We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“An Ideal Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Franklin to your Saves list
The Franklin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128 (Upper East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #345 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Shrewsbury UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Ideal Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Having done some research into hotels in the Upper East Side area I found the Franklin met most of my expectations for a 5-night stay for two of us in New York. The room was clean, comfortable and of adequate size for our visit (we had just one case each) but being at the front of the building it was somewhat noisy, even in the small hours. We found the bed very comfortable and were impressed by the tidiness/cleanliness of the room on return each evening; it was perhaps overkill to have clean towels every day but appreciated nevertheless. I share some others' comments about the lack of space for breakfast but managed to get a table most mornings; after all, it's a boutique hotel. The complimentary cheese and wine from 5 until 6.30 was a nice touch to unwind after a hard day's foot-slogging. Where the Franklin really scores is its location for those who want to do the museums and art galleries. Going down town was also easy with subway and bus stops nearby. Staff were welcoming, some more helpful than others. Overall we were very satisfied with our stay.

Room Tip: Go for the largest room available away from the front, where it's probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Martin L,
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write a review about the Franklin Hotel. It’s nice to read that you did some research about the hotel before deciding to try us. It was great to hear that you were impressed with the cleanliness of the room and that you felt the bed was comfortable. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you choose us again in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    235
    102
    43
    39
See reviews for
94
236
88
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We chose The Franklin for its location and pet policy, and it worked well for me and my spouse and our dog during a beautiful spring weekend. Friendly and accommodating staff—we were upgraded to a larger room (the small rooms must be REALLY small), which was clean with a comfortable bed, though most other furnishings looked worn. Narrow bathroom, with good water pressure for the shower. Our first-floor room was located in the back of the building, and was very quiet at night. Serviceable continental breakfast is fine for those who eat light first thing, including good coffee (go very early or late; dining room is tiny). We didn't take advantage of the afternoon wine hour. Best aspect is proximity to Central Park—a mecca for dogs and their walkers, people watching, picnicking—and Museum Mile. Also close to subway and good shopping and restaurants (if you go vegan or gluten free, Candle Cafe at 3rd and 74th is a must).

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are in back of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahtsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear ahtsguy,

Thank you for choosing the Franklin Hotel. We were happy to hear you, your spouse and dog had a fun time while at the hotel. It was nice to read that the team was friendly and accommodating, you like the location as well as all the hotel amenities. Next time we hope you have a chance to visit our wine hr. We really appreciate you staying with us and hope to welcome you back the next time you are in NYC.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I've stayed twice now at the Franklin when traveling to NY on business and will likely stay again. Very convenient Upper East Side location. Rooms are small - but all NY rooms are - but very clean. Beds are very comfortable. Closets and bathrooms are very small. This is not a hotel that is big on amenities, save for the continental breakfast. There is no concierge or doorman. No "business center" except for an antiquated laptop situated by a small chair right next to the front desk. Front desk staff are friendly enough but not terribly organized. Rising early one morning the desk I found the desk manned by a man out of uniform, dressed in very casual street clothes, who did not seem to be able to answer questions. Still, the hotel is charming and seems to be frequented by European travelers and other tourists, which is fine. Not a good hotel for those requiring upscale amenities for staff attention, but if you're looking for a convenient and charming hotel close to museums and the Park, this is a great place to stay. Continental breakfast (coffee, yogurt, croissants) is a nice touch, although the exceptionally small dining room does not make for a very comfortable dining experience. Free wifi - almost unheard of in NY these days. Lots of great cafes, restaurants and shops nearby. I will return again.

Room Tip: Rooms are very small. If you're not traveling alone, I'd recommend upgrading to a larger si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duomogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear duomogal,
Thank you for making the Franklin Hotel your NYC hotel of choice. We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback about your stay. The team and I take our guests feedback very seriously as it allows us to hone in on the guest experience and correct any issues that may arise. We are so pleased to hear that you are a loyal guest of the hotel and will be coming back to stay with us the next time you are in the city.
We hope to see you soon and look forward to welcoming you back.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

New York City in Springtime is amazing and The Franklin is perfectly sited to take advantage of it. It is a quick walk ( 4 blocks or so) to the Metropolitan Museum of Art and Central Park. We were in NYC for an overnight and loved being able to enjoy the Upper East Side with its restaurants, shopping, museums etc. The room we got is TINY. I mean, TINY. But if your intention is not to be in the room, it is no problem. The bathroom was immaculate. The Bulgari soap and shampoo great. The bed was comfy. It could use a little sprucing up but was fine for our purposes. (Carpet is worn) But the staff was very friendly. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast which was included but the coffee in the lobby smelled good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reynold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Reynold,
Thank you for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. The team was excited to hear you enjoyed your stay and thought they were very friendly. We enjoyed hearing how you liked the guest amenities, room amenities and the location of the hotel. The next time you are in New York City we hope you stay with us again. We really feel like the hotel can be your home away from home.
Please come back soon.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Franklin is well located on the upper east side and convenient to Museum Mile and the Lexington Ave. express stop on the subway at 86th Street. This makes up in part for some of its deficiencies which include incredibly small rooms - even their studios which are their "largest rooms". OK for a few days but it quickly gets claustrophobic if you are in the room very much. The rooms are clean but not what anyone would call new or spiffy. Internet is free but reception not good - my wife had to take her Pad into the hall to make a reservation at a restaurant so don't plan on doing a little work while away from home. The breakfast and the wine/cheese were a nice touch but the space gain is very crowded. The staff was pleasant and helpful. I think there are better values and probably would not stay here again. Other than space there was no glaring deficiency but a lot of mediocrity.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Phillip P,
We appreciate you staying with us at the Franklin Hotel and providing feedback. We were happy to hear you liked the location, the breakfast, wine and cheese and that you thought the staff was pleasant and helpful. The team truly enjoys feedback as it will allow us to hone in on making the guest experience better all the time. Thank you again for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel was very quiet and clean. Small rooms of course, but comfortable bed. Plus, breakfast was included and was reasonable, mostly fruits, cereal, breads and coffee. Afternoon cheese and wine was provided gratis, and they're not nosy about exactly who gets it.

Room Tip: Maybe best to ask for one away from the street, though I didn't see one of htose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svinsant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear svinsant,
Thank you for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. We were happy to hear you thought the hotel was very quiet and clean. We are glad you also liked the breakfast and the wine and cheese amenities which all our guests get to enjoy. Please come visit us again as we would love to welcome you back.
Thank you again for all the positive feedback.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
173 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Franklin hotel is awful in almost every way!

Rooms and in particular the bathrooms are tiny, heating and air con both so loud its almost impossible to get a full nights sleep.

The staff couldn't care less.

Tiny breakfast room that's sits 10 people for a hotel with 50 rooms.

I just don't think they deserve our business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandraM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Alexandra M,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. The team takes the feedback very seriously as it helps us get better at what we do. We hope you will give us another chance as we believe the hotel is a lovely place for people to visit and stay.

Once again thank you for your time and feedback.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#332 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#249 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#237 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#248 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,793 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#232 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,074 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#256 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Property: The Franklin
Address: 164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#229 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Central Park, the famed Museum Mile and Madison Avenue designer shops, The Franklin Hotel is the perfect Upper East Side getaway. Built in the 1930s, The Franklin Hotel is located at 164 East 87th Street. This romantic boutique hotel features 50 intimate guestrooms, daily complimentary continental breakfast from 7am-10am and daily wine & cheese reception from 5pm-6:30pm. Ideal for single travelers or couples, all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary NY Times & USA Today (in our lounge area), Philosophy bath amenities, and 24-hour cappuccino machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franklin Hotel New York City
Franklin New York City
Franklin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing