We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Location, Location In Midtown Manhattan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Belvedere
Ranked #211 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Location, Location In Midtown Manhattan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our first visit to New York City was made easier by staying in such a well located hotel. Less than 2 blocks from Time Square and in the Theatre District. The restaurants of Hell's Kitchen are also only a 2 block walk. Subway stations to anywhere in the 5 boroughs are all within 2 blocks. Rockefeller Centre, Radio City and Central Park are an easy walk. The hub for the sight-seeing buses is just around the corner.

This hotel is great value. It offers a fairly quiet location, clean, well-appointed rooms with very comfortable beds and very good customer service. Our room was an Executive King, so we enjoyed a large room (for Manhattan) with a king bed, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker and a bar sink. The bathroom had marble tiled floors and walls, a tub with shower and stone counter top. As an Executive room it also came with free Wi-Fi. Some reviews complain the elevators are slow. We were on the 11th floor, so we noticed that, but it wasn't a big issue for us. They have a "governor" on the TV volume, which I can understand, but it's set so low you can't hear the TV when the air conditioner kicks in, or there are emergency vehicles nearby. Avoid using the internet in the main floor Business Centre. It's shockingly expensive!

Definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly book it again for a future trip.

Room Tip: The Executive King room is amply-sized and has a separate nook for the kitchenette. The bathroom is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,893
    2,227
    572
    202
    116
See reviews for
1,632
1,315
132
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Belvedere for the first time in October 2013. The room I had was the largest hotel room I have ever had in NYC and it did not come with the commensurate rate. The staff was helpful and the overall amenities were very nice. My room came equipped with a microwave and a mini refrigerator, which was good, but I didn't really use them. In sum, it was a good place to stay, located where i needed to be and easy to get in and out of it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NextBestThing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The location of the Belvedere is perfect, close to 9th ave restaurants, subways, theatres and Times Square. The check-in was quick, with the staff being very friendly and efficient. The rooms were a good size, the bed extremely comfortable. A quick phone call, and a softer pillow was delivered within minutes. We had free wifi included with our package and found we had a better connection if we stood near the door. We stayed for 8 days on the 17th floor away from 48th st. We heard occasional sirens but this did not bother us as I think nowhere in New York is immune.
We had a wonderful stay at the Belvedere and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We were on the 17th (top) foor and found it very suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed the stay. Location was just great. We walked to Time Square, Central Park and Broadway. The room was clean and well appointed.The staff were friendly and it was a quick check in. There was plenty of variety for breakfast. Hot and cold food. There were plenty of places to eat near by. The only complaint was the air con was noisy.

Room Tip: We had an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiley1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

A very pleasant, smallish hotel in an excellent location. Very close to Times Square so easy to go to many good Broadway shows. Also within walking distance of Central Park. Nice having a fridge in room and coffee facilities. Very large comfortable bed,although bathroom small but adequate. Staff very helpful at all times. I would be very happy to stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
244 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights at the Belvedere on a theatre trip to New York. The location was great for getting to the theaters and the tkts booth on Broadway and 46th street. The room was spacious, clean and always made up when we came back to the hotel after breakfast. There were many restaurants close by and the staff was friendly and helpful. We got discount room through Hotwire so for New York it was reasonable. There was a business office where you could have free computer access to print airline boarding passes which was a nice touch. We really had no complaints

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psmilsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My stay was a tad unusual since my original hotel did not hold my reservation and belvedere was the alt hotel. Loved the location, and beds were dreamy. The breakfast was fab. Thank you for taking care if us, we were feeling frustrated and anxious because of the situation. The belvedere was the oasis for us

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjs536rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,439 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#156 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,280 reviews
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#257 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#328 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13,516 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#296 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,052 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#307 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Property: The Belvedere
Address: 319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1331
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#166 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#169 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and Travelocity so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing