We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our needs”
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Belvedere
Ranked #212 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Coppell, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect for our needs”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed a week at the Belvedere during Spring Break. I was trying to save a little money over the full service hotels where we normally stay. This hotel was great. Location was absolutely perfect - esp. for broadway shows. The rooms are decently sized for New York. The bathroom was nice although rather small with no shelving or storage. I requested a quiet room which it was for most days (better than many I've had in NY). However day 2 and 3 had major noise during the day (about 9am-5pm). One of those days we were trying to sleep in and it was so loud I called down to see what was going on. They were literally jack-hammering the wall out of the room next to us. They offered to move us but assured us the work was only during day hours for 2 days. We decided to stick it out and it did indeed end when promised. We found the staff very nice and accommodating. Room very clean. This place is no secret though - the lobby consistently crowded and the elevator situation is abysmal. 2 extremely small and extremely slow elevators. We were 6th floor so we could do stairs when needed - but if you have someone that has to use an elevator - think about that before choosing your room. Excellent stay considering location and price.

Room Tip: Consider the elevator situation when you choose a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,008
    2,374
    604
    210
    119
See reviews for
1,758
1,412
140
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel has a perfect location to everything in Midtown. 2 blocks from subway to get to Uptown and Downtown. ($2.50 one way. I was in communication with the hotel via email before I arrived with room requests, and information about transportation. They were prompt with their responses and would try to accommodate my with my room requests. Upon arrival, we had to wait for room (we arrived earlier than check-in time). We check our bags and took a walk. I needed a quiet room not past the 6th floor. They gave me room 526 which I was concerned about since it was it faced the street and was near a side elevator. I expressed my concern and they offered to change the room in the morning if I wasn't happy. It turned out to be quiet after all. I think I only heard the elevator 2x and it was during the daytime. The street sounds of a siren or two didn't disturb our sleep (and I am a light sleeper). All the noises were during the day. The room is a very good size for a NYC hotel. The bathroom had limited vanity space so you need to use the wood storage shelving they have in the closet directly across from the bathroom. It worked out great. The only real complaint I had was with the bathroom lighting. It was very difficult to put make up on and for hubby to shave (maybe they need to use brighter lighting) The shower head stream isn't the best, so be sure to turn the handheld on at the same time and point it to your body and it fills in the gaps of the shower head. It worked great for me. The Staff was wonderful! The hotel is very clean and the service was great. Ricky and Elizabeth went out of their way to make me happy! This hotel is priced very reasonably for it's location.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of rooms next to "side" elevators. If skyline view is not essential, l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margarita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We were a group of 5 who picked the location because it was central. There was no service. We had to take up our own dirty plates. One staff even had an attitude. The food selection was limited and there was nothing to write home about either.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TequilaVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLink, General Manager at The Belvedere, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear TequilaVancouver,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I’m sorry you were not satisfied with our breakfast service. The Belvedere Café offers self-service Continental and Full American breakfast buffets which are very popular among our guests. We have a wide variety of breakfast items including scrambled eggs, french toast, pancakes, bacon, sausage, breakfast potatoes, sliced turkey and ham, assorted cheeses, vegetable crudité, fruit yogurt, sliced and whole fruit, fruit danish, muffins, bagels, croissants, and assorted fresh juices. Our café staff services the buffet, clears and resets tables and accommodates all guest requests. Please contact me directly with any feedback or suggestion that would enhance our guest experience in the future.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The Belvedere, what a great experience for me and my family. Five nights stay which was very comfortable. Staff accommodated your every need, nothing was a problem. Great location in time square.Next time, in the big apple first stop Belvedere hotel.

Wilkinson family, London

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We stopped over for 2 nights in November. The location is just perfect, we walked up right from Time Square to Central Park from here. Tons of places to eat around, crisp and efficient, affordable rooms. Perfect base camp for exploring NY

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Krishna316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

My husband and I went into NYC to celebrate my birthday. Upon our arrival we found out there was no power in the hotel. URGH... However, the staff was well composed and attentive to our concerns as I kept saying it's my birthday and I must take a shower before going to see a show. Con Edison and firefighters were busy trying to fix problem so all we could do was understand. Once power was restored there were several people trying to check in, so it was very busy. Ryan and Jance (I think that's her name but I apologize if it isn't) were fantastic and made sure we were on time to see our show. Such an organized staff in a stressful situation and they were all great! They are on a side street but don't let that deter you from this gem because the staff is what make this place such a gem! Besides they are within walking distance to everything!!

Room Tip: Always try to go higher up so noise won't bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubigirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel is in a good location and the rooms are a decent size. That ends my kindness.
The elevators are slow and so tiny! The hallways stink! I found out when we were checking out that people actually live full time in the hotel in various rooms throughout. From these apartments come the smells of lots of different foods...none of them seem tasty. Made me feel sick.
The service elevator was beside our room. So loud, it kept my husband up all night.
We will not be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginnelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
5,059 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#155 of 467 in New York City
7,002 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 467 in New York City
5,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 467 in New York City
9,439 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
9,477 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Property: The Belvedere
Address: 319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1331
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#167 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing