We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience Midtown”
Review of Park Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Lane Hotel
Ranked #255 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Experience Midtown”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We arrived at the Park Lane on Central Park South mid morning but the staff graciously gave us a room. The room was large and spotless with a pleasant view of the city. We had come to "do" the museums so this was a perfect location, right at 5th Ave. There is a subway stop right across the street for a quick trip to lower Manhattan. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adcampanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,473
    2,102
    974
    448
    285
See reviews for
2,014
2,060
309
1,000
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,316)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My stay in this hotel was good / average. Not the fanciest hotel in town but a good value. Room was large size with a very good /comfortable bedding. Unfortunately, I didn't get the Central Park view, which must be wonderful at wake up. Quite noisy because of the windows that are not brand new... Breakfast was very good, with fresh fruits, freshly toasted bagels and squeezed orange juice. The bar on the second floor will be convenient for the late travelers to grab late diner. Central Park across the street, Apple store a block away, overall a good location to visit NYC.

Room Tip: Ask the rooms with a view on Central Park if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fguitteny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had a weekend getaway to the city and there's nothing better than staying in a room with a view of Central Park. I think that's the best view within the city of course. Our stay included breakfast but for most of our stay we went right downstairs to Sarabeth's. How convenient! I highly recommend you go at least once. Overall the hotel is in a great location and has good customer service. Bed was extremely comfortable and clean. We enjoyed our quiet stay here and would definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkCherry_0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Pro
Location
Nice bed

Con
Needs updating.
shows lots of wear.
Room was too warm and it couldn't be cooled off.
Cheap, blurry TV
No coffee maker
The shower curtains are so thin they blow around when showering, getting the floor wet
$12.95/daily for internet?
Prices at Harry's Bar are INCREDIBLY high.

Room Tip: Try to get on a floor over 20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetoeat108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a safe place, especially for guests traveling to New York for the first time. The lobby usually has several staff members at all times. The hotel was average for other New York hotels in terms of room size, etc. The room was plenty big for two and nicely laid out.

The only amenity this room didn't have that we were expecting was a coffee maker which was a let down. Overall this hotel is a good choice for first time visitors as it felt safe with Central Park directly across the street.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthernTravels803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Lobby and reception staff were pleasant, and they let us check in several hours early with no comment. The lobby, elevators, and rooms are all consistent decor style and quality. I got a basic room which is quite large by NY standards, and pretty nice.

I often try to find deals on hotels when in NY with results that are sometimes "mixed", getting places that are a bit sketchy, dim, worn, etc. No regrets with this place at all. The shower could use an update and was not hotel-pristine, but wasn't scary or anything either. Overall a very good option if you aren't interested in spending 400+ per night.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ytrium39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
2 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My boyfriend & I recently traveled to New York City for the weekend & decided to stay at the Park Lane Hotel booking a Junior Suite with a view of Central Park.
Our flight was delayed a few hours so we didn't check in until about 11pm & we were wrecked, just wanted to eat something & go to sleep.
Our beautiful room had an amazing view, but as we try to sleep, the smell of cigarettes seemed as though it was seeping through the walls & floors getting stronger & stronger! Plus we could hear the conversations of the people next door until about 3am. I must've been so tired that I fell asleep, but I actually woke up choking!
So I instantly ran down to reception & asked if we were in a smoking room!! The lady said YES! I told her that we are non-smokers & wasn't aware that we had been put into a smoking room at first, however I feel this could have been solved if it is was a requirement that the receptionist double checks with the patrons that they require a smoking room. Nothing was mentioned about type of room at check in point.
The lady was very sympathetic & straight away offered us a new room which was available instantly. The hotel also offered to pack our stuff & move it for us.
The new room was absolutely wonderful with an even better view than the previous.
The staff were excellent.
You cant beat the location.
The breakfast was way too expensive so we ate at a lovely bakery & cafe down the road.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMelTravelbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#259 of 467 in New York City
4,626 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#25 of 467 in New York City
1,274 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#42 of 467 in New York City
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#250 of 467 in New York City
1,756 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#94 of 467 in New York City
4,318 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#218 of 467 in New York City
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Hotel

Property: Park Lane Hotel
Address: 36 Central Park South, 59th Street Between 5th Ave & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#170 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#186 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#195 Business Hotel in New York City
#196 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Lane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Lane Hotel - A Central Park Hotel, is a luxury 46-story hotel with panoramic views of legendary Central Park and the iconic New York City skyline. Spacious, elegant Guest Rooms and Guest Suites offer picture windows and superb views along with exquisite bath products, fine linens and other amenities. This iconic Hotel sits directly on the edge of beautiful Central Park, offering gracious services to ensure a fulfilling stay. From on-site dining at the renowned Park Room Restaurant to cocktails at Harry's New York Bar & Grill, the Park Lane Hotel wants to make your visit to New York an enjoyable one. We offer a Fitness Center, Mail Service, Internet Access, and more. Located directly on Central Park, in the Midtown Manhattan Business District, Park Lane Hotel is just steps from Fifth Avenue Shopping, Broadway Theaters, Museum Mile, Carnegie Hall, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center and many other NYC Activities and New York Attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helmsley Park Lane Hotel New York City
Helmsley Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing