We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased -- will be back soon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The James New York - NoMad
Ranked #372 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very pleased -- will be back soon”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My experience with off-brand hotels in NYC has been hit-and-miss, but I like boutique hotels when I'm on business and the new Marriott "Autograph" collection label helped a bit, so I gave them a try. I have to say, the hotel exceeded my expectations. Check-in was very friendly, and despite a somewhat cumbersome lobby (down a flight of stairs), the hotel was extremely convenient, comfortable, and clean. The only draw-back was the restaurant/bar, which were dark and a bit uncomfortable, but the food was good. My drink in the bar tasted watered down, but the bartender defensively gave me a "it's a standard two-ounce pour" so I figured out that I should take my drinking elsewhere. Other than that, it was a very nice experience, and I'm sure to be back.

Room Tip: higher floors are better, although I was on the 3rd, with a street-corner room and the noise at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnK1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfreeman1, General Manager at The James New York - NoMad, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you, Thank you! It is always our goal to exceed expectation and we are pleased to see we did it in this instance.
Please come back soon!
Vic Freeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    805
    377
    188
    122
See reviews for
321
769
145
530
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MAssachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We just love this hotel. We stayed earlier this year and were lucky enough to go back last weekend. For us, there's no need to stay anywhere else in the city - the location is perfect. We were on the 10th floor this time - able to see part of the Empire State Building and would love to stay in the room with the best view of the building some time. Front desk staff is, as always, wonderful - isn't that the goal, consistency and exemplary personal service? Their attention is genuine. The room was quite large, even with a king-sized bed. The valet staff is very patient and helpful - leaving our car at the front of the hotel and not worrying about it until we're ready to leave is liberating. We had breakfast before we made our way to the streets for the day - breakfast was not expansive. By comparison, we stayed at a Marriott in another city the night before and the breakfast was significant. That being said, it had all the basics and we were satisfied. We highly recommend this great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanghamLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfreeman1, General Manager at The James New York - NoMad, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Were so happy to read of your love for our hotel! We are very proud of our building and all of our staff. We look forward to your third visit.
Best regards,
Vic Freeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Was in town over Labor Day weekend. The concierge on Friday afternoon and the concierge on Saturday morning were both friendly and very helpful in planning our trips. Friendly, efficient service at the check in desk. The halls were a silvery grey, a cool escape from the heat of the day. Our room was ready even though we arrived about three hours early. Our room was Executive King and was bigger than I expected, based on NYC standards. I felt secure with the room key required to go to the room floors on the elevator. The location was centrally located for our destinations (Union Square, Upper East Side, Empire State Bldg, Williamsburg).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfreeman1, General Manager at The James New York - NoMad, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for spending your holiday weekend with us! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Vic Freeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
588 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

There are some very positive aspects. We had a suite with 625 sq ft.The beds were very
comfortable. The location is quiet and security is tight. Nice on site restaurant and lounge.
Pleasant staff and lots of storage in bathroom.
Downside...one water glass in the entire room, TV remote in living room only worked if you
stood up and got 2' from the sensor. Requested early housekeeping at 8:30am to be done
by noontime, came back at 2pm and it wasn't done, had to put in request again and wait
until 3pm to have room cleaned. After the cleaning found someone else's bill on the
dining table and breakfast crumbs still on the floor. Living room furniture consisted of a
horribly uncomfortable couch and a dining table and chairs for 6. Room did had a view of the
Empire State Building but could not see it because the blinds in the room were not working
They fixed the blinds but it was difficult to raise and lower them because the couch was
in front of the window. Tried to charge our cell phones overnight on the desk only to discover in the morning that those outlets didn't work. The cute little lights on the bed for reading
did not work. The lighting in the bathroom was dim at best. Be aware that Autograph
Marriotts are old hotels , this one is old and it shows. The Algonquin which is the same
brand is very old but in much better condition and better maintained.

Room Tip: Pay more for a large room and a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReddyBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfreeman1, General Manager at The James New York - NoMad, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
ReddyBro –
Thank you for your comments, we apologize for the shortcomings. Please note that “Autograph Collection” hotels are not all specifically old hotels. The brand itself celebrates diversity and all the properties that are part of the collection are very different and unique.
I hope you get to enjoy another one very soon.
Cheers,
Vic Freeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great service, hotel room was very clean and modern albeit a bit small (but I was expecting that given being in NYC), comfortable bed, neighborhood felt safe and hotel felt safe - you have to use your room key to use the elevator. The location is excellent, a block from the subway and a couple of blocks to the empire state building, and near Madison Square Park. There's a bunch of restaurants and bars close by and a block from Bread and Butter, which is great store if you need a late night snack. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dedegirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfreeman1, General Manager at The James New York - NoMad, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for the hotel. Please do visit us again soon. We are confident you will continue to be pleased.
Cheers,
Vic Freeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
206 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel. Even as you pull up, you see the concrete building and a friendly doorman. You enter this beautiful lobby, you have to descend a flight of stairs but there is modern charm everywhere. It's visually pleasing.

I checked in. Super easy. And headed straight to the room. On my way I noticed a room with a pool table. And a lounge that connected to the restaurant onsite.

The elevators are small. So it can be kind of cumbersome if you have lot's of luggage. Our room was 1036 which wasn't too far from the elevators.

2 gripes: Our view sucked (it was a wall) and there was this smell coming out of the pipes that wouldn't go away.

Unfortunately, all hotels nearby were sold out for the US Open and I couldn't get another room for the same rate. I would have to pay double to move. AND they were pretty much sold out. I got a king room for 3 people. luckily my two female friends are both under 5 feet. We fit decently.

The room had a bunch of nice looking accent. If it wasn't for the smell I'd say it was a sweet room. It was comfortable and it fit 3 people decently. I mean it wasn't like we were steppin on each other while getting ready.

Another plus: There's a pretty vibrant nightlife scene in this neighborhood. The Sunday we went to party there was a samba event at the hotel's restaurant (Milliesime) and it was cracking. Across the street was Pranna. Which sunday brunch was bananas and lots of fun. On the street behind the hotel there was 230 fifth. A rooftop club. And there was a bunch more places.

This is a great place for the young, hip and swanky. Lot's of gorgeous locales walking by lookin for a place to party.

I really liked this hotel: I would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfreeman1, General Manager at The James New York - NoMad, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We so glad to read of your intent to return. Thank you for writing about us. We are always pleased to read personal accounts from our guests stays.
Best regards,
Vic Freeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a grand old hotel but very hip. Great bar. We stayed there right after Marriott took over and so got a great deal. Sorry the prices have gone back up because we would Stay therr again in a heart beat. ( we Have ben back up three times since but rtes too high) . I had never tayed in ths area before and found that you can walk to many more interesting neighborhoods , parks and restaurants than I would have guessed.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfreeman1, General Manager at The James New York - NoMad, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you staying with us. We often have special offers and favorable rates available so please continue to check our rates and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Vic Freeman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#270 of 468 in New York City
284 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#49 of 468 in New York City
2,199 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#150 of 468 in New York City
2,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#160 of 468 in New York City
2,962 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#337 of 468 in New York City
770 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#132 of 468 in New York City
3,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York - NoMad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York - NoMad

Property: The James New York - NoMad
Address: 88 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016-7412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Green Hotel in New York City
#193 Family Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
#228 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A midtown Manhattan luxury boutique hotel located near the Empire State Building, Union Square and other New York City attractions. Offers vacation packages and special offers, as well as meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, HotelPower, Hotwire, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The James New York - NoMad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel New York City
Carlton Madison Avenue
Carlton On Madison Avenue Hotel
New York Carlton
Carlton Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing