We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“First rate location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Belvedere
Ranked #208 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“First rate location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hotel was a lovely surprise. Warm and quiet with a convenient location for all that midtown/theatre district is famous for. Close to all the major theatres so you could walk easily and safely after dark. The concierge was amazing and could get you tickets to shows, games, ferry cruises, you name it! The rooms are generous and there is even a little fridge which is a GREAT plus for keeping milk for your coffees or even making a cereal breakfast in your own room. Only downside is the lifts are slow and always seem to be full by the time they get to you anyway. We were on the 14th floor, so we always went down the stairs and kept the lifts for going back up! "Mickey Spillane's" around the corner has wicked nachos and frozen margaritas all-day for $5...how can you possibly go wrong?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,788
    2,110
    523
    185
    112
See reviews for
1,505
1,220
125
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have stayed at the Belvedere many times, and it never disappoints! The location is terrific, and it is always a good value! Though there are many wonderful people on staff, I have to give a special recognition to Louis who helped us with our bags and recognized me as a returning customer! He was so friendly! We saw him other times during the stay, and he always was a bright spot in our day. He could give lessons to us all about how to make others feel special! Thanks, Louis, and thanks, Belvedere, for another outstanding visit to NYC. You are my "go to" hotel, my favorite hotel in my favorite city. See you next trip!

Room Tip: Tell Louis that Cathie said hello. Enjoy the doormen and bellboys! Great service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I spent hours researching hotels for our visit to New York and finally settled for the Belvedere. I was looking for somewhere close to Broadway/Times Square, reasonable price, good reviews. The Belvedere exceeded expectations. We had a spacious executive room with two double beds. Though on the seventh floor and near the lift, we heard no noise from either the lift or traffic. The heating/ aircon was very effective, and the coffee machine was a bonus. The room was spotless as was the beautiful marble bathroom. The complimentary Penhaligon toiletries were divine. We were on a room only basis but enjoyed visiting nearby diners for delicious breakfasts. The situation for visiting popular sites was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BickertonBlanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Other than they charge for wi-fi connection (I mean seriously - who still does this?), it was a great place to stay just off Times Square. Staff were fantastic, and everything was clean and classy. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: A view of the street means you will hear the garbage truck. And, make sure you specify to not be acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I returned to NYC in March this year (2014) previously there 2013. After a lot of researching accommodation we decided on The Belvedere, we were sold on the size of the rooms,and the closeness to Time Square, it's a great location.
Hell's Kitchen is a nice change to the busyness of Time square, the local bars & restaurants are typically what I imagine NYC to have.
The staff at the belvedere were nice, the gentleman at concierge was very helpful & knowledgable.
Absolutely love getting back after a cold busy day to wine & hot tasty nibbles.
Our room was great, nice warm cosy beds, hot shower, great in- room facilities - fridge microwave & bench space - so we were able to shop groceries at Walgreens to have in our room.
I would recommend & have told my travel agent to recommend The Belvedere to other travelers .
Amanda

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank nyc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

In a great location. Close to everything. Your basic hotel. Nothing too fancy. Great staff. Although the menu was farely expensive. But it is situated right next to a womderful little restaurant that I spent breakfast, lunch & dinner majority of days.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Shalee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Came for theater, so hotel is ideal location. Room very nice, opted for executive king. Staff nice, helpful. Room clean and well maintained. Would stay here again. Lots of restaurants nearby. Room 1719 on top floor has good view of local city. Close to fire station so that may bother some. With windows closed is not bad. That's just part of NYC ambiance.

Room Tip: Choose high floor to get away from some of the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#139 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,090 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#159 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,795 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#300 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 7,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#314 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 10,945 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#242 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,520 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#362 of 478 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Property: The Belvedere
Address: 319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#166 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#169 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Otel, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing