We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Single Room Occupancy”
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #386 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have never been in a hotel room as small as this! Comfortable bed, friendly staff, too high of a price for a hotel with the smallest closet (room for only 4 hangers) I have ever seen. One person can handle it but 2 ?????. Good location. Bring your in a plastic bag, as there is no room for luggage!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
There are newer reviews for The Franklin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 709 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

First impressions of this hotel weren't that promising, I have to admit. The lobby looks a little tired and run down. However, the rooms are clean, quiet and prettily decorated. The heating/aircon works and, while the service from the front desk can be a little... idiosyncratic, everyone was very helpful and good humoured. The bed was enormous (perhaps a bit too enormous for the room) and incredibly comfortable.

The location is great. It is right near the 4,5,6 line down to Midtown/Brooklyn and you can get anywhere quickly and easily from there. For a Manhattan hotel, it is great value.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 3rd floor are the quietest
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LulaBGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

GOOD: location (walking distance to subway and central park), breakfast, good bed, quiet neighborhood, very nice staff.
BAD: rooms are really small. Almost didn't have espace for our baggage.
.......................................................

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The perfect location on the Upper East Side. Walking distance to shopping, museums, and restaurants galore! Rooms are very small, but very nice and squeaky clean. So pretty with a chandelier above our bed. Linens are soft, bed rated 4/5 (we are spoiled by our latex mattress). We LOVED having the espresso machine downstairs! The staff was wonderful. We had a bit of a delay on check in, but this was due to some rude guests who ignored the check out time of 2pm, not the hotel staff who did everything they could to get rooms cleaned asap. We enjoyed exploring the neighborhood in the meantime and found a GREAT place to eat across the street, Cafe Bocado, where we ate a couple times a day. We absolutely will return to the Frankin the next time we are in NYC :)

Room Tip: Opt for a larger room if you really feel you want the space. And the back rooms on upper floors are...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katklop7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

PROS:
Location (walking distance to 4/5/6 (Green line) train station.
Safe, quiet neighborhood.
Breakfast (7-10am, cereal, pastries, yogurt, oranges, cheese, coffee, tea, juice).
Wine & cheese (5-6:30pm).
Coffee, tea (24/7).
Staff is very kind.
Bedding is wonderful!
Very clean (under the bed as well).
Beautiful lighting and vanity.
Very nice toiletries.
Vintage feeling with Art Deco elevator grills and buttons.
CONS
Rooms are very small (2 people with 2 suitcases is the max). If you’re a women’s size 12 or larger, this will feel incredibly cramped and you’ll have to shimmy sideways to get into bed. I'm pregnant right now and spent a full day sick in the hotel room while my husband was out. It was uncomfortably tiny.
Closet are 8” deep and hold a max of 2 coats (not heavy winter coats either) sideways.
No in room safes.
No clock radio so you better keep your phone close by if you need an alarm.
Only 1 accessible plug in. The other was on the wall blocked by the nightstand that couldn’t be moved because it was squished between a bed and a radiator cover.
Free WiFi but on the 7th floor we had little to no reception.
$12/day service charge. Not sure what for, and not covered by Hotwire’s ‘all in’ bidding system.
Pillows are the very fluffy, then compact down to a rather solid base. My neck and my husbands killed by the end of the trip. That’s more personal preference than anything though.

Would I stay again? Only if my stay was less than 2 nights (therefore not wanting to unpack my bag). For a 7 night stay, there was nowhere for us to drop shopping bags or leave more than 1 pair of shoes out. Unless you’re in the bathroom, two people can stretch out their arms and nearly touch hands going diagonally across the room. Now stay there for 7 nights … forget it.

Room Tip: Get the largest suite possible, or go solo. Rooms are too cramped for 'big boned' folks.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LianaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We loved our stay at The Franklin. It’s luxurious but small (so you better get along or keep busy outside in NYC). We loved the staff, Heavenly bedding and pillows, Bulgari toiletries, vintage vibe, complimentary and tasty breakfast, and cleanliness of the place. We also used the airport shuttle service through Hotwire and it was a great deal too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I recently spent six nights at The Franklin (which was extended due to hurricane Sandy). Yes the rooms are small, probably the smallest we have ever stayed in but they were spotless in every sense of the word. Really enjoyed the nice touches, breakfast ,cheese and wine in the afternoon and most importantly the coffee (24/7). During our stay the staff were very helpful and made us feel very welcome, many of them were equally stranded at the hotel due to the devestating weather and spirits were high! In an amazing location away from all the hussle and bustle, near central park and museums. Would definately go back. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#218 of 468 in New York City
768 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#283 of 468 in New York City
867 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#152 of 468 in New York City
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#226 of 468 in New York City
3,738 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#86 of 468 in New York City
1,884 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#245 of 468 in New York City
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Address: 164 E 87th St, Off Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10128-2206
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#222 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $166 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Central Park, the famed Museum Mile and Madison Avenue designer shops, The Franklin Hotel is the perfect Upper East Side getaway. Built in the 1930s, The Franklin Hotel is located at 164 East 87th Street. This romantic boutique hotel features 50 intimate guestrooms, daily complimentary continental breakfast from 7am-10am and daily wine & cheese reception from 5pm-6:30pm. Ideal for single travelers or couples, all guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary NY Times & USA Today (in our lounge area), Philosophy bath amenities, and 24-hour cappuccino machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franklin Hotel New York City
Franklin New York City
Franklin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing