We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location at The Belvedere”
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Belvedere
Ranked #218 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I booked this hotel for a week for my family of six, two rooms. The location is awesome if you want to be close to the restaurants and shopping. The subway is very close by and you can get a great rate if you choose the unlimited subway for five days or more. The hotel itself was very clean and a good sized room with two beds. Not much scenery but that's not what you book this hotel for, as long as it's clean, it's all good. The two negatives is the elevators are small and slow, and the internet that you have to pay for per day is very sporatic. I paid $45 for six days and I would suggest that the hotel hire a professional tech person to fix their internet service so that the customer doesn't get cut out of the internet service that the customer pays for, only to get cut off every two minutes or so. It was frustrating to go online and get cut off. You have to keep logging in all the time, so the hotel really needs to get that fixed because they charge for their internet service. Otherwise, the hotel is nice and clean and easy walking distance to food and shopping.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poipugirl7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLink, General Manager at The Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I'm happy to hear you found our location to be convenient. Many of our guests agree and have commented on our great location. I'm sorry to hear that your internet connection was not up to par and that you had to keep logging in. I did receive some complaints a few weeks ago and we had our technicians troubleshoot. There was an issue with one of the access points which we had replaced immediately and I have not received any complaints since. Thanks again for your comments. I hope you will come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,407)
There are newer reviews for The Belvedere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,683 - 1,689 of 5,408 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

You can't always trust reviews, because everyone is looking for something special. However, on a recommendation from a family member we chose the Belvedere. The location at 48th and 8th is perfect for access to everything. Subway just around the corner at 50th and 8th, for travel anywhere.
The hotel itself is very well kept. We had an upgrade to an executive king and the bed, linens, towels, amenities were all excellent.
Staff was most hospitable, greeting all who came in the door, the bell men opened doors, the housekeeping staff said good morning etc.
breakfast was served in a glorious deco room with hot and continental selections.
Concierge friendly and helpful.
Elevators are slow but it's usually the result of guests unloading and loading.
We will stay there again in a heartbeat and have already recommended it to friends.
Thank you Belvedere!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

I booked the Belvedere, cautiously after reading the reviews. We stayed a week at the belvedere and to be honest I have no negatives. Staff were great, room cleanliness was great. We stayed on the 15th floor with amazing views of the city. I think the upper levels may be refurbished, but this is only a presumption based on reading other peoples reviews. The room we stayed in was a Executive King room. Super king size bed, flat screen TV Etc Etc. The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring midtown and slightly uptown, maybe as far as MONH is within comfortable walking distance. I also like that it is close to TS but not so close that the sidewalks are swarmed with tourists. The Bus authority is about 5 blocks walk.

Thank Bluenose1984
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I've used this hotel each year for the past 3, and I will use it again.

It's got a gat location, just have to walk to the end of the road and you're pretty much at Times Square.

The staff have been polite and helpful on my visits.

The rooms are a nice size for those in the city, some can be small to stay in for the week but not this one. The rooms I've had before have also included microwaves and refrigerators.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LTrain09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the theatre district. I was traveling with my sister and this was her first time in New York City. I was pleasantly surprised with the size of our room, quite big by New York City standards. I loved the mini-kitchen area, with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and even cupboard space, all set off from the bedroom. The entire staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
A previous reviewer had commented on that fact that the doormen were never there to open the door, or just stood around doing nothing. This was not our experience, we were in and out several times a day during our visit and unless the doors were sitting open(due to the great weather while we were there)a doorman was always available to open the door with a friendly smile and greeting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeeMWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Comfy clean and roomy we had a great 5 day stay at the Belvedere New York close to Time Square and all facilities and very friendly staff and breckie was good also Judy O'Sullivan Australia October 2013

Room Tip: Try to go as high as you can we were on 7 and a bit noisy we just said added to New York experience.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judithos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was at Belvedere for the third time , ans as usual , I have wonderfull days .
Near to Times Square and subway station , the localization is great .
Big rooms , with microwave and refrigerator . You can have quiet nights .
All staff try to attend all your needs.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank alexandrefiuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 468 in New York City
7,185 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#127 of 468 in New York City
5,226 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#78 of 468 in New York City
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#264 of 468 in New York City
4,735 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#312 of 468 in New York City
9,674 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 468 in New York City
9,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Address: 318 w 48th street, New York City, NY 10036-1331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#161 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#164 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $170 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing