We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best location you can get” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Belvedere
Ranked #207 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best location you can get”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

First time I go to this hotel, and the location is almost perfect, can walk to subway with few minutes, ton of restaurant around, shopping is all over the place. Room is nice and clean, has all the things that you expect.
The only thing that I don't like is the elevator is too small and only 2 is available, if you are in the middle floor, you might wait long long time. And the check in might be 4pm sharp.

Room Tip: either the top floor or the lower one that you can walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,944
    2,286
    585
    203
    117
See reviews for
1,677
1,358
137
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

From all the reviews I read, I was under the impression that Times Square would be within walking distance but I didn't realise how close...it's pretty much a 2minute walk from all the action. The hotel isn't the fanciest I've stayed in but it has everything you need and the staff are extremely helpful, especially considering we had trouble with our travel agent back in Australia stuffing up our booking! Thanks Enita and Ann for your kindness. The bed was an extremely comfortable place to rest your weary body after NY sucks all the energy from you but other than sleeping there's really no need to be in your hotel in NY. I would definitely stay here on my next visit and recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view maybe cause that's the only disappointment I found was that I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rxqueenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I did find this hotel to be nice, clean and comfortable. Like others said, the elevator is a problem, luckily I was on the 5th floor so the stairs were not too big of deal. I didn't spend much time there, but I was very comfortable when getting back to room late at night. Everyone was very nice and helpful. There is a wonderful Italian restaurant just steps away that we enjoyed, especially our 9 year old, they paid him a lot of attention and he liked that (as did we)! I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Lower floor so you can use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at the Belvedere for 4 nights in early October 2012. The location was great for walking to Times Square, Rockefeller Plaza and Central Park. Access to the subway is also nearby. Hotel room was clean and staff was courteous. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Talena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights last week, we got there early and they gave us 2 of our rooms early and then 10 minutes later made sure our 3rd room was ready. The location was great and the service was great. We all loved the hotel and would defiantly come back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaMoore123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent a week in New York mid April 2013.
Having stayed in West 48th street previously, but one avenue nearer Times Square, we were happy with the location, although we would not like to have gone any further West as we feel the quality decreases as you move back away from Times Square.
The staff in The Belvedere were very attentive and helpful and the rooms we had, one at the back and one at the front of the building, were both good but varied quite a bit.
Our friends were at the back and had a larger room with a larger bathroom and the room had been updated. Ours was not as updated, was smaller and had a smaller bathroom but WOW, did we have a view, especially at night!!
The location meant that within a couple of minutes walk we were smack in the middle of Times Square, one of the best known city areas in the world.
One draw back of being at the front is the proximity to the Fire House, which received a call every single morning early on, so noise was a bit of an issue. A the back they didn't seem to hear this. That said, at the back they had a view of roof tops (we were on the 17th floor).
Didn't try the restaurant as New York has so many places to eat that it would not have felt right to stay in the hotel.
Lifts were a bit of an issue as, despite there being 4 lifts feeding our floor, they always seemed to take an age to arrive.
In your room you will find a small kitchen with kitchen sink, fridge, coffee machine and microwave, however you will not find a cup (other than a cardboard one) you will not find a plate, a knife or even a spoon. We asked at reception if we could at least have a tea spoon and they brought us a couple of plastic spoons.
If you want a proper cup, do what we did and get a couple of mugs from a shop just to the right when you turn onto Times Square for $2.99 each.
The concierge was also very helpful to us, pointing out that it would be cheaper for the four of us to get a Taxi to the airport when we enquired about the hotel shuttle.
I was disappointed to find that wifi access would have cost nearly $11 for one day.
Overall, I think the hotel was a good choice and I would stay again.

Room Tip: For the view, go for the front on a high floor, for the quite, go for the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at The Belvedere very much for 4 nights (11th -15th April 2013).
Close to everything in mid town Manhattan. Front desk staff were courteous and friendly. Concierge was excellent. Room was clean and very well maintained, comfortable king size bed, kitchenette with mini fridge, microwave (very handy) and coffee filter maker. My newly renovated executive king room on the 15th floor also included complimentary fast WiFi and internet access, local phone calls, upgraded amenities, the hotel is literally minutes from Broadway, Fifth Ave, Rockefeller Center and Times Square. Recommend and would consider staying again, thank you staff for a very pleasant stay at The Belvedere.

Room Tip: Room Tip: Newly renovated executive king rooms on the upper levels, these rooms include complimentar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,631 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#152 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,566 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#311 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8,841 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#337 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14,953 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Property: The Belvedere
Address: 319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#166 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#169 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing