We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel unfair bellman”
Review of Belvedere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belvedere Hotel
Ranked #223 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel and it was brill,
next to time square what a location,
The problem is the bellman was always looking for tips which is understandable,

But we gave him a tip once on the basis he got us a 7 seater shuttle bus to bring us to the airport,
At 5.00pm a taxi came, it was a tiny taxi,
We just accepted it because we were in a rush very unfair)

Room Tip: pick front of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alfie_flynnzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,854 - 1,860 of 5,578 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

I would highly recommend the Belvedere Hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Amenities included a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron, and hair dryer and great smelling shampoo and conditioner! The Belvedere is in a great location; within walking distance to theatres, Times Square and restaurants. Booked through hotels.com and got a great rate. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed in the Belvedere for long weekend (Thu -Mon). A couple of other reviewers have mentioned a need for a decor refresh, which is true, but this is such a minor concern compared to the excellent standard of service that it's not worth dwelling on. In addition, the location is just perfect for NYC but if you are reading this review, you already know where the hotel is. What you won't know is the excellent service you get. All the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. A great concierge that seems to know just about anything you could need to ask and will answer your question, then give you the answer in a print out so you can refer to it later. Can you recommend a restaurant near by?, Sure, here's a list that covers the best 10!!. Beds are comfortable, TV has good selection of channels, room is cleaned to a high standard but they will go green and not replace your towels if you don't want them to, air conditioning is very efficient and easy to control, coffee maker is good, microwave is in each room but we didn't use it (basic cutlery and plates would have been appreciated), good hair dryer, excellent shampoos, etc..., late check out on request... Etc... Etc.. I could go on. There is a Brazilian Churiscaria that is connected to the hotel (and not the one on the corner of 48th) but I will review that separately. All in all an excellent choice of hotel in which I will definitely stay again next time I am in NYC.

Room Tip: Only saw one room so can't comment. Info:- it costs $59 to get a yellow taxi from JFK to Belvede...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The-Travel-eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I would highly recommend the Belvedere Hotel. Very clean, staff was wonderful and the room was just beautiful. Plenty of space, with small frig, microwave, sink area. Situated on a small quiet street and perfectly located to all theaters. Time Square is only 1 block away, many attractions and many, many fine restaurants all within walking distance. This was our first trip to NYC and we will difinetely stay at the Belvedere Hotel again. Can't wait to visit the city again.

Room Tip: Our room was located on the 17th floor, and was clasified as an executive king suite. Had a beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Over expensive hotel for the services and room provided. Beds were comfortable but the room was way too small. Wi-fi connectivity was really bad . But they would probably give you the room before the check in time if they have it available.

Room Tip: Recommend spending some more money and getting a room in one of the branded hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Utkarsh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My family and I stayed at The Belvedere for our first trip to NYC in 2007. When planning a girl's trip to the city for Labor Day weekend of 2013, it was a no-brainer which hotel we would stay at - The Belvedere! This hotel really offers it all. It is so centrally located to the theater district, Times Square, 5th Ave shopping, Central Park and Hell's Kitchen. At the same time though, it's located on a nice quite street to give you a break from the craziness of the city. The rooms are pretty large compared to most NYC hotels. I have seen some people complain about the elevators, but both trips, I never had to wait more than 2 minutes for an elevator. Overall, I have absolutely no complaints. I adore this hotel and cannot wait to stay with them again!

Also, if you're looking for a great Broadway musical while visiting, you must check out 'First Date.' The theater is located on 48th Street as well and is literally less than a 5 minute walk away. Plus, it will have you dying from laughter!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This New York City hotel cost us twice the amount per night that we paid in all other hotels around the east coast this summer, and still we feel that we got considerably less. Moreover, this hotel doesn't serve any breakfast, we had to pay for internet access and the air conditioner didn't quite work (which is quite critical in July). All in all, we were rather disappointed. The only upside was its location - 5 minutes walk from Time Square.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drn304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 473 in New York City
7,522 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#162 of 473 in New York City
5,715 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 473 in New York City
10,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#281 of 473 in New York City
12,056 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#103 of 473 in New York City
554 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#304 of 473 in New York City
5,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Hotel

Address: 319 W 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
#160 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $135 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belvedere Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belvedere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing