We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated! But great location”
Review of Park Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Lane Hotel
Ranked #257 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed in this hotel over New Year. the location is unbeatable across the road from Central Park and minutes from 5th Avenue but felt the hotel needs modernising especially the bathroom, also disapointed for a 4 star hotel there was no tea/coffee making facilities. We went to the Barry's bar on New Year' eve before we headed to Times Sq and found the bar to be absolutely freezing! We asked3 times for the heating to be turned up and noticed other punters were sitting with their coats on!! Great location and clean rooms but I don't feel it was value for money.

Room Tip: Freezing bar was a major let down on New Year Eve night!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherry545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,420)
There are newer reviews for Park Lane Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,189 - 5,195 of 6,420 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great hotel but agree with the other comments in that the bathrooms need investing in. Also Reception 'box/area ' not big enough at times and staff could be more friendly. However on a positive note, we stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and cannot fault it for the location and the view. Admittedly we paid for an exec room on the 44th floor and it was worth every single dollar!! Central Park is amazingly big. We loved watching the ice rink at wake up time and bed time. On NYE we enjoyed watching the fabulous fireworks in Central Park - our 6 year old slept all the way through - oh how she will regret that when she is older !
Harrys Bar was handy to pop into after shopping on 5th but was always busy and is pretty small. Waiter service good.
As with all US hotels, the rooms lack a kettle for making coffee - however the Green Cafe located at the back of the hotel on the left was a god send ! Would return .

Room Tip: Rooms on the high floor are the better - although we were near a lift on the 44th , no noise experie...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manchester012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were so excited about staying here as we had lunch in the outside restaurant on another trip to NYC a few years before and thought it was such luxury! The public areas are lovely, just as you'd expect, but the rooms are just not up to standard. They were fairly clean, certainly the bedding and bathroom was good though again needed updating as there were cracks everywhere! Also, looking behind furniture and inside doors, it was very dusty. However, location couldn't be beaten, we took a walk out on a morning through Central Park for breakfast and walked round the city all day, then went out for dinner again! So convenient! We didn't have park view but city view, but there was a big picture window in our room and we put out the lights at night and opened the blinds and enjoyed looking at the skyscrapers!! Love New York and staying here for the first time (we previously stayed in New Jersey and travelled in) was amazing. Staff were very helpful as well. Seriously needs an upgrade and then it would be perfect!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel is old and possibly outdated, but it is also beautiful and unbelievably located. The staff is very kind and helpful, the food is good and the location can't be stressed. We enjoyed he convenience of walking next door to The Plaza to eat and across the street to Central Park. The bathroom was definitely dated and poorly remodeled for the price paid, but it is NYC after all. Very large suite -- bigger than I thought.

Room Tip: Request a Central Park view!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNTx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This hotel is located right across the street from Central Park. It is close enough to walk to most Manhattan main attractions yet far enough away from the huge crowds at Times Square. I loved the location. We got a double bed room with a city view. The room was spacious and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions and getting cabs. Very nice place to stay in the heart of NYC.

Room Tip: If you have 3 or more guests in a room you must get a double bed. The KING Bed room is too small for...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShakeandBake001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week, in a king size park view room. The room itself was very spacious, the bed super comfy and decorated in an old fashioned, but not too tacky style. The bathrooms are a bit on the old side, but perfectly functional and with everything you expect. The staff were very friendly and always ready to help. We ordered room service one morning, which was good, but nothing extraordinary.

If you are looking for a trendy place, this is not for you. However, if you fancy a nice and quiet night's sleep after exploring the city, this hotel is perfect. Central Park is right in front of it, 20 minutes walk to all major areas (Times Square, Rockfeller Centre, MET, Natural History Museum, etc), right next to 5th Avenue and it's fabulous shops, next to a Subway stop (57th Street).

Room Tip: Get the park view rooms... the other ones are just not as good. You pay more, but you are getting th...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiliPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here over christmas. The location is great with views onto Central Park and also you're a minute from 5th Avenue for shopping.
The service was good, everyone was friendly and wanting to help anyway they could.
The hotel is somewhat dated but it's actually quite charming. It's not trying to compete with the more modern fitted boutique style hotels but nor does it need to.
We were on the 43rd floor with a city and park view, it was great. The room clean and comfortable.
It could do with a kettle and some tea bags but we were quick to discover a great coffee shop next door at the rear of the hotel.
Well worth the money for the location, comfort and service.

Room Tip: Get on the highest floor you can with a park view. Even more important on the city view as you won...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#266 of 468 in New York City
4,729 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 468 in New York City
2,806 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#28 of 468 in New York City
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#256 of 468 in New York City
1,776 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#97 of 468 in New York City
4,370 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#239 of 468 in New York City
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Hotel

Address: 36 Central Park South, 59th Street Between 5th Ave & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#171 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#185 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#194 Business Hotel in New York City
#195 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $215 - $574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Lane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Lane Hotel - A Central Park Hotel, is a luxury 46-story hotel with panoramic views of legendary Central Park and the iconic New York City skyline. Spacious, elegant Guest Rooms and Guest Suites offer picture windows and superb views along with exquisite bath products, fine linens and other amenities. This iconic Hotel sits directly on the edge of beautiful Central Park, offering gracious services to ensure a fulfilling stay. From on-site dining at the renowned Park Room Restaurant to cocktails at Harry's New York Bar & Grill, the Park Lane Hotel wants to make your visit to New York an enjoyable one. We offer a Fitness Center, Mail Service, Internet Access, and more. Located directly on Central Park, in the Midtown Manhattan Business District, Park Lane Hotel is just steps from Fifth Avenue Shopping, Broadway Theaters, Museum Mile, Carnegie Hall, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center and many other NYC Activities and New York Attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helmsley Park Lane Hotel New York City
Helmsley Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing