We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but close to Times Sq”
Review of Belvedere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belvedere Hotel
Ranked #221 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed four nights in this conveniently located hotel just 5 minutes walk from Times Sq. The rooms were confortable and roomy but badly in need of a face lift. Our bath was chipped and the the decor was overdue for a fresh makeover. However it was clean and convenient except for the lifts (elevators). There were 2 direct to the lobby and at peak times (breakfast and check out) the wait for an empty one was unacceptably long (around 5 minutes). There is another one at the end of the corridor but there was no sign to tell you.
Recommend you have breakfast at Patzeria (just 8 doors down the street) if you are a tourist. Both Joe and his sister were very friendly and printed off ideas for places to visit and how to get there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickm45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLink, General Manager at Belvedere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Nick07,
Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay at the Belvedere. We offer competitive rates for our renovated executive rooms which are comparable to the rooms in many 4 star properties in NYC. We also offer standard rooms at a lower rate than our executive rooms. As many of our guests have commented, our standard rooms are a great value, clean and offer many of the same amenities as the executive rooms but have not been completely renovated. Guests who prefer current decor and design and don’t mind paying a slightly higher rate should book our executive rooms. I hope you’ll try one of our executive rooms on your next visit to New York City. I’m sure you’ll be pleased.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,229 - 2,235 of 5,583 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

We brought our daughter and 5 of her friends for her sweet 16th birthday, the hotel was ok, old TV's, window air conditioners and not so pretty views, but we were mostly out and about, our stay was only 1 night, but long enough to bring home some very unwanted critters! I have only heard of bed bugs, but now we have a first hand experience, it took 2 weeks for us to realize we had a problem, by then our home was infested !! this is gross and very costly to get rid of !! We will never return to this hotel !!!!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
13  Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLink, General Manager at Belvedere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Allison R.
When you called initially to report that you had bed bugs when returning from your trip, we immediately called our exterminating company to inspect the rooms that you stayed in. The exterminating company did a thorough inspection of the rooms that you stayed in and found no sign of bed begs. Even after discussing this in great detail with the Director of Operations, you continue to insist you got the bed bugs from the hotel and unfairly posted this review. As recently reported by many news sources, bed bugs have been found in many locations including popular retail chains, movie theaters, public transportation vehicles, restaurants and schools. I’m not certain where you picked up the bed bugs, but based on the results of the inspection that was performed, I am certain it was not at the Belvedere. We have a very aggressive treatment program in place. When there is any report of bugs or insects in the hotel we immediately call for an inspection of the area, and if there are any signs of any bug, insect or pest, we immediately have the area exterminated. We also have regular maintenance treatments performed by our outside extermination company. There is a higher than usual incident of bed bug infestations in New York City, and no hotel is exempt. I am confident that our aggressive extermination program addresses this issue so that our guests are ensured a safe and comfortable stay free of any bug infestations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I usually don't write reviews, but I wanted future travelers to The Belvedere how great our stay was. We originally booked a hotel in New Jersey and were going to commute to the city. After hearing about how much of a hassle it would be, I found this hotel. Yes, it was more than Jersey hotels but it was well worth it. You are close to everything. Our executive room was great. Which is recommended over the standard rooms. This is a great is great!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YeaThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Large room & bathroom. Hotel had a 3 1/2 star rating but I think it was a 4 star. King bed, plenty of counter space in the bathroom. Wet bar w/sink, sm frig, microwave & coffee maker. Very pleased with front desk, check in and room. We used the guest laundry and it was very clean and all machines worked well. Only 2 blocks off times sq. but very quiet! Walked to the Majestic Theatre, Rockerfeller Center & subway station! Great location and great hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinchdpeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLink, General Manager at Belvedere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Belvedere. I use every tool available to get honest and accurate feedback from our guests and I'm happy to hear you were pleased with the hotel and the service you received. Thank you also for considering the Belvedere a 4 star property. We do everything possible to exceed our guest's expectation and I'm thrilled that your experience was outstanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were on a short break travelling the East Coast. We were given a double aspect room overlooking the roof tops and the Hudson river. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The concierge service was excellent. The breakfast was unappetising. This an excellent location for sightseeing on foot or using the subway. Plenty of local stores with excellent ranges of foods at reasonable prices to choose from.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quietc0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Super midtown location, nice staff, big sized rooms and good facilities - gym, laundry, fridges in rooms. Suited the whole family - including the kids and grandparents... Would recommend highly having stayed and paid much more for other, lesser quality hotels in NYC...:)

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Delamer57e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLink, General Manager at Belvedere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thanks for your feedback. I'm happy to hear you had a great stay and thank you for highly recommending the Belvedere!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our first time staying at the Belvedere. What a great location! Just a short walk to many theatres, Time Sq. & Central Park. Also liked the fact that our room had a microwave, small fridge & coffee maker. Staff were always pleasant, helpful, and attentive. We stayed in one of the executive rooms which looked newly renovated - furnishings were lovely - very cosy. Of course, the room was fairly small - but that is to be expected. Beds were very comfortable. Had a problem with the air conditioning upon our arrival -- the problem was promptly taken care of - always appreciate such good service! Makes your vacation that much more enjoyable. Will definitely return here!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canada1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLink, General Manager at Belvedere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Canada1019,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Belvedere Hotel. I'm happy you were pleased with your stay and the services you received. Although you rated us outstanding for location, sleep quality, rooms, cleanliness and service, I see that you were not as impressed with the value of your stay (rated average). Please let us know how we can improve on this for your next visit so we can ensure you have an overall "Outstanding" experience. I look forward to hearing from you.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 473 in New York City
7,531 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#159 of 473 in New York City
5,719 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 473 in New York City
10,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 473 in New York City
12,077 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#102 of 473 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#307 of 473 in New York City
5,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Hotel

Address: 319 W 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
#160 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $135 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belvedere Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belvedere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing