#232 of 470 in New York City
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 470 in New York City
2,955 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#245 of 470 in New York City
1,819 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#27 of 470 in New York City
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Hotel

Address: 36 Central Park South, 59th Street Between 5th Ave & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#175 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#185 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#194 Business Hotel in New York City
#195 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $173 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Lane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Lane Hotel - A Central Park Hotel, is a luxury 46-story hotel with panoramic views of legendary Central Park and the iconic New York City skyline. Spacious, elegant Guest Rooms and Guest Suites offer picture windows and superb views along with exquisite bath products, fine linens and other amenities. This iconic Hotel sits directly on the edge of beautiful Central Park, offering gracious services to ensure a fulfilling stay. From on-site dining at the renowned Park Room Restaurant to cocktails at Harry's New York Bar & Grill, the Park Lane Hotel wants to make your visit to New York an enjoyable one. We offer a Fitness Center, Mail Service, Internet Access, and more. Located directly on Central Park, in the Midtown Manhattan Business District, Park Lane Hotel is just steps from Fifth Avenue Shopping, Broadway Theaters, Museum Mile, Carnegie Hall, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center and many other NYC Activities and New York Attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helmsley Park Lane Hotel New York City
Helmsley Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing