We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location that caters to the stars”
Review of Park Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Lane Hotel
Ranked #260 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel is in an absolutely perfect vacation for the New York newcomer. Walking distance to Central Park, 5th Avenue, Radio City, Broadway shows, Grand Central Station, the Met and a wealth of excellent restaurants.

We stayed here on business. The business catering staff were incredible. The food was well done, but our meeting planner scheduled "build your own sandwiches" too many days in a row. The meeting room and audio were good.

Internet was sufficient, when purchased.

A few of my colleagues saw John Voight - so there may be better rooms than the one I had.

My room was on the 22nd floor and there were stains in the carpet, the nightstand light bulb was almost falling out, the hair dryer broke (and was replaced by maintenance). The bed was comfortable enough, and it was otherwise a typical mid-range hotel with typical amenities. I could hear my neighbors opening their doors and talking all night.

I had to call the front desk to have them bring up ice. Housekeeping didn't bother to fill it and there is no turn down service.

Dry cleaning was typically expensive. There are CVS and dry cleaners within walking distance if you need it and want to save some money.

The elevators are very fast.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank tlcjunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,429 - 5,435 of 6,672 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

Very convenient location for shopping and shows. We stayed in a Jr. Suite on the 20th floor facing the park, and the view was phenomenal. The room was very clean and large, and the bed was very comfortable. We had breakfast delivered via room service twice, and the food was very good. My only complaint was there was no coffee in the room, or ice in the hallways, so you had to call somebody for those things when you needed them. We did request a coffee pot on the first day, and they brought us one for the whole trip, first come/first serve. But after the first day, the maid service removed the dirty coffee cups and sweetener, so on day two I didn't have what I needed for coffee. It was an effort to make sure I was stocked each night before bed for coffee in the room the next morning. The mini bar was expensive, of course, but there's a little market a half block away, so we would grab snacks there to take to the room. We loved this hotel, and would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the park! We stayed in room 2000 (20th floor) and our view was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2fly5em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here for Thanksgiving 2013. Able to walk out the front door and to the left was the parade turning from Central Park South onto 6th. Awesome!

Pros -
- Room size
- Proximity to subway (across the street)
- Proximity to NYC stuff (Theatre District, Central Park, etc)
- View (we got room overlooking Central Park)
- Service (helpful during every interaction)

Cons -
- Hotel is in need for refurbishment. Nothing major, just dated. My only knock on the place.

Forget the hotel restaurant, go out the back door and turn left and there is a deli (Green Deli). For sitdown service, go out the front to the left is Sarabeth's.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the park is worth the additional fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim_Kris_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I only stayed for one night as I had a major event to attend to at Lincoln Center. This location was great as it was close enough to walk to the Center if needed or take a cheap cab ride... plus Central Park was right there. For a New York hotel, our room was very spacious as we a had 2 double beds and lots of room to move around and the bathroom was a good size with great lighting for getting ready. The decor was classical in style and very clean.

What I can really rave about is the staff... as each one was very helpful and courteous. The concierge gave a great recommendation for a salon to get our hair and makeup done for the evening. The doorman was great at getting us transportation at rush/theater hour to get to our event. The other concierge was helpful with printing out my boarding pass and the mail room for helping ship out a package for me. I was very pleased with their customer service.

Our only issue was that we got a city view room, since it was for the one night and we didn't spend much time there, but even on the 19th floor we could hear a truck backing up (that loud beeping sound) on street below in the very early morning hours and it sounded like it was right outside the room.

Overall.... happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors. We never really heard noise until the early morning hours with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank like_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel was perfect for my first trip to New York City. Be sure to get a room overlooking Central Park - you won't be disappointed. The hotel is a little older, but completely charming. With Central Park across the street and 5th Avenue a block away, the location is great for wandering the city and checking out the fabulous stores.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anyamare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex K, General Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Andar alto de frente para o Central Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristiano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex K, General Manager at Park Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#271 of 470 in New York City
4,911 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 470 in New York City
4,474 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#232 of 470 in New York City
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 470 in New York City
2,955 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#245 of 470 in New York City
1,819 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#27 of 470 in New York City
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Hotel

Address: 36 Central Park South, 59th Street Between 5th Ave & 6th Ave, New York City, NY 10019-1600 (Formerly The Helmsley Park Lane)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#175 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#185 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#194 Business Hotel in New York City
#195 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $173 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Lane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Lane Hotel - A Central Park Hotel, is a luxury 46-story hotel with panoramic views of legendary Central Park and the iconic New York City skyline. Spacious, elegant Guest Rooms and Guest Suites offer picture windows and superb views along with exquisite bath products, fine linens and other amenities. This iconic Hotel sits directly on the edge of beautiful Central Park, offering gracious services to ensure a fulfilling stay. From on-site dining at the renowned Park Room Restaurant to cocktails at Harry's New York Bar & Grill, the Park Lane Hotel wants to make your visit to New York an enjoyable one. We offer a Fitness Center, Mail Service, Internet Access, and more. Located directly on Central Park, in the Midtown Manhattan Business District, Park Lane Hotel is just steps from Fifth Avenue Shopping, Broadway Theaters, Museum Mile, Carnegie Hall, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center and many other NYC Activities and New York Attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Helmsley Park Lane Hotel New York City
Helmsley Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing