We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good news….bad news” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #353 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Good news….bad news”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

In Manhatten, location, location, location means everything and this little boutique hotel is located close enough to the action but far enough away that you don’t feel like you’re in the middle of the throngs of tourist that come to New York. Located on the Upper East Side just a couple of blocks from Central Park and the Museums Mile, the Franklin offers clean well decorated rooms. I thought the bed was great, but my wife thought it was just too soft. Continental breakfast every morning starts off your day and will tie you over until lunch. And the staff is friendly and very helpful with recommendations for dinner to ordering a car. So the good news is location, nice rooms, and friendly staff.

Now for the bad news. Since this is an older building central air conditions is non-existent and the rooms have window style swamp coolers. Our window AC unit was noisy to the extent that in order to sleep we had to turn it off….but then you wake up in a sweat….so you have to turn back on the AC unit…..and the cycle repeats itself. Unfortunately, if you come during the warmer months, such as summer, expect the possibility of a noisy AC unit.

Every afternoon, wine and cheese is served. This was actually a selling point for my wife, but after experiencing the afternoon wine and cheese….it was no longer a benefit. The wine was just OK but the cheese was cubed cheddar and Monterey Jack – so don’t drop what you are doing to have wine and cheese and think it will be something special. Bring your own cheese and the Franklin will supply the wine.

Room Tip: Ear plugs maybe needed during the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpazCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear SpazCat,
It pleases my team and me to hear you enjoyed the location, beds, breakfast, friendly service and amenities of The Franklin Hotel. Thank you for staying with us, and also providing us with a review. Your comments will be taken into deep consideration by our team as every guest review helps our team achieve 100% guest satisfaction. Thank you for taking time, and we hope to see you back at the Franklin soon!
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    247
    111
    47
    44
See reviews for
101
250
96
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Upon our arrival, we were informed that they overbooked us for the night and put us in different hotel. It was very upsetting because I've planned my itinery for the weekend around this particular hotel as my husband and I were stying in the city less than 24 hours.
We had to come up with whole new plan and it was very stressful.
It was very unprofessional and inconsiderate of the management of The Franklin Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Lynn K,
As we strive to ensure all of our guests have complete 100% satisfaction it upsets my team and myself to hear that it caused you a great inconvenience. I hope that when we brought you to another close by hotel it was to your satisfaction. Again our deepest apologies for your inconvenience and we hope you change your mind and come back to our hotel again!
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is an excellent location for using the subway and walking to Central Park and Museum Mile. Hotel front and lobby are not as elegant as the interior of hotel, guest rooms, and amenities, which are all superior. An excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Janet E,
It makes us extremely happy to hear that you had a great time when you stayed with us at The Franklin, and we thank you for staying as well. Our team will be pleased to know that you enjoyed the guest rooms, interior of the hotel and the amenities. We would be very pleased to welcome you back to our Upper East side abode! Visit anytime..
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills
Level Contributor
208 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at The Franklin when our flight was cancelled. It's location was very convenient for us. Our room (16) was satisfactory but tiny. The air conditioner blew on my head all night and couldn't be adjusted.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Caslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Caslin,
We apologize for your inconvenience of a cancelled flight, but thank you for staying with us at The Franklin during that time. It is great to hear that the room was satisfactory, and possibly on your next visit you choose a larger room to accommodate you better. Please feel free to visit us again and thank you for your positive review!

David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Franklin is a cozy, charming, European feel to it, hotel. The staff is super helpful and friendly and the rooms are clean and comfortable. It is a great value and in a great location on the East side.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Anne K,
What a pleasure it is to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Franklin Hotel. Our team will be thrilled to hear that their service was helpful, friendly, at a great value. We are also happy to read you thought our rooms were clean as a whistle during your stay. We hope the next time you visit the East Side you stay with us again.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Perfect for getaway weekend. Rooms are small yet extremely cozy and very clean. Especially enjoy seeing the same staff each time I visit. Neighborhood allows a true upper east side experience. love it

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear reviewer,
Our team was very happy you enjoyed your weekend getaway from the usual hustle and bustle of the workweek. Our goal is to provide our guests with the most comfortable and enjoyable stay they can possibly have and it is great to hear a review that confirms that we have succeeded! Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We hope on your next “you’ve got mail getaway” you choose to stay with us again. See you soon!

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I had stayed here before (August 2012) at the recommendation of my sister, who loves the Franklin. I knew that I would have a comfortable bed (very important) and that my room would be very clean and stylish. I appreciate the silky feel of the sheets and soft plentiful pillows. Other aspects of this unique hotel: the nicely furnished living room area and breakfast room with the great coffee machine available 24 hours and tasty breakfast in the morning. The location is perfect, near all the art museums and a subway entrance very close to get downtown. Also, I LOVED the bathroom, clean, elegant with white tile, glass shelves, nice amenities and the large "rain" type shower head; the water coming out felt soft but had plenty of pressure, very relaxing after a long busy day. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to ensure my comfort. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank nancyyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear nancyyou,
Music to my ears to hear that you highly recommend this hotel to friends and even other Trip Advisor members that will read this review! On that same note I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to give us a positive review. Any review from our guests helps our team improve to provide excellent customer service. We enjoyed reading that you liked the complimentary coffee and your own personal pampered bathroom. Our team will be pleased to hear you enjoyed the service they provided which assisted in making your stay unforgettable. Come back and stay with us any time! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#303 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#266 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#250 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#246 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,111 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#302 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#50 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Property: The Franklin
Address: 164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128-2206
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#228 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Central Park, the famed Museum Mile and Madison Avenue designer shops, The Franklin Hotel is the perfect Upper East Side getaway. Built in the 1930s, The Franklin Hotel is located at 164 East 87th Street. This romantic boutique hotel features 50 intimate guestrooms, daily complimentary continental breakfast from 7am-10am and daily wine & cheese reception from 5pm-6:30pm. Ideal for single travelers or couples, all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary NY Times & USA Today (in our lounge area), Philosophy bath amenities, and 24-hour cappuccino machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franklin Hotel New York City
Franklin New York City
Franklin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing