We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Franklin
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$171
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$210
$180
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$170
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$241
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 53% below average rates

The price you found is 53% lower than this hotel's average rate of $190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$197
$178
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$142
yescapade.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Reviews (763)
Filter reviews
763 results
Traveler rating
213
275
138
58
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
275
138
58
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupper east sidewine and cheeserooms are smallcentral parkmetropolitan museum of artyogurtnew yorkcontinental breakfastboutique hotelevery eveningwhole foodswine hourgreat boutiquecoffee machinebed was comfortablefew blockstimes square
Filter
Updating list...
436 - 441 of 763 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I've stayed twice now at the Franklin when traveling to NY on business and will likely stay again. Very convenient Upper East Side location. Rooms are small - but all NY rooms are - but very clean. Beds are very comfortable. Closets and bathrooms are very small. This is not a hotel that is big on amenities, save for the continental breakfast. There is no concierge or doorman. No "business center" except for an antiquated laptop situated by a small chair right next to the front desk. Front desk staff are friendly enough but not terribly organized. Rising early one morning the desk I found the desk manned by a man out of uniform, dressed in very casual street clothes, who did not seem to be able to answer questions. Still, the hotel is charming and seems to be frequented by European travelers and other tourists, which is fine. Not a good hotel for those requiring upscale amenities for staff attention, but if you're looking for a convenient and charming hotel close to museums and the Park, this is a great place to stay. Continental breakfast (coffee, yogurt, croissants) is a nice touch, although the exceptionally small dining room does not make for a very comfortable dining experience. Free wifi - almost unheard of in NY these days. Lots of great cafes, restaurants and shops nearby. I will return again.

Room Tip: Rooms are very small. If you're not traveling alone, I'd recommend upgrading to a larger size room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duomogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear duomogal,
Thank you for making the Franklin Hotel your NYC hotel of choice. We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback about your stay. The team and I take our guests feedback very seriously as it allows us to hone in on the guest experience and correct any issues that may arise. We are so pleased to hear that you are a loyal guest of the hotel and will be coming back to stay with us the next time you are in the city.
We hope to see you soon and look forward to welcoming you back.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

New York City in Springtime is amazing and The Franklin is perfectly sited to take advantage of it. It is a quick walk ( 4 blocks or so) to the Metropolitan Museum of Art and Central Park. We were in NYC for an overnight and loved being able to enjoy the Upper East Side with its restaurants, shopping, museums etc. The room we got is TINY. I mean, TINY. But if your intention is not to be in the room, it is no problem. The bathroom was immaculate. The Bulgari soap and shampoo great. The bed was comfy. It could use a little sprucing up but was fine for our purposes. (Carpet is worn) But the staff was very friendly. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast which was included but the coffee in the lobby smelled good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reynold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Reynold,
Thank you for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. The team was excited to hear you enjoyed your stay and thought they were very friendly. We enjoyed hearing how you liked the guest amenities, room amenities and the location of the hotel. The next time you are in New York City we hope you stay with us again. We really feel like the hotel can be your home away from home.
Please come back soon.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Franklin is well located on the upper east side and convenient to Museum Mile and the Lexington Ave. express stop on the subway at 86th Street. This makes up in part for some of its deficiencies which include incredibly small rooms - even their studios which are their "largest rooms". OK for a few days but it quickly gets claustrophobic if you are in the room very much. The rooms are clean but not what anyone would call new or spiffy. Internet is free but reception not good - my wife had to take her Pad into the hall to make a reservation at a restaurant so don't plan on doing a little work while away from home. The breakfast and the wine/cheese were a nice touch but the space gain is very crowded. The staff was pleasant and helpful. I think there are better values and probably would not stay here again. Other than space there was no glaring deficiency but a lot of mediocrity.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Phillip P,
We appreciate you staying with us at the Franklin Hotel and providing feedback. We were happy to hear you liked the location, the breakfast, wine and cheese and that you thought the staff was pleasant and helpful. The team truly enjoys feedback as it will allow us to hone in on making the guest experience better all the time. Thank you again for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel was very quiet and clean. Small rooms of course, but comfortable bed. Plus, breakfast was included and was reasonable, mostly fruits, cereal, breads and coffee. Afternoon cheese and wine was provided gratis, and they're not nosy about exactly who gets it.

Room Tip: Maybe best to ask for one away from the street, though I didn't see one of htose.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svinsant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear svinsant,
Thank you for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. We were happy to hear you thought the hotel was very quiet and clean. We are glad you also liked the breakfast and the wine and cheese amenities which all our guests get to enjoy. Please come visit us again as we would love to welcome you back.
Thank you again for all the positive feedback.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Franklin hotel is awful in almost every way!

Rooms and in particular the bathrooms are tiny, heating and air con both so loud its almost impossible to get a full nights sleep.

The staff couldn't care less.

Tiny breakfast room that's sits 10 people for a hotel with 50 rooms.

I just don't think they deserve our business.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexandraM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Alexandra M,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. The team takes the feedback very seriously as it helps us get better at what we do. We hope you will give us another chance as we believe the hotel is a lovely place for people to visit and stay.

Once again thank you for your time and feedback.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews