We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #196 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 22, 2009

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights on a mini-vacation and the Algonquin was very nice! Very clean and comfortable! Yes, the room was smallish, but who cares when you are in the middle of NYC! We especially loved the bathroom shower which had great water pressure, which is a nice change these days!

The location is great...walking distance to everything. Like most hotels in NYC it can be pricey, but if you need a nice basic breakfast with normal prices, there is a nice cofffee shop right next door.

We loved the Algonquin and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RRSAMIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,983)
There are newer reviews for The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,618 - 1,624 of 1,983 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2009

We love the Algonquin! The concierges are wonderful, the location is amazing, and the decor is classy and cozy! The rooms are on the small side, but who stays in their room all day?! If you are in New York City and sitting in your room a majority of the time, we feel sorry for you!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank earthalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Check out The Blue Bar for classic cocktails and first class service. Ask for Christian behind the bar--he is amazing.

Stayed: January 2009
1  Thank moderne-ist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2008

My husband and I went up to NYC for Thanksgiving and stayed one night in the Algonquin, and the next in the Sheraton...I wished we had stayed both nights at the Algonquin!

The good:
Location: Just a block away from Times Square, easy walk from Penn Station, down a side street that feels a little less chaotic than staying right in Times Square.

Rooms: Small, but very nice. The bed was comfortable, the TV (flat screen) was great, the bathroom, even though small was nice and had bath and body works toiletries. There was also a robe to use, and 2 bottles of cold water waiting for us.

Check in: Flawless and quick.

Service: Mike, one of the bellhops was outstanding! He was friendly and very helpful.

Decor: We loved the old NY hotel feel to it all - every thing in the room was new, and looked like it had been recently renovated, but we were glad to see they kept things like the New Yorker wall paper - it just added a really nice touch to being in the city.

The bad:
The room was on the small side, I don't know if it would work so well if you had children with you (unless you got a suite).

Overall:
I would definitely recommend staying at the Algonquin!

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ncreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

The Algonquin is charming and cannot be beaten for location, just off 6th Ave. That having been said, it is really not a place to stay for any reason other than business travel. My room was so small that I could almost touch both walls when I stood in the center. The LCD TV and wireless Internet were fine, but the room was simply not any place you would want to spend sustained time in other than to sleep. The house cat (I forgot her name) is cute and the hotel is of historic significance. I did like the bar and the complimentary cookies. I booked it on priceline at something like $175 a night, so from that standpoint it was a bargain.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank NeedhamAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2008

Its hard to draw a final conclusion about this hotel, as its location is pretty great, its close to time square and Broadway, but the hotel itself has a very high opinion of itself which it does not really deserve.

I will start with the positives, it was a very clean hotel, with good service and the rooms have all be updated quite recently to a high standard.

However, the rooms are VERY small, and it can be very noisy overnight. Now I know that being pretty central, you have to expect some noise, however, the windows in the rooms, combined with a large a/c unit meant that allot of street noise got in, so much in fact, that it was just as noisy with the windows open. I don't ask much from a hotel except that I have to be able to sleep in it, which I found very hard. The noise is particularly bad at the moment, as there is allot of building work going on next to the hotel, which does start very early. A coffee maker is also absent, which is pretty poor for any hotel, let alone on as expensive as this. This would have not been too bad, except the hotel menu was particularly expensive, even for a cup of coffee.

Having stayed in a wide range of hotels, of many different stars, I cant say that the Algonquin deserves the 4 stars is has, 3 would be more appropriate and it would still need a coffee maker.

Overall, if you are a heavy sleeper and are planning to spend very little time in the room, its not a bad choice, however, if like me you are a light sleeper and like a coffee 1st thing in the morning, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jimmyuk999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2008

Excellent hotel and staff. I traveled by myself for three days and it has probably been one of the best hotels I have stayed in NYC and I travel to NYC regularly. I loved the room. It was clean, nice, cozy. Bathroom was just as clean. Staff was amazing. The location is superb - couple of blocks from Times Square. It was just an excellent stay and experience.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbie-or-Darby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 468 in New York City
3,681 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#266 of 468 in New York City
2,233 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#120 of 468 in New York City
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#180 of 468 in New York City
2,392 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#62 of 468 in New York City
6,538 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in New York City
#103 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
#145 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $260 - $696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelPower, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing