We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$189
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$219
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$396
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$379
$345
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$239
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$213
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$192
$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$229
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (771)
Filter reviews
771 results
Traveler rating
212
276
144
59
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
276
144
59
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupper east sidewine and cheeserooms are smallcentral parkmetropolitan museum of artyogurtnew yorkcontinental breakfastwindow unitboutique hotelwhole foodswine hourbed was comfortablefew blockstimes squareuesguggenheim
Filter
Updating list...
578 - 583 of 771 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2009

On arrival I didn't expect much from the small opening off the street but the service was excellent and I was escorted to the room and given all the information regarding their services.

The room was small and I think you can get a better deal elsewhere - see my other review on the Hilton Garden Inn at Times Square - but all in all I was satisfied.

Located on the upper east side, there offer a complimentary gym pass to a very fine gym, complimentary breakfast, and although no room service from the hotel itself, they have a connection to a restaurant near by.

It's clean and cute but unless you can find better deals.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chavi2383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

This hotel felt exactly like a charming hotel in Europe. The breakfast was wonderful crusty bread, cheese, pastries, yogurt and granola. Any sort of coffee - including cappuccino and lattes (and decaf options) are available 24 hours. In the evening, they have wine and cheese - with proper cheese (no yellow cubes!). We would sit and chat with the other patrons, discussing trips to Egypt and the opera (this IS the upper east side, after all!). Even more European were the rooms - lovely embroidered linens and scented soaps in a room the size of a shoebox. In my room, the bathroom was so small, the sink was in the bedroom, and the closet was literally only 6 inches wide. But, being by myself, it was fine. Most of the other rooms are larger (although still very small by American standards), and if you are traveling as a couple, you should make sure to get one of the larger rooms. The service of the staff was excellent. It really felt like gracious living in old world style. If you want something with charm, comfort and a very homey feel, the Franklin is the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cal_traveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

I've stayed at many moderately priced NYC boutique hotels on business. This one is great if you can get a good rate and if you don't mind a very small facility (feels more like a little apt building than a hotel.) I prefer this intimate feeling and also like being on the upper east vs. crazy midtown. You'll feel like a neighborhood resident. Rooms are small but beautifully decorated and very clean. Bathrooms are very very small but fabulous Bulgari toilletries make up for it. Nice 1st floor lounge and complimentary cappuccino machine is great. Continental breakfast included is EXCELLENT- not your typical stale pastry. Homemade yogurt and granola, croissant, baguette and gourmet cheeses. Great little gem!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2009

We were in-town for a friend's wedding and stayed at The Franklin for 3 nights in 2/09 before heading down to stay 3 more nights on the lower east side.

The hotel is located in a great spot on the upper east side very near the 86th/Lex subway stop. The hotel is walking distance to the park, the met, and places to eat/drink on 2nd ave..... It feels quieter and more residential up there than other more "touristy" areas of NYC which is so welcomed in such a crazy city.

We flew in on the red-eye and got to the hotel around 9am. HUGE points for letting us check-in so early. The staff were sweet and friendly throughout our stay. The place has a bed and breakfast/home-like feel to it. We saw very few guests during our stay and felt like we lived here by the time we left. Very private and relaxing.

The rooms are tiny, but very charming with soft colors, nice lighting, and great beds. Our room had a small desk, large TV, queen sized bed, and decent closet space. Expensive mini-bar (but aren't they always?)....do wish they had offered free water though. Wireless internet service was great as was daily newspaper delivery. We were on the 7th floor and maid service came late (around 2pm), but we are not "morning" people so this didn't bother us a bit. The bathroom is really small and the water pressure on the rain shower a little weak, but other than that, they did a great job with the space.

The breakfast area is small, but cozy. Don't expect a full on American breakfast, but the rolls, cereal, coffees, and tea are a great addition to the place. I loved the textured wall paper...might have to add some to my dining area back home. We also enjoyed the free evening wine and cheese further adding to the romantic, charming feel of the hotel. The coffee machine runs 24/7 so you can always pop in and get yourself a latte and tea.....which is so nice on the chilly winter Manhattan nights.

Really a great boutique hotel worth checking out.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Teresa567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We used this hotel as a base for our first visit to New York along with a number of friends. Initially I was very disappointed with the size of our room. In truth there was very little space bar a path around the bed and with two large bags most of the floor was gone. Not much storage space either for clothes but I suppose that's to be expected of a small hotel like this. The room was very clean and well presented and the toilet/shower room (the wash basin was in the bedroom rather than the bathroom) was well maintained.
Having said all this some of the other couples in our group did get rooms that were much larger so there was an element of luck involved.

There is no bar or restaurant in the hotel but there are plenty of alternatives in the surrounding area and the hotel staff are very accomodating if you want to bring food/drink back in to the two rooms that are used as communal areas. Breakfast consists of cereal, various breads, ham and the usual beverages so is ample. A real selling point was the wine and cheese that was made available in the evening, especially if you are with a group.

As far as location goes it was fine. Only a couple of blocks away from Central Park and the subway so it was a good staging point but it would have been quite a walk to the main attractions in Downtown Manhattan....taxis were the best solution.

So in summary although I was disappointed with the size of the room and the lack of bar/restaurant I really can't fault the cleanliness or the service provided.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Banjoburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews