We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yearly Family X-mas Weekend in NYC”
Review of Park Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Lane Hotel
Ranked #265 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We come back every year, so we obviously enjoy it. The best part about the hotel is it's location. The hotel is kid friendly. The room is spacious. The rooms with a view are fantastic. Yes, they are a little dated, but not horribly. The location and size of the rooms are well worth the price. (We are talking About NYC). The staff is always very friendly, although this year we were not happy will our bellhop/doormen experiences. We tried the restaurant once and that was enough. That space could be used in better ways. That restaurant should/could be a NY highlight. I miss having the casual Mickey Mantles nearby. Rue 57 worked well enough with the kids. The best for breakfast is the Green Cafe out around back.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank PermanentVaCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,525 - 5,531 of 6,813 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

If you are going to New York you may as well stay in a hotel with a view and this one has a magnificent view of the park. I've stayed in many hotels in NY and in all of them you open the curtains to find yourself staring into the windows on the other side of the street, or find someone there staring at you through binoculars. Unless you are a voyeur, this is a great place to stay. There are others but none that are so wonderfully located and close to everything and I mean everything. Even the subway is right across the street. Whether on business or leisure you are going to appreciate the location of this hotel at a much lower rate than it's Neighbours.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor, skip the restaurant and bar. The service is atrocious and the prices horrific...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We arrived after a day of travel in the evening. Our first impression of the hotel was that it was in a fantastic location overlooking central park but that the lobby and reception did not do it any justice. It was clear that some investment and modernisation was needed. After a five minute wait at the small reception desk we were finally checked in. A porter brought our luggage separately.
Our standard room was a bit disappointing as the view was of the back of surrounding towers and whilst you probably had to pay substantially more for a park view it did mean we lost out on the wow factor.
The room itself was large enough with a bathroom with tub and over head shower. The decor in general was tired and outdated. We were warned by the helpful porter that the room minibar stock was weight activated so as soon as you lift a bottle or snack you would be charged. The prices were steep so we left well alone but they had a good range of products on offer.
We ate in the bar on the first night as we were too tired to explore. The choice of food in the bar was disappointingly limited and even though we were one of two tables eating our food still managed to be over cooked. We also thought it was odd that with a spectacular restaurant with views over central park the bar area was limited to an area with no view especially as the restaurant was lying empty. I am sure more could be made of the property to exploit its location and views.
The room had a large wardrobe, safe, storage space for cases and a desk, chair and TV.
All in all we enjoyed our stay but I think there are more impressive hotels nearby which give this a run for its money. With some investment and remodelling this hotel could be stunning.

Room Tip: You need to pay more for a park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelling_pandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Perfect view, couldn't ask for any for a better one! Food was lovely, with efficient service. Rooms are a bit dated, could do with some attention and modernisation. The hotel brought in a nice crowd of customers and were pleased with how friendly the staff were.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent Xmas 13 at the Helmsley largely due to its location, views & it's proximity to the ritz where we spent Xmas day.

Extra was paid for re-furbed rooms & a view of the park which was amazing. Rooms are extremely large & nicely decorated, although disappointed they didn't bother refurbishing the bathrooms at the same time. The public areas are very tired and on first arrival leave a deflated first impression.

We got a special room rate which included the continental b'fast for a few extra dollars, at a supposed list rate of $27. Whilst served in a charming dining room with a lovely aspect of the park, the continental was a let down with only bagels, croissants and muffins to choose from. No cereal, yogurts, meats, cheese, toaster to toast your bagel. Service on quiet mornings was fine, however on busy mornings, this simple breakfast was clearly too much for the staff who then complained when a tip was not left.

Overall, a lovely hotel in a fantastic location but needs some serious work to warrant it's $300+ a night rate.

Comp wi-Fi in public areas like many of its neighbours would be a step in the right direction!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank LixTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed in the hotel during Christmas period with my wife. The first two nights were the most terrible I can remember in an hotel. After a very long journey from Europe and quite exhausted, I "landed" in a room at the 39th floor. The windows were whistling from time to other so we couldn't sleep. At first I thought this was accidental because of windy weather. I decided not to complain. Wrong. The second night was even worse. It was a nightmare. I didn't stop whistling all night long. Like sleeping in a tent at the pick of a mountain. Unfortunately it was very late to do something. I complained in the mooring. They changed me room immediately and offered a late check-out. They probably knew the problem but as the room was booked via the internet they tried to disposed it anyway. After that the stay was OK. Overall the hotel is rundown, not so clean (the passed the vacuum for a minute or two, empty the waste bin every 2-3 days). The sheets had wholes. Very convenient location at very high price. What a pity!!!

Room Tip: Room 3906 was terrible. I have a video to share
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Konstaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed in this hotel over New Year. the location is unbeatable across the road from Central Park and minutes from 5th Avenue but felt the hotel needs modernising especially the bathroom, also disapointed for a 4 star hotel there was no tea/coffee making facilities. We went to the Barry's bar on New Year' eve before we headed to Times Sq and found the bar to be absolutely freezing! We asked3 times for the heating to be turned up and noticed other punters were sitting with their coats on!! Great location and clean rooms but I don't feel it was value for money.

Room Tip: Freezing bar was a major let down on New Year Eve night!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherry545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 471 in New York City
5,001 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#111 of 471 in New York City
4,517 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#253 of 471 in New York City
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 471 in New York City
3,011 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#244 of 471 in New York City
1,854 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#27 of 471 in New York City
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Hotel

Address: 36 Central Park South, 59th Street Between 5th Ave & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Family Hotel in New York City
#178 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#185 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#194 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $174 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Lane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Lane Hotel - A Central Park Hotel, is a luxury 46-story hotel with panoramic views of legendary Central Park and the iconic New York City skyline. Spacious, elegant Guest Rooms and Guest Suites offer picture windows and superb views along with exquisite bath products, fine linens and other amenities. This iconic Hotel sits directly on the edge of beautiful Central Park, offering gracious services to ensure a fulfilling stay. From on-site dining at the renowned Park Room Restaurant to cocktails at Harry's New York Bar & Grill, the Park Lane Hotel wants to make your visit to New York an enjoyable one. We offer a Fitness Center, Mail Service, Internet Access, and more. Located directly on Central Park, in the Midtown Manhattan Business District, Park Lane Hotel is just steps from Fifth Avenue Shopping, Broadway Theaters, Museum Mile, Carnegie Hall, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center and many other NYC Activities and New York Attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Park Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helmsley Park Lane Hotel New York City
Helmsley Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing