We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There's a cockroach in my room!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Belvedere
Ranked #207 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“There's a cockroach in my room!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel because of its location - just beside Times Square and walking dist to Hell's Kitchen and 5th avenue.

What freaked me out was a huge cockroach that appeared right beside the bed. Called room service who managed to catch it but it is still unacceptable.

Other than that, hotel was normal with slow lifts (only 2) and curtains which I did not manage to find out how to pull it. Room was spacious

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepwalker85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLink, General Manager at The Belvedere, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay. I’m sorry to hear there was a bug in your room. We take this issue very seriously. In the rare event that an unwanted pest is reported in one of our guestrooms, we immediately call our pest control professionals for extermination. I’m sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.
I also apologize for the slow elevator service during your stay. One of our 4 elevators is out of order due to a mechanical issue and elevator upgrade. We have been working closely with the company that services our elevators and we should have it back in service by next week. Thank you for your patience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,970
    2,326
    589
    205
    117
See reviews for
1,713
1,377
138
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (732)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davie, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The best stay we have had in NYC - great location, impeccably clean, friendly helpful staff, beautiful view of the city at night - will come again soon. Easy walking to museums, Rockefeller Center, Times Square - and easy access to tour busses and train stations. Enjoyed the little restaurant next door - fun at night and great for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamson, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Belvedere Hotel on W 48th St. is in a very convenient location with many good restaurants and the theater district nearby. The hotel is clean and very well managed. The personal are all very friendly and helpful and there is a mini kitchen in each room. We were very pleased and happily recommend it for the west side of Manhattan.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLink, General Manager at The Belvedere, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Beverly V.,
Thank you for the great comments about our hotel and staff. I'm happy to hear you had a pleasant stay and hope you will visit us again soon!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My girlfriends and I spend 4 nights at the Belvedere and had a great time. The location is fabulous--walking distance to Central Park, Times Square and Shopping. The staff is friendly and helpful, the beds are so comfortable and the breakfast at the café is great! With a 4 night stay we got 20% off an already reasonable rate. The elevators are slow but not a huge problem. My friends and I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: You might want to be on one of the lower floors as it can be a wait for the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJM1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed for five nights in an executive room. Great location, really good sized room, lovely bathroom, handy kitchenette, good view, clean. We were on the 11th floor. At times lifts were slow but didn't overly bother us. Breakfast was plentiful and we never had to wait for a table, we went at various times throughout our stay. For what you pay and get elsewhere I thought the Belvedere was really good, especially room size. Would defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you get a good rate go for an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ka2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, Oregon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013. We had 2double beds in a spacious room by New York standards. Room was clean and quiet. Bathroom was nice, recently renovated with good water pressure in the shower. Air conditioning was good, but we mostly just kept the windows open. The "kitchen" was really not. The coffee maker was really just the typical hotel room size with packets of creamer and sugar. Nice to have a fridge for leftovers.

The elevators were always busy, crowded and hot. Not sure why they wouldn't allow passengers on the 2 freight elevators at each end of the hallway. That would shorten the wait.

Didn't try the on site restaurant, but liked the neighboring Pizano family restaurant ( not sure that was the exact name) for an inexpensive breakfast. Owner and his sister were delightful and food was decent.

The location of the hotel was perfect. Right in the heart of Times Square area, but on a quieter side street. I'd recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cabernt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I travelled to NYC April 25 to the 29th. First off what a great city. I booked a couple of hotels and by continuing to check got what was a pretty decent rate for the 4 nights. The Belvedere is about 2 blocks or so from Time Square and walking distance to everywhere. The location is so convenient that we didn't use a cab once. We stayed in the executive room which included upgraded bathroom and wifi. The room (although it overlooked the back or tops of other units) was perfect. Quiet enogh off the main street, king size bed, tv, etc. I would recommend the not have the TV volume blare so loud when it is turned on and provide a channel guide. We were on the 5th floor and had no complaints on the elevator service, most times, we walked down to the lobby and no issues riding up. Chris on concierge was very helpful in our quest for touring around. Suggested places for dinner and how to get around town. We wanted to walk the Brooklyn Bridge and his suggestion to subway into Brooklyn and walk back across was perfect. Can't comment on the restaurants as we were out all the time. Central Park is very close but remember, you can walk anywhere. One day we walked down to the HI Line bridge, back to 23rd and then down to Century 21...tiring but worth it. I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sergio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,781 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,786 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#306 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#285 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,795 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,836 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#340 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Property: The Belvedere
Address: 319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#165 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#168 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing