We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in super location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Franklin to your Saves list
The Franklin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128 (Upper East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #345 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel in super location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I recently stayed at THE FRANKLIN Hotel on the UES on 87th Streeet between Lexington and 3rd!! It's a great location for me as my Daughter just lives blocks and I could walk to and from her apartment everyday and night!! It's a wonderful neighborhood full of wonderful restaurants, coffee shops, bars, shops,.... It's safe and reasonably quiet! The hotel reminds me of a small, adorable European boutique hotel. There are only 50 rooms decorated beautifully with all the amenities you need. Terrific bed and soft comfy linens with lots of pillows with a flat panel TV on the wall! Luxerious bath products in the small but very adequate bathroom. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. In the morning, they offered a lovely continental breakfast in their 2 beautiful parlors, consisting of muffins, croissants, cereal, fruits, coffees, teas, and juices. In the late afternoon, they offered wines and cheeses. So lovely!!! I felt right at home and will definitely stay here again and again! Loved it!!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 71. It is larger than some of the others and very comfortable!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear dylynn,

Thank you very much for taking the time out to review the Franklin Hotel. We are super happy that you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff, breakfast, wine and cheese reception, and the location of the room. We pride ourselves on service and from the sounds of it we were spot on. This is wonderful news as our staff loves to assist guests with whatever they need.

We hope you will become frequent guest of the hotel since your daughter lives close by and you enjoyed staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    234
    102
    43
    39
See reviews for
94
234
88
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armonk, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Simply put - if you seek room to express the "free range chicken" in you...this may not work. But if you want an unbeatable UES location, super cozy rooms with high quality furnishings, set-up and amenities, then look no further. Be forewarned - your forearms will smack both sides of the room in one shot in the least expensive category. If you intend to be "out" and want a great bed...perfect. If you intend to camp in...maybe you will need a bigger space....

Room Tip: IF you need space - pay up a grade ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Andrew G,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. We really appreciate you taking time out of your day to write a review about the hotel. We are really happy that you liked the super cozy rooms, the hotel amenities and the location.

We hope the next time you visit New York City that you think of us as your hotel of choice.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is two blocks from where we live. We're having our bathroom redone and needed a place for two days. The room was comfortable and quiet which was a pleasant surprise given that the street below is busy. It may look like a side street, but there is commercial activity. The breakfast was good. We never tried the evening wine & cheese.

If you're a tourist wanting a reasonably priced basic hotel for sleeping that is convenient to Museum Mile AND to the 4, 5, 6 green-line subways it is worth considering. For upscale dining also try Madison Avenue. Several around 92nd Street. The shopping get increasingly expensive as you go south from 86th Street.

Room Tip: There is a definite European flavor. Looking at the floor plan at least two rooms have the sink in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Retired-to-Manhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Retired-to-Manhattan,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. We are so glad that we could accommodate you for two days while you made home improvements. It’s great to hear that the breakfast was good and that the room was quiet; as you must live in the area and can attest to the noise Manhattan streets can produce.

Please come back and see us again and we hope we can be the hotel of choice for your friends and family who come to visit you from out of town.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tejas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

After booking a small room I was offered a discounted upgrade to a petite suite (subject to availability, of course), which made this a fantastic value. The petite suite was still fairly small, but certainly big enough. Service was excellent and the location perfect. Only thing that wasn't stellar was the breakfast, however, you're practically surrounded by coffeshops and delis, so that didn't really matter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 000jesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear 000jesus,

Thank you very much for your kind words about the service our staff provided. I know the staff will be excited to know they made your stay enjoyable as they all pride themselves on providing excellent service. We hope the next time you visit NYC you think of the Franklin as your choice of hotel.

Thank you for your feedback as it helps us understand what our guests feel about the hotel and staff.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Compact room but luxurious linens and toiletries. Very good and abundant continental breakfast. Everyone on the staff more than willing to help. Notice many Europeans at the hotel. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nonad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear nonad1,

Thank you for taking your time out to review the Franklin Hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed our amenities, linen and breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next trip to NYC.

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great location, nice rooms, tasty breakfests!
Butique hotel so the atmosphere is a way different from that even with 4/5 stars hotels.
We stayed there 6 nights and will try to choose it again being in NYC

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Drear Pawel W,

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to write a review about the Franklin Hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you liked the location, the room, and breakfast provided by the hotel. We know there are many hotels from which you can choose from and we are delighted that you stayed with us. Next time you are in NYC we hope you stay with us again.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Be well,
David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Perfect location within steps of coffeeshops, restaurants, drug stores, and of course the subway. We had no trouble with cell phone or wifi. Enjoyed the 24 hr capaccino machine, free breakfast and wine and cheese happy hour. Bed was comfortable, bathroom while tiny was immaculate. A great choice for a city trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio room with king size bed, perhaps the bed takes up room space but we weren'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaskSunSeeker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david_sandler, Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear SaskSunSeeker2,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Franklin Hotel. We love to hear from every guest that stays with us and I assure you we take your feedback seriously. We agree that the Franklin is a great hotel that is in walking distance to many museums and fun areas in Manhattan. When you do visit NY again please think of us so we can make your stay more enjoyable.

Thank you again for taking the time out to help us get better at what we do.
All the best,

David Sandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#332 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#249 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#237 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#248 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,789 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#232 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,072 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#256 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Property: The Franklin
Address: 164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#229 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Central Park, the famed Museum Mile and Madison Avenue designer shops, The Franklin Hotel is the perfect Upper East Side getaway. Built in the 1930s, The Franklin Hotel is located at 164 East 87th Street. This romantic boutique hotel features 50 intimate guestrooms, daily complimentary continental breakfast from 7am-10am and daily wine & cheese reception from 5pm-6:30pm. Ideal for single travelers or couples, all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary NY Times & USA Today (in our lounge area), Philosophy bath amenities, and 24-hour cappuccino machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franklin Hotel New York City
Franklin New York City
Franklin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing