We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Franklin
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$171
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$210
$180
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$197
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Bentley Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$213
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$170
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$229
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 49% below average rates

The price you found is 49% lower than this hotel's average rate of $176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$142
yescapade.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Reviews (763)
Filter reviews
763 results
Traveler rating
213
275
138
58
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
275
138
58
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupper east sidewine and cheeserooms are smallcentral parkmetropolitan museum of artyogurtnew yorkcontinental breakfastboutique hotelevery eveningwhole foodswine hourgreat boutiquecoffee machinebed was comfortablefew blockstimes square
Filter
Updating list...
445 - 450 of 763 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Franklin Hotel is good hotel, great location (Upper East), breakfast included (amazing) and very clean. But the size of the rooms is a real problem. You cant leave your luggage on the floor, or even where to store your clothes.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elvira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Elvira R,

Thank you for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the location and the guest amenities we offer. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide feedback.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at the Franklin for 6 nights. The room was small, as expected and the front desk staff were fantastic. They were helpful and accommodating. The Internet didn't work in our room so we had to use it in the foyer, our TV was fuzzy and the heating system was broken. They did give us a portable heater though. The big disappointment was when we asked about transport to the airport. The staff member at reception said a taxi would be $60 but a private car would also be $60 and was more reliable. He was very persistent that we should book a private car. When the car arrived it seemed to be someone's private vehicle and he seemed to be friends with the staff member. They "highly" recommended we pay cash, when we said we only had credit card he said it was a 10% credit card fee. We were okay with that but he insisted on taking us to a bank to get cash. When we paid the driver at the airport $60+tip he corrected us and said it was actually $67.50 because of tolls. When we said we were quoted $60 TOTAL he said that wasn't right and we needed to give him more money. He then insisted on making us call the staff member back at the hotel. This was incredible frustrating and embarrassing - we would/should have taken a cab. A negative end to a wonderful stay.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Lily Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Lily Q,

Thank you for visiting us at the Franklin Hotel during your time in the city. We appreciate you taking time out of your day to provide us with feedback. The team prides themselves on service and the feedback you have provided is a huge help in making us a better hotel. We hope you will choose us again the next time you visit New York.

We would love to welcome you back.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a fabulous time - the size of the room was exactly as expected based upon other reviews and the status as a boutique hotel, so we thoroughly enjoyed our cozy room with its perfect bed, chandelier, gorgeous appointments, and yummy Bvlgari toiletries. The staff made us feel as though we were coming home to our own apartment each day, and they met every request immediately. The wine and cheese, cappuccinos, and breakfast every day were worth so much more than the nominal resort fee. It was a lovely stay, perfect location right around the block from the subway, shopping, and great neighborhood restaurants. Couldn't have been happier, and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room - ours had the perfect squeezed-in combo of a king bed, desk, and a nice window seat.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Mandy W,

Thank you for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. We are so excited to hear that you liked the room, guest amenities, and of course the staff. It makes the team so happy to hear that you will be a return guest in the future. They really take pride in the service of the hotel and from the sounds of it we didn’t disappoint.

We appreciate you staying with us and can’t wait to welcome you back.
Thank you for your time.

David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I recently stayed at THE FRANKLIN Hotel on the UES on 87th Streeet between Lexington and 3rd!! It's a great location for me as my Daughter just lives blocks and I could walk to and from her apartment everyday and night!! It's a wonderful neighborhood full of wonderful restaurants, coffee shops, bars, shops,.... It's safe and reasonably quiet! The hotel reminds me of a small, adorable European boutique hotel. There are only 50 rooms decorated beautifully with all the amenities you need. Terrific bed and soft comfy linens with lots of pillows with a flat panel TV on the wall! Luxerious bath products in the small but very adequate bathroom. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. In the morning, they offered a lovely continental breakfast in their 2 beautiful parlors, consisting of muffins, croissants, cereal, fruits, coffees, teas, and juices. In the late afternoon, they offered wines and cheeses. So lovely!!! I felt right at home and will definitely stay here again and again! Loved it!!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 71. It is larger than some of the others and very comfortable!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear dylynn,

Thank you very much for taking the time out to review the Franklin Hotel. We are super happy that you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff, breakfast, wine and cheese reception, and the location of the room. We pride ourselves on service and from the sounds of it we were spot on. This is wonderful news as our staff loves to assist guests with whatever they need.

We hope you will become frequent guest of the hotel since your daughter lives close by and you enjoyed staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Simply put - if you seek room to express the "free range chicken" in you...this may not work. But if you want an unbeatable UES location, super cozy rooms with high quality furnishings, set-up and amenities, then look no further. Be forewarned - your forearms will smack both sides of the room in one shot in the least expensive category. If you intend to be "out" and want a great bed...perfect. If you intend to camp in...maybe you will need a bigger space....

Room Tip: IF you need space - pay up a grade ...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Andrew G,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. We really appreciate you taking time out of your day to write a review about the hotel. We are really happy that you liked the super cozy rooms, the hotel amenities and the location.

We hope the next time you visit New York City that you think of us as your hotel of choice.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews