We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #196 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Just spent 5 wonderful days at the Algonquin. As you can gather from the title I had a nice suite on the 8th floor. Very comfortable seating area with a big TV and fast wireless internet. The bedroom was also quite roomy with a soft bed and yet another nice TV. Some traffic noise during the day but peaceful (for NYC) at night. The bathroom featured a stall shower which was a great touch to me. Room cleaned and towels replaced daily.

The hotel itself has a great film noir vibe. You can just feel history dripping from the walls. It even stirred the writer within me - this is my first ever TA review. Free coffee and papers available in the lobby.

Had room service a few nights as it was just to cold to venture out. A tad pricey, but what the hey, it is New York and I didn't have to go out in the 10 degree weather. There is a nice diner a few doors down that is quite reasonable and pretty tasty. Across the street is a nice coffee bar that also sells pastries.

Easy trek to Time Square and the Theaters. I walked to the Ambassador and Majestic with ease.

In short, a great place to stay. And where else do you get to say hello to Matilda?

Room Tip: I would highly suggest a suite, even traveling solo.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stockthe8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,983)
There are newer reviews for The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

876 - 882 of 1,983 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

We're exManhattanites and spend frequent nights in the city--an Amazon deal for two nights at this newly renovated historic, famed hotel with breakfast, drinks and a queen sized room, something too good to be true, was--our first room may have been the smallest room in the hotel, the window opened onto the airshaft, the door directly onto the stairs--the queen bed looked very small, I called and asked, is this really a queen or has it shrunk. It's really a queen I was assured. Outside the window was a loud compressor noise. I went to look Opps. It wasn't outside, it was inside. Our radiator. We became acquainted with the handyman. One of the nicest I've encountered. You have to change rooms, he muttered. The helpful desk assured us, we have a nice king. It was the handicapped room. Too bad for anyone handicapped. This time we had time to measure--Marriott's standard for a king is actually a queen--60 inches. the distance between the wall and the bed, 36 1/2 inches, handicapped standard 36 inches. And it would be almost impossible to maneuover a wheel chair for the sharp left turn into the bathroom and to add insult to injury the quote on the door (all the doors have quotes from the famed denizens of the round table) is one from Robert Benchley about patients in hospitals who leave his books behind. The handyman returned because those high tech overhead lights MacWilder writes about in his review didn't work nor could we get channel 5 on our t.v.--not a problem for us but it could be next week for super bowl fans. And the heat didn't work once it was lowered to 72. At 76, it was a sauna. At 72 the airconditioner roared. Outside temp, 18 degree. I would repeat MacWilder's review, he captures most of the problems of this unfortunate hotel. I discovered the trick about the one bar of soap that everyone mentions-- you can't ask for another one but if you unwrap it and put it in the shower--a second one appeared the next morning. There's no real maid service, don't expect luxury amenties like turn downs, extra towels, robes, and don't order the continental breakfast--our vouchers were worth $24, the price of a continental breakfast--for packaged croissants and muffins and some kind of off the shelf danish. Our waiter who told us he had worked there for 36 years seems to have been relegated to Saturday a.m. service--if you can't get rid of a union waiter--give him a bad shift--too bad, full of personality and he knew what he was doing--the weekday waiter was clueless. Ditto MacWilder's comments about the doormen, bellstaff that seem to spend most of their time hanging out around the desk--there's rarely anyone at the door to get luggage, hail a cab, or watch who is coming in or out. There's a sense that everyone is really nice and nobody is in charge. Security is non existent. Anyone can walk in, wander through the lobby-bar, get on the elevator and roam freely through the halls. There's a notice in the rooms about not responding to calls from someone claiming to be the desk asking for credit card info. And the lighting in the public areas downstairs is terrible. They either need younger guests or better lighting especially in those elevators where you can't see the floor buttons.

There's no indication it's a Marriott. The sign outside says Autograph Collection. Are they too embarassed to put their name on it? This is not a luxury hotel. But neither was the old Algonquin. It made its reputation by being rakish, off beat, shabby and affordable. The Time Square area has always had its share of tourist hotels. Why try to raise expectations about the Algonquin? The renovation, the rooms, the furnishings, the amenities (two bottles of water and an ice bucket) the services, the restaurant don't meet the standard for a luxury hotel. Why the misleading marketing? I think it was Dorothy Parker who put in many years at that famed round table (where did it go by the way? it was no longer in evidence) who said "you can't make a pig's purse out of a sow's ear." Or whatever happened to truth in advertising?

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nycmelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Greetings and thank you for taking time to express your candid opinion about The Algonquin Hotel, thank you too for your business.

The Algonquin is always open to feedback and The Algonquin takes great pride in the hotel, its team of associates and the service style offered to the many guests who have visited the hotel over the past number of years.

While it likely will not change your opinion of The Algonquin, it is worth noting:

The Algonquin was the tallest building on the street when it opened in 1902, as time progressed other buildings were built around the hotel and views did become limited.
When a mechanical error is identified, the hotel does move a guest to a different location whenever possible. In your case to an accessible room, which was built to Americans with Disability Act standards, including clearances. All ADA guest rooms have king size beds in the room, 72” wide, queen size mattresses do measure 60” wide. The Algonquin rooms are not large and are well appointed with ample receptacles for recharging personal devices found at convenient heights, there are a number of other features and amenities as well.
Algonquin ADA rooms have had high praise from guests with disabilities for not looking like an institutional space, rather one that incorporates the necessities with a sense of style.
Guests who desire a second bar of soap usually call guest service to make the request and a second bar is delivered.
Guest rooms are serviced daily and turn-down or twice daily housekeeping is not part of the hotel’s standards.
The Algonquin is a part of Autograph Collection, one of the brands of Marriott International. You are correct, there is no visible Marriott signage in the hotel, and instead Autograph Collection marking is used.
The hotel does have the benefit of the Marriott Reward loyalty program at its disposal for qualified guest use.
The hotel does not bake its own pastry for breakfast, breakfast product such as Danish and croissant are delivered daily by Balthazar Bakery located in the Soho area of the city, a well respected member of the city’s culinary scene.
The waiter to whom you refer is a long term associate who has received compliments and accolades from around the world during his storied career.

Thank you again for sharing your opinion and for visiting The Algonquin.

Gary J. Budge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

When compared to other cities, New York City hotels are bad. All travelers know or should know that. (I was born in NYC , lived there much of my life--as did my father and grandfather--and have just bought a Manhattan apartment there, so don't tell me that I am biased against the City.) But this hotel, which asserts it is a four-star facility, is bad even by that lowly standards. It's run by Marriott, which normally does a good job. Perhaps it just gave up this time.
Let's start off with the good. The location, between Times Square and Grand Central Terminal is convenient. An examination revealed no B-Bugs. The TV, although its picture is dark, offers many channels in high definition. It's rooms are clean enough, although the halls and many public spaces are dingy.The operator answers the phone promptly, and the wake-up service rings on time.The exercise room, although spartan, does exist.The internet is free, and, as noted below, not awful. The water was hot and didn't fluctuate in temperature.
Now, let's get to the bad. The cleaning staff didn't know how to make the bed, so that the comforter was installed backwards half the time. Cheap wines in the lounge started at $15 for a small glass and escalated sharply thereafter. The room was hot at night, and lowering the temperature triggered the air conditioner (on some of the coldest nights in NYC's history), which loudly buzzed every time the unit turned on.
The first room they put us in was unbelievably small. One could hardly make it by the bed on either side. It had a musty smell, perhaps signaling mold. The replacement room was adequate in size, although by no means large. Its bathroom though was tiny, and clearly construction was never finished as the pipes to the upper flowers were right next to the toilet, which when flushed made an unbelievably loud sound.
The staff was never able to understand that there were two of us, thereby providing only one very small kimona, one washcloth, one hand towel, and only one soap.
The hotel features that it provides to each guest a copy of The New Yorker. We didn't get one, and when we requested it, they gave one that was not the current edition.
They provide coffee, but only in the lobby in the morning, requiring one to dress up to get one's morning coffee.
Although 12 or so stories, the facility has only two elevators. Those elevators are shared by guests and staff. The staff is located above the top customer floor, so that the elevator has to travel frequently between the basement and the very top to access the staff facility. Some of the indicator lights on the call buttons don't work. The floor selection panels were not cleaned adequately and were therefore difficult to read. To characterize the elevator service as lousy is to downplay the required waits. Sometimes it was full when it eventually arrived, not necessarily with passengers, but with luggage on transportation carts...and of course all this was made worse by guests trudging down to the first floor for their cup of coffee and back up after getting it.
There really is no place near the entrance for the doorman and concierge (or whatever they are since there is no identification), so they stand there clogging up the entrance as they chat with people to no obvious purpose in most cases. Although guests are not supposed to seat themselves in the dinning area, nobody acknowledged our presence when we were planning to eat breakfast. (Fortunately, there is an excellent, reasonably priced informal restaurant right next door to the west, i.e., towards Broadway). Highly recommended.
The internet was slow, throttled to 2 megs up and 1 meg down. The ping was an acceptable 28 ms. That's not good, but it's also not terrible. However, it needs to renewed once each day, which means it disconnects sometime around midnight. So, each morning, one has to go through the nonsense of reconnecting.
Guests are clearly not expected to sleep at night. Our room (#508) looked out onto an air shaft, so one would expect the room to be dark at night. No so. The shaft was well illuminated. The shades are, unbelievably, translucent, so light comes right through them. Also they don't cover the whole window, so light comes in as well around the edges of the shades. The result is that it's almost (but isn't) possible to read at night without turning on any lights. Adding insult to injury, there are two little switches over the bed, one on each side, that are enclosed in a bright ring of light. These switches turns on internal illumination for the pattern over the bed, Each switch lights one-half of the pattern. Why? There really is no explanation given that they obviously unprepared for two people in a room.
For about 10 years starting in 1919 the Algonquin was frequented by literary stars in a group called "The Roundtable". Clearly, the fact they survived 10 years there proves they never stayed in its rooms.

Room Tip: Complain to the desk when they give you an unacceptable facility. Might help.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MacWilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Greetings, thank you for your business and for taking time to detail your thoughts and observations about your recent visit to The Algonquin. On behalf of the team thank you for your positive remarks about the hotel and we sincerely apologize for the shortcomings which you describe in detail.

Please consider contacting the hotel directly should you require further assistance.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Gary J. Budge

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed here prior to a NASDAQ event and loved the property. The lobby feels like old NYC and I would recommend making time to find a seat have a drink or read the paper. It's an easy walk to Times Square, Rock Center and surrounding areas.

My room was very comfortable and well decorated. The standard room I had was small (to be expected in NYC), but had a large TV, workstation and plenty of places to plug-in my gadgets. Perfect for a business trip or romantic weekend in the city. Would not recommend if traveling with a family.

I highly recommend Gregory's Coffee across the street for your coffee - great way to start the day.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Friendaza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Greetings and thank you for taking time to comment on a recent visit to The Algonquin, your business and comments are appreciated. The Algonquin feels like New York as you say because we are New York and have been a part of the local scene since 1902 when the hotel opened. The millwork and detail in the ceiling is all original to the 1902 design. We appreciate how you describe our guest rooms and couldn’t do a better job if we were writing our own brochure. For families, The Algonquin has 25 suites that are well suited for 4 persons, and also has suites with connecting guest rooms for the expanded family.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we appreciate your feedback.

Gary J. Budge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

i have just returned from our stay at the "Algon" as my cab driver called it. Tucked away from the hustle of 6th Ave yet within walking distance to Broadway, Rockefella and many other NY attractions within easy reach by cab. Unlike the rest of NY surly service industry staff,the Algonquin staff were very attentive to making our stay a memorable one without the feeling they were just after a good tip! Our room was furnished and decorated to a very high unassuming chic standard with undoubtedly one of the most comfortable beds i have ever experienced in a hotel. The Blue Bar is a great venue to unwind with a nice cocktail after a hard days sightseeing though my wife was disappointed at me not ordering her the $10,000 Martini cocktail! The Algon is without doubt in one of the top 3 of my hotels i have stayed, a very special place esteemed in history and elegance. Thank you and look forward to our return soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 806giles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay at The Algonquin and thank you for your business, too. The hotel is special in many ways: location, land marked façade, rich literary history, the Blue Bar and the design and décor among them. The most significant way is how the team at the Algonquin has the ability to connect with guests and create experiences that are long remembered. There is great pride in this hotel and it shows in how people feel when they stay at The Algonquin. Thank you again for taking time to comment on your visit
Gary J. Budge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My first stay at the historic Algonquin Hotel - not my last. This gem is located near 6th Avenue and W. 44th Street, a quick and easy walk to Times Square, Rockeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Grand Central... yet not in the crush and chaos of Times Square. The lobby is impressive and grand (and yet small and intimate - a restaurant and seating area take up most of it) and the people (from doormen to front desk to restaurant staff) are friendly, helpful and welcoming. Like many old (and newer) hotels in Manhattan, the rooms are small but very comfortable, and recent refurbishment has led to plush and chic but comfortable modern decor. The bathroom was nicely sized and, again, seemed very newly renovated - the modern glass and tile shower stall was very roomy, and the bath products and soaps are spa-style (L'Occitane en Provence). A warning about "the city that never sleeps" and complimentary earplugs had me worried, but my room was on the interior, and the a/c-heat unit could be set to keep the fan going (on medium it provided nice white noise) so we didn't hear a thing. This is a Marriott property so my rewards membership got me a complimentary continental breakfast for two (croissant, muffin and pastry with coffee, juice, jams and a nice fresh fruit bowl), And there's a full menu available if that's not sufficient. Internet wifi is free but not super strong (at least on 10th floor) but at least it was free and it worked. A nice find in the city!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthGaTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Ok this place is right out the movies. Sit in the lobby have a drink and you just go back in time. The service is the best and breakfast wonderful. Location is good without all the noise of the bigger places

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 468 in New York City
3,681 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#266 of 468 in New York City
2,233 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#120 of 468 in New York City
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#180 of 468 in New York City
2,392 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#62 of 468 in New York City
6,538 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in New York City
#103 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
#145 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $260 - $696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelPower, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing