We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Franklin
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$210
$180
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$230
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$171
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of $222/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$170
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$229
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 47% below average rates

The price you found is 47% lower than this hotel's average rate of $170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (762)
Filter reviews
762 results
Traveler rating
212
275
138
58
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
275
138
58
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupper east sidewine and cheeserooms are smallcentral parkmetropolitan museum of artyogurtnew yorkcontinental breakfastboutique hotelevery eveningwhole foodswine hourgreat boutiquecoffee machinebed was comfortablefew blockstimes square
Filter
Updating list...
438 - 443 of 762 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Franklin is well located on the upper east side and convenient to Museum Mile and the Lexington Ave. express stop on the subway at 86th Street. This makes up in part for some of its deficiencies which include incredibly small rooms - even their studios which are their "largest rooms". OK for a few days but it quickly gets claustrophobic if you are in the room very much. The rooms are clean but not what anyone would call new or spiffy. Internet is free but reception not good - my wife had to take her Pad into the hall to make a reservation at a restaurant so don't plan on doing a little work while away from home. The breakfast and the wine/cheese were a nice touch but the space gain is very crowded. The staff was pleasant and helpful. I think there are better values and probably would not stay here again. Other than space there was no glaring deficiency but a lot of mediocrity.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Phillip P,
We appreciate you staying with us at the Franklin Hotel and providing feedback. We were happy to hear you liked the location, the breakfast, wine and cheese and that you thought the staff was pleasant and helpful. The team truly enjoys feedback as it will allow us to hone in on making the guest experience better all the time. Thank you again for taking the time out of your day to provide us with feedback.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel was very quiet and clean. Small rooms of course, but comfortable bed. Plus, breakfast was included and was reasonable, mostly fruits, cereal, breads and coffee. Afternoon cheese and wine was provided gratis, and they're not nosy about exactly who gets it.

Room Tip: Maybe best to ask for one away from the street, though I didn't see one of htose.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svinsant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear svinsant,
Thank you for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. We were happy to hear you thought the hotel was very quiet and clean. We are glad you also liked the breakfast and the wine and cheese amenities which all our guests get to enjoy. Please come visit us again as we would love to welcome you back.
Thank you again for all the positive feedback.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Franklin hotel is awful in almost every way!

Rooms and in particular the bathrooms are tiny, heating and air con both so loud its almost impossible to get a full nights sleep.

The staff couldn't care less.

Tiny breakfast room that's sits 10 people for a hotel with 50 rooms.

I just don't think they deserve our business.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexandraM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Alexandra M,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. The team takes the feedback very seriously as it helps us get better at what we do. We hope you will give us another chance as we believe the hotel is a lovely place for people to visit and stay.

Once again thank you for your time and feedback.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Purpose of visit:
2 nights

Room Type/Name:
Guest room petite - I think (booked via a discount web page) 7th Floor

Specific Comments about stay:
Staff are very welcoming and helpful. Hotel is nice but very small. Eating area and lounge tiny. Room is almost unliveable.

Amenities of the room:
Bvlgari products is prob the best thing. Did not have room to open suitcases. "closet" has room for 2-3 items if that (winter clothes??) Have to shimmy down the side of the bed in get in. Very warm in hotel - no temp adjustment.

Amenities of the hotel:
Wifi, breakfast is simple, but ok. Elevator is an old style which is cool.

Service Provided:
Great service, I booked a town car for 2 hours before we needed to be at airport on last day, it was 45mins late - the lady at the front desk was hard on the company and demanded a discount and another driver. Got a luxury car to JFK for $60. Just made it though. Staff of the hotel were apologising every 5 minutes - not their fault at all.
And throughout our stay thr staff were lovely. Only staff member who was a bit offputting was the maid who sets breakfast out, you feel as if you are getting in her way, or she doesnt like her job.

Things I wish I'd known before visiting:
How tiny the rooms were.

Location Details:
Upper east side - i wanted to stay here because its the nicest area, and we were warned not the stay in the heart of the city - but I wish we had. This hotel is not within walking distance of anything we went to.

Overall experience:
Very nice little hotel, but too small for me. Location nice and safe but I dont think convenient. The hotel looks nicer on the website. Staff as I said as lovely though.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tahlianagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Tahlianagy,

We are happy you had a chance to visit the Franklin Hotel during your time in NYC. Thank you for providing feedback of your stay as it will allow the team to improve. We are happy you thought the staff was friendly and accommodating. Next time you come to NY please call the reservation team and we can help you find a hotel in our portfolio which might be a better desired location for you.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Franklin is a small hotel with a fantastic location in the Upper East side of NYC. The staff are helpful in every way. The 24 hour cappuccino machine provides great drinks. The rooms are small, but our middle size room (200 sq. ft.) was fine for a couple. This has a bed and breakfast feel with a nice continental breakfast and a daily wine reception. The one block walk to the main east side subway line was wonderful, particularly on a rainy day. The only drawback of the room was the small sink area in the bathroom, which makes shaving very difficult. Lastly, my wife loved this place!! I think that is what matters!

Room Tip: For a couple, be sure you get the biggest room available.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Davidson77,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. It was nice to read that you thought the staff was helpful, and you liked the hotel amenities. We are happy you also liked the location of the hotel as we are near the museums and close to the subways.

We are delighted to hear that your wife loved the hotel and that you will be back.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews