We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Algonquin!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #181 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Algonquin!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

What a lovely New York landmark. Stayed during the week of September 11th and was not disappointed. Small room is all you need for an NYC stay. Was there for 6 days. Excellent service from the staff, friendly, and the room was very clean. Very comfy bed. Loved the decor. Front room was a bit noisy late at night, but that's NYC. Zero noise from the hallway. I'd stay again without a doubt!

Room Tip: Higher rooms may have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TXRosie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Greetings and thank you on behalf of the Algonquin team for taking the time to write about our hotel. We appreciate your business and your feedback too.
Gary J. Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    680
    198
    107
    64
See reviews for
289
824
122
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I liked the hotel. The room was on the small side, but big enough. Even being on the street side of the hotel was quiet. The Blue Bar was great. Good location, quiet, near the subway - all made for a great stay. Only complaint: no half and half with the free coffee (only milk).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advance, North Carolina
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I can't say I would stay here again and spend my own money! I used my points for two nights last week and found it to be very dark in the lobby, very cramped in the bar area and very loud in my room. So loud that we could not get a good night's sleep. You know when they have ear plugs in the night stand it must be a loud room.

Room Tip: ask to be away from the street side. It is very loud otherwise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnReff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Greetings, The Algonquin always appreciates guest commentary and feedback. The hotel is pleased that you did decide to stay for two nights and see the historic and iconic venue that opened in 1902. The dark paneled walls are original to the design of the Lobby and restaurant area. The Blue Bar is often quite crowded, it is a popular bar in New York City and during the 2012 guts to décor renovation was expanded by 20% to the current size. The Algonquin has long provided the thoughtful amenity, ear plugs, for guests to use when they find the sounds of our city to be a contrast to what they are most used to back home. Thank you for your business.
Gary J Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I took NJ Transit, very cost effective, to NY for a lovely overnight at The Algonquin Hotel. We love to get exercise while away and did so by walking almost everywhere. We walked from Penn Station to the hotel, about 20-30 minutes. Check-in went smoothly, we loved the lobby of this boutique hotel. Lots of wood, crown molding and wrought iron. We had drinks and appetizers at The Blue Bar in the hotel, really enjoyed it even though pricey. The hotel room was very upscale and on the large side for a room in NYC. Service was excellent, no problem with late check-out. Left our bags with the bellman while we walked through the city. Doormen were very pleasant and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner room is larger.
See more room tips
Green Features: reuse your towels, water efficient bathroom fixtures.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBuddies589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
The Algonquin appreciates the fact that you took the time to share your experience with fellow informed visitors to Trip Advisor. The hotel team agrees, taking a train to Manhattan and strolling to the hotel is a real New York experience and what the hotel is all about, authenticity, often overlooked today. Thank you for your business and plan to return again.
Gary J. Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years but this was my first time since the extensive renovations. I was very pleased with how they paid homage to the history of this landmark hotel while still making it a modern, fresh space. The rooms are completely refurbished and the bathrooms are particularly well done. My room was very quiet and comfortable. This lobby of this hotel has always been one of the great spots in the city to sit and have a drink , and they have maintained that charm. The staff all seemed to be from the original Algonquin (before the purchase by Marriot) and they are as attentive and helpful as always! This hotel has some of the best door man/ bell hops in the city!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BERFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

From check in to check out, service was very good. Stayed 7 nights in corner room with king sized bed on floor 2. Our guestroom was spacious and had obviously been recently refurbished.

Excellent use of space in our room, however the outlook, onto fire escapes and the dark shadows cast by very close buildings meant we did not open the blinds during our stay. I had to crane my neck to be able to see what the weather was doing each morning, before deciding on day wear. Not particularly a problem, since we were out and about all day and the lack of natural daylight was otherwise not an issue to us.

L'Occitane products in bathroom. Compact and contained a very useful full length mirror incorporated into the internal door. Only drawback was that the shower head was not easy to change position and VERY high up on back wall - O.K. if you are tall. Shower was very powerful and hot. Effective hairdryer (not like those in some hotels that blow out token hot air). Housekeeping was effective and subtle.

Handy for use of Fitness Centre if you wish to use it and to use the self-serve coffee station also on floor 2. 3 computer terminals are available for guests' use and we found this useful for booking/ printing out tickets to shows etc.

The Blue Bar was too 'blue' - and was not comfortable to sit in for long. Consequently we used the lobby area for relaxing in, at the end of an evening where the staff and service were just the same - equally good. Drinks were on the expensive side (e.g. 22 dollars for a cocktail). The lobby served tea/ coffee until 10.00 am so we often used that to set us up for the morning before taking brunch later.

Quality decor and furnishings and the style of the hotel oozes history - and there is plenty of it to be seen about in this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a corner room with a king bed but probably on a higher floor than floor 2 if you want natural...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry187046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel charges your card additional monies after you check out. They claimed i broke a chair and decided to charge my card a few hundred dollars after I left. I did not break the chair, i doubt I even sat at the desk, and nobody ever contacted me about it before they decided to charge me. Further when they finally agreed to refund the charge they indicated they would not provide evidence of the refund and directed me to my credit card company.

Also, when I spoke to their GM Mr Budge he spoke to me in a condescending tone and, in my opinion, could have cared less about this. The property is decent - the attitude and culture is awful. In the end it's about interactions with staff and this hotel failed in many ways.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slosh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJBudge, General Manager at The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Greetings and thank you for taking time to express your candid comments regarding your Algonquin Hotel visit. The feedback provided is appreciated by the hotel team. When an error is brought to the hotel’s attention, the hotel works to make the situation right. In this particular case, the charge for the furniture that was somehow broken was removed from the guests folio. The hotel notes this situation could have been resolved sooner.

Thank you again for the feedback.

Gary J. Budge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,523 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#178 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#224 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Property: The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in New York City
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
#116 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#129 Business Hotel in New York City
#131 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing