We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasant stay, good value for NY.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #347 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Boston
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay, good value for NY.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I've stayed twice now at the Franklin when traveling to NY on business and will likely stay again. Very convenient Upper East Side location. Rooms are small - but all NY rooms are - but very clean. Beds are very comfortable. Closets and bathrooms are very small. This is not a hotel that is big on amenities, save for the continental breakfast. There is no concierge or doorman. No "business center" except for an antiquated laptop situated by a small chair right next to the front desk. Front desk staff are friendly enough but not terribly organized. Rising early one morning the desk I found the desk manned by a man out of uniform, dressed in very casual street clothes, who did not seem to be able to answer questions. Still, the hotel is charming and seems to be frequented by European travelers and other tourists, which is fine. Not a good hotel for those requiring upscale amenities for staff attention, but if you're looking for a convenient and charming hotel close to museums and the Park, this is a great place to stay. Continental breakfast (coffee, yogurt, croissants) is a nice touch, although the exceptionally small dining room does not make for a very comfortable dining experience. Free wifi - almost unheard of in NY these days. Lots of great cafes, restaurants and shops nearby. I will return again.

Room Tip: Rooms are very small. If you're not traveling alone, I'd recommend upgrading to a larger si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duomogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear duomogal,
Thank you for making the Franklin Hotel your NYC hotel of choice. We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback about your stay. The team and I take our guests feedback very seriously as it allows us to hone in on the guest experience and correct any issues that may arise. We are so pleased to hear that you are a loyal guest of the hotel and will be coming back to stay with us the next time you are in the city.
We hope to see you soon and look forward to welcoming you back.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    243
    109
    45
    41
See reviews for
96
246
95
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

New York City in Springtime is amazing and The Franklin is perfectly sited to take advantage of it. It is a quick walk ( 4 blocks or so) to the Metropolitan Museum of Art and Central Park. We were in NYC for an overnight and loved being able to enjoy the Upper East Side with its restaurants, shopping, museums etc. The room we got is TINY. I mean, TINY. But if your intention is not to be in the room, it is no problem. The bathroom was immaculate. The Bulgari soap and shampoo great. The bed was comfy. It could use a little sprucing up but was fine for our purposes. (Carpet is worn) But the staff was very friendly. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast which was included but the coffee in the lobby smelled good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reynold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Reynold,
Thank you for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. The team was excited to hear you enjoyed your stay and thought they were very friendly. We enjoyed hearing how you liked the guest amenities, room amenities and the location of the hotel. The next time you are in New York City we hope you stay with us again. We really feel like the hotel can be your home away from home.
Please come back soon.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Franklin is well located on the upper east side and convenient to Museum Mile and the Lexington Ave. express stop on the subway at 86th Street. This makes up in part for some of its deficiencies which include incredibly small rooms - even their studios which are their "largest rooms". OK for a few days but it quickly gets claustrophobic if you are in the room very much. The rooms are clean but not what anyone would call new or spiffy. Internet is free but reception not good - my wife had to take her Pad into the hall to make a reservation at a restaurant so don't plan on doing a little work while away from home. The breakfast and the wine/cheese were a nice touch but the space gain is very crowded. The staff was pleasant and helpful. I think there are better values and probably would not stay here again. Other than space there was no glaring deficiency but a lot of mediocrity.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Phillip P,
We appreciate you staying with us at the Franklin Hotel and providing feedback. We were happy to hear you liked the location, the breakfast, wine and cheese and that you thought the staff was pleasant and helpful. The team truly enjoys feedback as it will allow us to hone in on making the guest experience better all the time. Thank you again for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel was very quiet and clean. Small rooms of course, but comfortable bed. Plus, breakfast was included and was reasonable, mostly fruits, cereal, breads and coffee. Afternoon cheese and wine was provided gratis, and they're not nosy about exactly who gets it.

Room Tip: Maybe best to ask for one away from the street, though I didn't see one of htose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svinsant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear svinsant,
Thank you for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. We were happy to hear you thought the hotel was very quiet and clean. We are glad you also liked the breakfast and the wine and cheese amenities which all our guests get to enjoy. Please come visit us again as we would love to welcome you back.
Thank you again for all the positive feedback.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
190 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Franklin hotel is awful in almost every way!

Rooms and in particular the bathrooms are tiny, heating and air con both so loud its almost impossible to get a full nights sleep.

The staff couldn't care less.

Tiny breakfast room that's sits 10 people for a hotel with 50 rooms.

I just don't think they deserve our business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandraM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Alexandra M,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. The team takes the feedback very seriously as it helps us get better at what we do. We hope you will give us another chance as we believe the hotel is a lovely place for people to visit and stay.

Once again thank you for your time and feedback.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Purpose of visit:
2 nights

Room Type/Name:
Guest room petite - I think (booked via a discount web page) 7th Floor

Specific Comments about stay:
Staff are very welcoming and helpful. Hotel is nice but very small. Eating area and lounge tiny. Room is almost unliveable.

Amenities of the room:
Bvlgari products is prob the best thing. Did not have room to open suitcases. "closet" has room for 2-3 items if that (winter clothes??) Have to shimmy down the side of the bed in get in. Very warm in hotel - no temp adjustment.

Amenities of the hotel:
Wifi, breakfast is simple, but ok. Elevator is an old style which is cool.

Service Provided:
Great service, I booked a town car for 2 hours before we needed to be at airport on last day, it was 45mins late - the lady at the front desk was hard on the company and demanded a discount and another driver. Got a luxury car to JFK for $60. Just made it though. Staff of the hotel were apologising every 5 minutes - not their fault at all.
And throughout our stay thr staff were lovely. Only staff member who was a bit offputting was the maid who sets breakfast out, you feel as if you are getting in her way, or she doesnt like her job.

Things I wish I'd known before visiting:
How tiny the rooms were.

Location Details:
Upper east side - i wanted to stay here because its the nicest area, and we were warned not the stay in the heart of the city - but I wish we had. This hotel is not within walking distance of anything we went to.

Overall experience:
Very nice little hotel, but too small for me. Location nice and safe but I dont think convenient. The hotel looks nicer on the website. Staff as I said as lovely though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahlianagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Tahlianagy,

We are happy you had a chance to visit the Franklin Hotel during your time in NYC. Thank you for providing feedback of your stay as it will allow the team to improve. We are happy you thought the staff was friendly and accommodating. Next time you come to NY please call the reservation team and we can help you find a hotel in our portfolio which might be a better desired location for you.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, OH
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Franklin is a small hotel with a fantastic location in the Upper East side of NYC. The staff are helpful in every way. The 24 hour cappuccino machine provides great drinks. The rooms are small, but our middle size room (200 sq. ft.) was fine for a couple. This has a bed and breakfast feel with a nice continental breakfast and a daily wine reception. The one block walk to the main east side subway line was wonderful, particularly on a rainy day. The only drawback of the room was the small sink area in the bathroom, which makes shaving very difficult. Lastly, my wife loved this place!! I think that is what matters!

Room Tip: For a couple, be sure you get the biggest room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Davidson77,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. It was nice to read that you thought the staff was helpful, and you liked the hotel amenities. We are happy you also liked the location of the hotel as we are near the museums and close to the subways.

We are delighted to hear that your wife loved the hotel and that you will be back.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#320 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#262 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#243 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#242 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,954 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#316 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,143 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#265 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Property: The Franklin
Address: 164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128-2206
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#228 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Central Park, the famed Museum Mile and Madison Avenue designer shops, The Franklin Hotel is the perfect Upper East Side getaway. Built in the 1930s, The Franklin Hotel is located at 164 East 87th Street. This romantic boutique hotel features 50 intimate guestrooms, daily complimentary continental breakfast from 7am-10am and daily wine & cheese reception from 5pm-6:30pm. Ideal for single travelers or couples, all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary NY Times & USA Today (in our lounge area), Philosophy bath amenities, and 24-hour cappuccino machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franklin Hotel New York City
Franklin New York City
Franklin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing