We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love The Franklin!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #345 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love The Franklin!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was my second time to stay at The Franklin and it was like coming home! Marla was so welcoming and making certain that everything was perfect. She always goes above and beyond to make your stay is as pleasant as can be! The service is excellent from all the staff. Love having my tea in the morning and sitting in the front room to people watch. The room size is perfect for us as we are only there at night or for an afternoon rest time.

There are so many great restaurants, museums and shops nearby. Love Candle 79 restaurant which is vegan and Felice's. Went downtown for brunch on Sunday to Lexington Brass which was fantastic. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteelCityChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Sleetcitychic,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. I'm happy to hear you chose to stay with us again. We will make sure to inform our front office team that you enjoyed Marla's service. Please let us know next time you're in New York if you'd like to come visit us again, and we’ll top your last stay. Feel free to reach out to me directly.

Best,

David Sandler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    240
    107
    44
    39
See reviews for
96
242
91
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I read many reviews that the rooms were so tiny , etc, etc. So i was expecting some itsy bitsy sized room. On the contrary, the room was not any different really than a typical manhattan room, The bathroom was a little small but was fine.. the shower was super clean, everything looked new inside. The sink which was just outside the WC was very nice, beautiful glass with glass bowl . The bed was comfortable and lots of comfy pillows. The room was very very very quiet.. the walls are thick so you don't hear a thing.. you don't hear other people, don't hear doors slamming.. nothing..
They have a wine and cheese reception 500 - 630 which was very nice.. and a basic breakfast in morning ( fruit, cereal, coffee, muffins,etc). There is parking across the street, champion garage, its $ 36 a day plus tax. Very convenient. The staff at the hotel was very nice and helpful..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bavavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Bavavia,

Thank you staying with us here at The Franklin and for providing us feedback following your stay. We pride ourselves in providing the best customer service experience possible. I’m very pleased that you loved the decor of The Franklin . It’s one of the features that makes our hotel so special. It brings me great pleasure to know that you were most impressed with our breakfast, rooms, and location throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!!


Regards,

David Sandler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My girlfriend and I just got back from an amazing weekend in NYC, and the glue that held it all together was The Franklin Hotel. I found this place while looking online for affordable hotels in Manhattan that were close to major subway lines. I couldn't have stayed at a nicer spot. The staff at The Franklin were EXTREMELY friendly, helpful and caring. Every single person that works there has a heart of gold and made us feel like we were the only person staying there. Checking in and checking out took about 30seconds each, and any questions we had about times or locations were quickly answered almost as if they knew what we were going to say before we said it. The hotel itself is CLEAN, quaint and efficient.

Our room; albeit a little small, was the most coziest room I have ever stayed in outside of my own. We had a queen bed, a lovely little bathroom with a brand new glass sink and closet. The beds are lifted as to allow you to store your luggage under which will give you the walking room you need. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were CLEAN, I cannot stress this enough that every part of this room was CLEAN. In the morning they serve your run-of-the-mill hotel breakfast; fresh fruit, croissants, butter jam, cereals and granola. They have a pretty decent espresso/latte machine that is available 24hours which is cool, and all served within their cozy little European style living room area. This hotel also serves wine, crackers and cheese every evening which was an awesome little perk that just adds to the layers of why this hotel is so wonderful and cost efficient to stay at.

To add to my review I just wanted to say the location is also pretty centralized for this hotel. The Franklin is tucked away in the middle of 87th street, near the corner of Lexington. The 4,5,6 train station is just outside the front doors over one block, so you can basically get anywhere you need to go rather quickly. Central Park is literally an 8minute walk right outside and down the street, giving you access to the M.E.T., the Guggenheim Museum and a variety of other sights.

We WILL BE coming back again, and potentially using this hotel for all of my stays in NYC for the future. Location, cost, and quality of this place is UNMATCHED. Looking for a nice, clean cost efficient place to stay for a weekend with your significant other? THE FRANKLIN IS IT. DOESN'T GET ANY BETTER.

Room Tip: They allowed us to leave our luggage at the hotel after we checked out, free of charge as we spent a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Doug S,

We were delighted to receive and so pleased that you enjoyed your first stay at The Franklin. I am particularly pleased that you have mentioned our Front of House team who demonstrated such great hospitality to you. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to them. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Warm Regards,

David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Averill Park, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Great location for my visit. Restaurants nearby. Hotel good for my one night. I had the very small room with the expectations it would be small based on the price compared to other NYC hotels. Room nice and bed real comfortable. Shower head nice. Only drawback for me was being on first floor near reception desk. A little noisy for me, but I had earplugs with me. Ask for room on higher floor. I'd stay again!!

Room Tip: Higher floor for noise quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KRZ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear KRZ21,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our rooms were to your liking! We pride ourselves in making every guest stay as memorable as possible. We hope that you will choose to stay with us in your future stays in NYC. Please feel free to call me directly; we will do our best to top your last stay!


Regards,

David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We were in NY for an event at the MET, and found The Franklin located close by. We've stayed in numerous NYC hotels all over the city, small to large, so did not have any grand expectations as to the size of hotel room. There is a garage conveniently located right across the street for easy access. We were welcomed quickly by the night clerk and given information regarding the hotel and breakfast. The room was adequately sized, we weren't expecting anything huge and have stayed in some much smaller. The room was nicely decorated and the bathroom was a good sIze. The only negative to the room was we could not find the temp controls, so we just opened the bathroom window and this did well to cool the room down. The breakfast was great, and didn't expect one for the price we paid. We usually don't stay this far north in manhattan but if we come back to do more museums, we wouldn't hesitate to look up the franklin again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Baltrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Baltrx,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We were truly delighted that you enjoyed our rooms and front desk team. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us. I’m very pleased that you loved the location of The Franklin . It’s definitely one of the major features that makes our hotel so special. Please feel free to contact me directly; we’ll do our best to offer you the best available rate and regain your confidence in us.

Regards,

David Sandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Very clean but very small room. Good king size bed. Better than average continental breakfast. Jose, a manager was very gracious and helpful.

Airconditioner kept us up most of the two nights we were there. Room is too hot without it. This is an on-going problem - we saw complaint on trip advisor back in April but assumed that issue had been addressed.

Would go back once problem is solved.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elainewynnewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Elainewynnewood,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide our hotel with your feedback. I apologize on behalf of the hotel, for not providing you with the experience you had hoped for; please know our team has been notified of your experience and they hope for your return, so that we may make it up to you. If you decide to give us another try, please feel free to contact me and I will make sure your stay will be nothing short of perfect. Thanks you again for your time I will inform Jose that you enjoyed his hospitality! Have a great day.

Warm Regards,

David Sandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Really would of liked to have my parents stay here for a weekend as it is close to my apartment, however, I tried to change to reservation date to 2 weeks after the original reservation. Typical that they would want me to pay more money instead of being reasonable. Seems that they don't care, unfortunate...

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank adkhiker46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Adkhiker46,

Thanks for the feedback on your most recent stay. I'm disappointed to hear that you've had difficulty modifying your booking; this is definitely not typical of the service we offer at our hotel. If you need assistance on any upcoming reservations please feel free to reach out to me directly, we will do our best to try and make it up to you.

Sincerely,

David Sandler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#323 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#261 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 697 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#255 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#249 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,882 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#39 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,658 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#229 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Property: The Franklin
Address: 164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128-2206
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#228 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Central Park, the famed Museum Mile and Madison Avenue designer shops, The Franklin Hotel is the perfect Upper East Side getaway. Built in the 1930s, The Franklin Hotel is located at 164 East 87th Street. This romantic boutique hotel features 50 intimate guestrooms, daily complimentary continental breakfast from 7am-10am and daily wine & cheese reception from 5pm-6:30pm. Ideal for single travelers or couples, all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary NY Times & USA Today (in our lounge area), Philosophy bath amenities, and 24-hour cappuccino machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franklin Hotel New York City
Franklin New York City
Franklin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing