We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, very nice, comfortable room.”
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Belvedere
Ranked #212 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Covington, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect location, very nice, comfortable room.”
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We arrived hours before the check-in time and were given our room right away. We had an executive king room. I think the "Executive" rooms are the ones recently renovated. The room opens to beautiful chocolate brown marble floors in the foyer, bath and small kitchenette. The kitchenette was nice to have - refrigerator, microwave, sink. The bath has nice products. The king sized bed was super comfortable with great linens. There is a chandelier over the bed, a desk/chair, a chair by the window, a flat screen TV and plenty of drawer/closet space. Very nice.

We had absolutely no trouble with any of the staff. All were very nice.

The location is very convenient to the Theater District and Times Square and a subway stop is close. We only really needed a cab for the airport runs.

If you are considering this hotel, you can rest assured you'll have a perfect stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sugottfried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,008
    2,374
    604
    210
    119
See reviews for
1,758
1,412
140
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dundee
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Stayed here for five nights . Fantastic location . Quick walk to Times Square . Approx 5 - 10 minutes. We stayed in an executive king. Room was well equiped. Fridge/ Microwave / Tea and Coffee supplied. Cleaned daily . Gray Line booking office just round the corner from Hotel . Highly recommend a tour of the city on tour bus .
. Helps you find all the locations you want to go back and visit. Take a good pair of walking shoes - we walked miles rather than use the subway . Great way to see new york. Would certainly visit this hotel again . Avoid eating in Times Square . very expensive for waht you get.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishtraveller96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

We considered lots of hotels but chose the Belvedere for it's location and mainly from the reviews on Trip Advisor. And we were defininitely not disappointed.
We had an executive King Room which was quite spacious with a lovely marble bathroom, nice toiletries and even a bathrobe.
The staff were very friendly and the maid service in the room was top class. We were short of nothing and it was spotlessly clean.
We were on the 17th floor and had a wonderful view especially at night time.
The kitchenette was wonderful, as it had a fridge, microwave and coffee maker.
Just one block away on the corner of 49th St and 8th Ave was a Food Emporium store, and we shopped here for breakfast supplies.
As has already been said, the location of the Belvedere is perfect...only a few minutes walk from Times Square and yet in a quiet enough street.
We stayed for a week and went to three Broadway shows, not one of them was more than a five minute walk from the hotel.
It was our first trip to New York and we had a brilliant time, and I don't think we would consider staying anywhere else on our next visit. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bannergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed here for three nights. We were in town to see some TV tapings and Broadway plays. The hotel location is outstanding and all the sights are right around the corner. Letterman is three blocks, Times Square is three blocks, and its all right here. The price was right. We would stay here again in a new york minute! Rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, and although somewhat small, the room was perfect. Very safe and doorman was attentive as was front desk staff. Great value in a city that can be very expensive.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigRubeMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

I stayed at the Belvedere in March 2009 with a friend from college. Loved it! Found a great deal through their website and couldn't pass it up. Was very convenient to Times Square and theatre district and just a short walk from 5th Ave. Room was ready upon arrival and we quickly checked in. Got a double room on the 14th floor, nice view of area. Room was slightly dated, but in my opinion still very nice. Room was clean and spacious enough for the two of us. We didn't spend much time in the hotel room but it was definitely sufficient for us during our trip. Bell hop was also nice and check out a breeze. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bam377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Belvedere Hotel is a beautiful, clean and affordable hotel centrally located to everything in NY. The desk staff were incredibly professional, courteous and helpful. The bellmen were the best I've ever seen - helpful in every respect. Concierge was helpful and had wonderful suggestions. Maid service was helpful and did an impeccable job with the rooms. The only thing negative in regards to the hotel were the elevators. Very small and slow - but there is an elevator down the hall, a service elevator, that we used more often than not and then it wasn't a problem at all. Our room was roomy, beautiful, tastefully decorated, with a nice sized bathroom and kitchenette. It exceeded our expectations and we would definitely stay here again because the whole experience was just wonderful. It was our first time to NY and we couldn't have been more happy with the accommodations.
I would suggest the Hop On/Hop Off bus tours. The stop is just down the street from the hotel and it is a wonderful form of transportation because all of the stops are located near sights worth seeing. The tour guides are incredibly informative with their knowledge of the history of NY. We learned something new every time we took this bus and we had the three day/one night loop pass.
Two of our favorite places to eat were Cafe Lalo (featured in the movie "You've Got Mail") and a very tiny restaurant called Rice and Beans (or was it Beans and Rice?). The food here was excellent! And we enjoyed the restaurant because it opened on to the street so we were able to people-watch.
Ellis Island is another "must see" - incredible place! And sunset from the Empire State Building was beautiful.
We loved NY and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri6869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for four nights and found it to be perfect for our needs. The location is brilliant - very close to Time Square but just far enough not to be disturbed by any noise. The room was very clean and comfortable though a little on the small side - but we only needed it for sleeping in! We found the staff very pleasant and the consierge and reception very helpful. Would certainly use it again and would recommend it for anyone looking for a central location at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoppetUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
5,059 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#155 of 467 in New York City
7,002 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 467 in New York City
5,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 467 in New York City
9,437 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
9,477 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Property: The Belvedere
Address: 319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1331
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#167 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing